We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in every way....”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #25 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way....”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We made the trip to New York in November to celebrate a birthday and chose The Refinery based mostly on the recommendations it had received on Trip Advisor. The place is fantastic from start to finish - great location, great price, great staff, great rooms and amenities, we couldn't have a made a better choice.

I have and will recommend The Refinery to anyone I know who is planning a trip to NYC - it is that good. The concierge were also very helpful organising a number of things for us (tickets for Broadway, etc.) prior to us travelling.

If you like contemporary, cool, relaxed yet polished, The Refinery is the place for you. You must check out the roof top bar as well - the view of the Empire State at night is something else.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your recommendation and kind words, Nick C--we look forward to your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,854
    781
    195
    46
    24
See reviews for
943
1,388
153
707
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I booked this hotel for a Christmas trip we do as a family every year. My husband and 2 children as well as my brother in law and his family. I am usually responsible for acquiring the hotel accommodations. I always look for something different that has good reviews and within walking distance to the theater we will be going to. I had never heard of The Rifinery but the reviews were outstanding and it was quite close to MSG, where the show was playing. I couldn't have been more surprised and pleased with my choice. Everyone was extremely happy. The staff is so courteous, friendly and accommodating. They went out of their way to make sure you were happy. We requested extra pillows and they were delivered promptly. The rooms are spacious, clean and provide nice toiletries. The beds were to die for! The pillows (which I'm a stickler for) were amazing. I wanted to bring one home with me! We even ventured up to the rooftop bar. Very nice bar with an outdoor area for warmer nights. The location is great for everything. Not too close to Times Square but just close enough. I don't like staying in the crowded area of TS. When we go back, we'll definitely be staying with the folks at The Refinery.

Room Tip: We had a 5th floor and room and it faced 38th Street and could see the Empire State Bldg. If you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotogirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your review, gotogirl40. We are excited to welcome you back to Refinery Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

It was 4 of us, my wife and our 2 kids. The rooms are huge and beautiful. The staff were not only friendly but always very helpful, specially with the kids.
I specially appreciate that they were all naturally courteous and helpfull without opening a hand for a tip. Refreshingly un-newyork.

Excellent location.
My favourite NYC hotel

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Csanden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
We are happy that you and your family enjoyed the visit, Csanden, and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and were very happy. The staff is very friendly and helpful. All our needs were met and the room we had was spacious and clean. It is in a good location and close to a subway line. The roof top patio was a bonus. We would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zooks13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
We hope you will be staying with us again soon, Zooks13, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My husband, 7 year old daughter, and I stayed at the Refinery Hotel for three nights in a Deluxe Two Queen room and absolutely loved it. The staff was so warm and friendly, greeting us and our daughter with smiles every time we entered the lobby. Our room was amazing--so spacious with wonderfully comfortable beds! The shower was lovely and huge and our daughter loved taking long showers (singing songs from Wicked which we saw during our stay) and using the great bath products. The first night we went up to the Rooftop Bar for tapas and drinks and walked into an inviting lounge complete with with a roaring fire, candles, and inviting couches in a relaxed, yet upscale, atmosphere. It also had an amazing view of the Empire State Building and great food & cocktails! Again, the staff here was friendly, personable, and efficient. We were happy to sit and relax while we watched the Giants play on the flatscreen TV.

The location of the hotel is great and were able to walk many places--Theater District, Times Square, Bryant Park (for yummy food and drinks at the Southwest Porch), shopping on Fifth Avenue, and Rockefeller Center. And when it rained, we were offered umbrellas at the door or help with hailing a cab.

When we checked out we were given a "travel bag" for our train ride with chocolate, wine, and a variety of snacks and treats for our daughter. I was so surprised to receive such a thoughtful gift! We left feeling so well taken care of and pampered! We love going to New York and have been several times as we have family nearby but this was our best trip ever. For being such a swanky, Restoration Hardware-esque, upscale hotel, it wasn't pretentious at all. Quite the opposite. My husband and I have traveled extensively across the U.S., Europe, and Asia, and this is now one of our favorite hotels. We will definitely be back to the city and will definitely be staying at the Refinery Hotel!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Casey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for posting and for your thoughtful comments, Casey O. We look forward to your return stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Anyone who finds something to complain about this hotel is someone who would never be pleased.
We just spent 4 days at the lovely boutique style hotel and we can't say enough good stuff about it! The staff were friendly & very helpful with any of our inquiries. Hotel itself is clean, rooms are a great size for NYC, the bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were a good quality. The decor of the hotel was warm & inviting and made you feel at home. In terms of location, it really can't be beat. Close to shopping, times square, etc and Penn Station was a short walk away and you can pretty much get anywhere from there. We never had the pleasure of eating in the restaurant but we did check out the rooftop bar which was really nice...you can see why it is frequently booked for private events, in particular with the awsome view of the Empire State Building. Any future travels to NYC will definitley bring us back to this hotel. Hopefully all these excellent reviews don't drive the price up to a point that it is no longer worth staying at.
Thank you to The Refinery & it's staff for giving a place to call Home while we visited NYC - we will be back!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
We will look forward to your return, Ashley O, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Another great stay. Refinery is now my de facto hotel when in NYC. Service, staff and amenities continue to be first rate. Restful sleep on most comfortable beds in town. Hotel stay does not get any better Rich D

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your most recent stay, Rich D, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#77 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Property: Refinery Hotel
Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing