We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,704)
Filter reviews
4,705 results
Traveller rating
3,483
886
238
66
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,483
886
238
66
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barparker quinnbryant parkhat factorythe empire state buildingcupcakesnew yorkmagnolia bakerygreat hotellive jazzhardwood floorsboutique hotelhotel gueststimes squaregreat boutiquecomfortable bedsstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
3,967 - 3,972 of 4,705 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Interesting location in Fashion District. Easy to access subway. Staff excellent in all ways, super friendly and helpful. Would return for value and staff. Also nice bathroom products great bed and bedding

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dsmiley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, Dsmiley123, and look forward to your visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in November in a deluxe queen double, and the room was huge by NY standards! Two incredibly comfortable queen beds with a sitting area, hardwood floors and high ceilings,(which you almost never see in a hotel room), large marble/tile bathroom with huge shower! Big windows with views of the city and Empire State Building, but no noise from the streets. The décor is modern and trendy, but still very warm and welcoming.

This hotel is in a great location in midtown, near Bryant Park and Macy's. While not in the crazy, busy chaos of Times Square, it is close by and an easy walk to the Broadway theaters.

I cannot say enough about the excellent staff and service at the hotel. They went above and beyond in their customer service. Helpful with reservations for pre-theater dinner, and at their own rooftop lounge - which is also amazing! Someone was always there to hold the door and greet you warmly as you came into the hotel, and always asked if they could assist with anything. I want to say a special "thank you" to Albert, Lindsay and Basha for all their excellent service during my stay.

I am a travel professional, and will be recommending this fine, boutique hotel to all my friends and clients for their stays in New York City, and I look forward to my next stay at the Refinery!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Lucy B--thank you for your review. We hope you will be returning for your second visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Our three-night stay at The Refinery was wonderful from start to finish. From initial email contact with the concierge (to arrange for flowers to be put in our room as a surprise for my (now) fiancée), through to checking out, everything about The Refinery was first class. Service was exemplary, we were upgraded upon arrival and enjoyed a beautiful double suite, and every request was met in full. The restaurant was excellent, both service and quality of food, and the room was perfect in every respect. The Refinery has all the trappings of a 5-star hotel, with none of the stuffiness or fuss that comes with some of the bigger names. The atmosphere was vibrant yet classy, and the location could not have been better - perfectly situated in midtown within easy walking distance of all major tourist hotspots.

I could not recommend The Refinery highly enough. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Your recommendation is greatly valued, Dan C. We are happy you enjoyed the visit and look forward to your next.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We spent Veterans Day weekend at the Refinery in a spacious, single-room loft type suite with lots of space. Trendy decor, high ceilings and wood floors were great and the room was super quiet since it overlooked courtyard instead of the street. No matter, we were never there during the day. The early check-in was greatly appreciated. They have a warm, friendly desk staff. Suite has a great bed that made for wonderful sleeping. There was a very comfortable couch and handsome but not very user friendly side chairs. The big bathroom had lots of room for our stuff. But it did not have a separate tub, which we missed and the water pressure in the shower was only OK, The lobby Wine Bar is a bit strange, the staff there seemed rather clueless and my $40 speciality drink was a bit much (but that was probably my fault for ordering it). The attached dining room was perfect for a before theater cheese and cold cut plate, but we had to fight for a booth, which we highly recommend. The roof top is fun with indoor and outdoor space. It has great views and they treated us very well with no attitude. It was noisy late at night, but what do you expect. It was very pleasant in the early evening with its heated terrace, especially since the temps were in the 50s. Funky, fun hotel...not exactly the best part of mid-town...seemed like a long walk to everywhere, but we could get cabs. Worth checking out! And the opening special price was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastcoastvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, eastcoastvoyager, and hope you will be making a return visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just returned from a 5 day, 4 nigh vacation in NYC. The Refinery Hotel got excellent reviews on Tripadvisor, so I booked. The hotel is in a great location, just a block from Bryant Park and two from Times Square - but far enough from the craziness and traffic of the main streets. For NY, the rooms were nicely appointed, with clean and stylish decor. The shower and bathroom were very nice and roomy. The rooftop bar is really great, with an amazing view of the Empire State Bldg. The restaurant had very good food, and was reasonable priced. We ate there for breakfast, lunch and dinner on our trip, and were not disappointed. The staff were attentive and professional. If I could recommend one thing, I wish they would provide decent toilet tissue. Maybe that sounds petty, but I really hate going to a nice hotel and getting cheap one-ply paper. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: higher floors tend to be less noisy from construction and street traffic
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaxannsmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

We hope you will be returning for that second visit soon, Jaxannsmiths! Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews