We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to come home to after long & Busy days”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #28 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Anyone who finds something to complain about this hotel is someone who would never be pleased.
We just spent 4 days at the lovely boutique style hotel and we can't say enough good stuff about it! The staff were friendly & very helpful with any of our inquiries. Hotel itself is clean, rooms are a great size for NYC, the bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were a good quality. The decor of the hotel was warm & inviting and made you feel at home. In terms of location, it really can't be beat. Close to shopping, times square, etc and Penn Station was a short walk away and you can pretty much get anywhere from there. We never had the pleasure of eating in the restaurant but we did check out the rooftop bar which was really nice...you can see why it is frequently booked for private events, in particular with the awsome view of the Empire State Building. Any future travels to NYC will definitley bring us back to this hotel. Hopefully all these excellent reviews don't drive the price up to a point that it is no longer worth staying at.
Thank you to The Refinery & it's staff for giving a place to call Home while we visited NYC - we will be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

We will look forward to your return, Ashley O, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,383 - 3,389 of 4,143 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

Another great stay. Refinery is now my de facto hotel when in NYC. Service, staff and amenities continue to be first rate. Restful sleep on most comfortable beds in town. Hotel stay does not get any better Rich D

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your most recent stay, Rich D, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This hotel is probably the best I have stayed in....
The beds are sooooo comfortable (we had a deluxe two Queen bed room), the room was HUGE, the bathroom gorgeous, the shower gels and body lotion divine.
The breakfast every morning was perfect, the bar on the ground floor and roof were wonderful. The roof bar was shut one evening until 9:30 to a private event, so the manager sent all us guests some cupcakes which were DELICIOUS!!!!! Thank you so much for that. We think that 9:30 is fine anyway, we are all out to dinner, and then when we came back we went up there.
The staff were super friendly and great at their jobs, always booking restaurants for us and helping with anything we needed.
I have never felt so looked after and pampered in a City break.
WELL DONE - I can't wait to book up again!

Room Tip: We stayed in 406, didn't hear ANY sound at all and black out blinds were perfect (and I am the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shazvinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Shazvinder--we are always proud to be called the best! Thank you, we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful time at refinery. Fantastic location, wonderful staff, great restaurant, excellent roof top bar, good price comparatively.
Upgraded room and worthwhile, heaps of space with lounge, heaps of storage - no idea what some of those complaints are about, we stayed for 9 nights and felt like home. We were on the 9th floor no real view out window but nice and quiet so didn't need one. Really comfy bed, helpful concierge, no kettle but provided one when asked. This was the ideal hotel for us on all fronts. Very modern and trendy but friendly at the same time. All staff were great.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for your review, Steve F. We hope to welcome you back to Refinery Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We just stayed at the Refinery this past weekend and had such a lovely experience staying there. As soon as you walk in everyone is so friendly and so acomadating. Our room wasn't ready when we had gotten there because we came before check in and they upgraded us to a bigger room. The rooms are very posh and the soap they have in the bathrooms are wonderful, I'm planning on buying some online. We booked through travelzoo and got an awesome price, thought we would try it out and were definitely pleased. The rooftop bar is fun and cozy and the toasts off the menu were delicious. We would definitely stay at the Refinery again. When we left yesterday afternoon Basha had remembered the time we had said we would be back and had a taxi with our luggage waiting for us! I appreciated that not only did he remember our names but he remembered our departure time. Very impressed. So happy we stayed at the Refinery! Beautiful hotel and beautiful service!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

We are happy that you enjoyed your visit, April C--thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend for a short break in NY. Great hotel, excellent location and really good friendly service - nothing too much trouble. A number of the venues in the hotel were closed for functions when we were there so ask before if you want to eat in the hotel. This did not impact our stay and we both had a wonderful time.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank FQTraveller360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for your review, FQTraveller360. Your kind words regarding our team mean a lot to us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Refinery Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We booked to stay at this very well located hotel in NYC foe the week of Thanksgiving. Every thing about it was just perfect,vibrant & interested staff, from the doorman to the porter, to receptionists & restaurant staff.So interested are they that we filled on the usual customer survey, marking mostly "10s"with 1 item "8" & they asked me to explain why, it was only that we preferred a harder mattress. The response was that they would add our preference to our profile so that any future visit we would have our preferred mattress!
The location is superb close to 5th Avenue ,Times Square etc
Really no complaints

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaBSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

We are glad you enjoyed the visit and will look forward to your next, LindaBSevenoaks! Thank you for posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,067 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,699 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York
Langham Place, New York
#18 of 469 in New York City
2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#43 of 469 in New York City
2,856 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#63 of 469 in New York City
2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £210 - £494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing