We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of construction work”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #28 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 516 it backed onto a construction site that was constructing all night. Ny is scarcely a quiet destination but this room was very very noisy through the night


Otherwise hotel staff charming, room stylish and toiletries high end. Free open access wifi classy big tv. Stylish common parts.

Had I been able to sleep I would have loved the place. But I wasn't.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank ADL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

We appreciate your feedback, ADL79, and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your visit. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,403 - 3,409 of 4,150 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

Our stay at the Refinery Hotel over the American Thanksgiving weekend was nothing less than comfortable and memorable. The experience begins right at the front entrance with a welcoming and helpful doorman, and continues to the sweet front desk people and later to the polite room service person who brought us water and ice. Call me crazy, but it's great to feel you're in an establishment where people are happy to see you. Our room on the fourth floor was spacious and gorgeously appointed with little amenities - like the bottle opener - that gives the impression someone was actually thinking about the guests when the hotel was designed. The bathroom was très luxe and inviting with generous supplies of soap, lotion, shampoo and conditioner. If the room didn't offer a great view, the rooftop bar more than made up for it with the Empire State Building sitting glamourously just a couple of blocks away. While the breakfast add-on was not exactly economical, the scrambled eggs, sausages and toast were delicious and first rate. The hotel is also cloaked in a wonderful old world ambience that somehow seems quite current as well. All in all, a terrific place to stay, centrally located, and one where you are happy to be a guest. I can only hope they will be able to maintain the excellent level of service.

Room Tip: Try a higher floor as the street can sound quite busy during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsaacBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

We are glad to have provided a warm and memorable Thanksgiving visit, IsaacBlue. Thank you for your post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Refinery and can't find enough positive accolades for this hotel. The hotel is located in a renovated millinery factory with special and unique reminders of this throughout the hotel.
The staff was attentive from the moment we walked in the front door.We were travelling with a group of 6 people and were warmly greeted by the manager and give a special "welcome to the Refinery" token of appreciation. Our rooms were, as the reviews below say, spotless and spacious with unique features such as switches to provide different light and privacy settings. The beds were the best - mattresses were so comfortable and, the pillows and comforter luxurious. There were special touches throughout - like the small clipboards for taking notes and the complimentary bottles of water. I am allergic to feathers and had them switched after a quick conversation with the front desk. We had a problem with heat in the room and it was resolved quickly by the staff who also followed up to ensure that the heat in the room was satisfactory.
The Rooftop lounge is a real treat with a special elevator servicing the floor. They had the fireplace going with a beautifully decorated Christmas tree and wonderful ambiance.
The location is the best - a short walk to Times Square, right around the corner from Bryant Park, a subway station close by and, Lord & Taylor in the same block with Macy's a short 5 minute walk away.
Prices for hotels in New York in December are the highest but, with this hotel, you know that, for the price, you are getting great service, decor, design and attention. It would be a nice addition to have a small business area for printing of boarding passes etc.
Would definitely return in a flash - big shout out to Basha!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newdaytoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit, newsdaytoday, and thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I just stayed here for one night for a business meeting. I will definitely be back. The hotel was very comfortable and the staff couldn't be better. The Refinery is in a great location, just between 5th and 6th AVE and close enough to everything without being right in the middle of Times Square. I can't recommend this enough. Oh, and the rooftop bar with the perfect view of the Empire State Building is simply amazing!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank eberner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

We hope you will be making a return visit soon, eberner, and thank you for posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My friend & I stayed for four nights near the end of November. Our stay with the Refinery was perfect from start to finish. Greeted at the door, A glass of wine on check-in & our room was perfect. We stayed on the ninth floor- the room had everything we needed (comfy bed, good shower etc) & we didn't hear any kind of noise through out our stay.
We used the restaurant for on different days for breakfast, brunch & dinner - the staff were lovely & the food was great.
The rooftop bar was definitely the highlight. Fabulous cocktails, amazing view & brilliant music. The staff on the doors (special mention to Sam & Steve) & the bar (another special mention to Rick, Chris & Chris) were extremely accommodating & so friendly which really added to making our trip so amazing.
The location is perfect with just a walk or a short cab ride from everything.
Will be booking another stay soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 894Amelie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for your review, 894Amelie2010--we will look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in the Refinery New York.
First of all the location is great, only a 10 min walk from times square!
Then we also liked the room a lot. Very spacious and clean!
We also tried the restaurant! Its a great busy place! We had a really good dinner. But price was rather high compared to other places we have been (like Aureole).
The only downside was the service. One morning the manager called at 9am, which is early for people on holiday. He called for some problem with our visa (had this problem already at check in and offered already a prepayment, but that was not necessary they informed us). So in other words this problem could have been solved already at check in. I do have to say that we got cupcakes and wine offered as appology. Further our minibar never got refilled. Also there was a lot of noise from the streats in the room (although we were at the highest floor, 12). It would be a good idea to do something about that, or at least offer ear plugs. Last we asked at check out an overview of the amount taken from our VISA and a confirmation that this was put on our account again. This was apparently impossible.
Overall a beautiful clean hotel, but they need to work on service.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SilkeWouters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for your review, SilkeWouters. We apologize for any inconvenience and will be sure to review these details. We hope you will be visiting Refinery Hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed at the Refinery with my mom (70) and daughter (18) for a long weekend at the end of October. While checking in (the room was ready early and they upgraded our room), they asked the purpose of our stay. It was a trip for my mom's 70th birthday. After our day out exploring the city, we returned to our room to find a bottle of wine, a dozen mini cupcakes, and a lovely and thoughtful handwritten note wishing my mom a most wonderful birthday trip. Wow! This is the kind of service you so rarely find! The staff were all more than eager to assist with any questions, requests, etc. The room was oversized and beautifully appointed. The millinery and tailoring theme of the hotel was carried beautifully throughout (appropriate for the fashion district). The roof top bar - gorgeous! The location of the hotel was second to none - a short walk to Times Square, Bryant Park and 5th Avenue. If I was going back, I wouldn't hesitate to return. Have already told my friends that if they go, they must stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thornegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Your kind words mean a lot to us, thornegirls, and we thank you for your recommendations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 469 in New York City
3,071 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,703 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York
Langham Place, New York
#19 of 469 in New York City
2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 469 in New York City
2,860 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#65 of 469 in New York City
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £210 - £497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing