We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than our already high expectations.”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #28 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Better than our already high expectations.”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

As an architect and dog owner, I have pretty high demands when it comes to hotel accommodations. Not only is the Refinery in a wonderful location, it is also dog friendly, tastefully designed and quiet. For a NYC hotel, that is not an easy feat to accomplish.

The lighting scheme is great, our bathroom was spotless, and I also enjoyed the very comfortable bed.

Finally, I wish the staff wasn't so nice. (Because then, I could get away without writing a review and keeping this hotel all for myself!) But, fortunately, the hotel staff was the best part of the entire stay. We were given a complimentary dog toy and treats for our pup and Joan D, who checked us in, made sure we started and ended our stay as comfortably as possible. Book this hotel. It's totally worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DogMom-Eileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for posting, DogMom-Eileen. Your kind words mean so much to us and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,949
    802
    198
    48
    25
See reviews for
973
1,428
157
729
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I rarely write a review here but feel I ought to share our perplexing experiences in a three night stay at the Refinery.

We were convinced to come by the remarkably positive feedback the hotel has had since opening in mid 2013. These reviews often praise the location, rooftop bar (with amazing view of the Empire State Building) and rooms - which, by New York standards, are not tiny.

The welcome from Aziz, a doorman, and the front desk staff was warm and they were helpful throughout our stay.

But that charm hasn't rubbed off on all of their colleagues.

Most egregious are the bar staff both on the roof and (especially) in the lobby bar/lounge where our request for an afternoon coffee was met with rude indifference followed by an order to "get it yourselves" from the hotel restaurant and then outright hostility from our trilby-wearing host when we added a chair to a small table to accommodate another of our party. In the end I had to speak to eight (yes, 8) members of waiting or bar staff at the hotel before securing the coffees - which I had to bring back to our group in the bar myself. The barman made us so uncomfortable we eventually decamped up to one of our rooms to drink them.

This miserable little episode caused me to ponder on the rest of the Refinery experience.

In summary: the rooms have comfortable beds and a big tv but hilariously mean storage space and (my pet hate, this, especially in a new hotel) no spare power sockets next to the bed.

The bathrooms are well-equipped with decent toiletries and good finishes, but fixed lighting to the left side of the mirror meant that, on the right, I was shaving the dark side of the moon.

Only six months after opening, the rooms are wearing badly: our room had scuff marks, a broken chair and a light-switch and stereo that don't work.

The public spaces are unwelcoming. A posse of bouncers told us the roof bar was closed to residents twice out of the three times we went up there as they focussed on private parties. Downstairs in the lobby, our single experience was of a barman with hat-i-tude problem.

Which is a shame for those parts of the hotel which are good - Aziz and his colleagues on reception, cheerful housekeeping staff (the place is spotlessly clean) and even the maintenance guy was nice.

But they don't outweigh the downsides, which is why we've just cancelled our return (planned for a few days' time) and will be moving to another hotel - where, perhaps, a cup of coffee in a comfortable bar isn't an affront to too-cool-for-school staff.

Looking at other critical reviews, our experience of the Refinery is similar to other's going back at least to August which suggests these are no longer teething troubles of a new business. The bland management responses with no promise to change anything is another reason we decided to cancel the second leg of our stay: complaining appears to achieve nothing.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Hoxtonboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback, Hoxtonboy1. We appreciate your thoughtful review of our team and are sorry to hear that your experience was not up to our usual standard of excellence. We will be reviewing these details thoroughly to improve for all future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel while visiting NYC on December 22nd
The stuff of the hotel were so friendly and welcoming!!!
Beautiful room (we were in the deluxe double queen)
Great location (corner of six ave and 38th street)
Minute walk to Bryant park and other places
This is going to be the place for us whenever we go back to Manhattan !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shlomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for posting, Shlomi S--we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Wonderful hotel! It was a lovely place to spend the weekend before Christmas especially because Times Square and Rockefeller Center is so close. The hotel is beautifully decorated, from the lobby and rooftop bar with a great view of the Empire State Building. I enjoyed my sleep as well because of the most comfortable pillows and mattress ever. To top of my lovely stay, the breakfast was amazing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
We appreciate your thoughtful comments, Nick M, and are happy to hear that your stay was comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Refinery Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The cleanliness, service, design, and location of this hotel was fantastic. Will definitely stay here again when traveling to Manhattan.

Our room did appear slightly drafty but it wasn't a large issue that the heater or blankets couldn't fix.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StewartS43A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for your review, StewartS43A. We hope you will be making your return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

There no words to describe how wonderful stay we had here at the Refinery. We chose this hotel due to its very positive reviews and I must say that I felt lucky and happy for choosing it. Being on our honeymoon it was so important for us to enjoy our stay and I must say that indeed everyone there exceeded our expectations. Lovely place, so cozy, large rooms, rooftop bar is a must, fantastic smilie employees, looking to assist you with every little detail you had. Had a fantastic room overlooking the empire state which it was beautiful especially now with all the Christmas feeling. A massive thank you to all and special thanks to Mr. Ouachani for making us feel so welcoming. We are already planning our next trip for next year and we know for sure that Refinery is the place to return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate70Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next! Thank you for your post, Kate70Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Great Hotel with many great features. Perfectly located in mid town near all. Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel had a warm, welcoming feeling. Rooms were real nice and the mattress was one of the best I've slept on. The Parker and Quinn Restaurant located in the hotel served an excellent breakfast / brunch. The roof top lounge / bar is a happening place, with a fireplace, outdoor lounge with a great view of the Empire State Buildings. I highly recommend the Refinery Hotel and plan on staying on my next overnight to Manhattan. Real nice find.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
We greatly value your recommendation, Roseanne H. Thank you, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 466 in New York City
2,987 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 466 in New York City
3,630 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 466 in New York City
2,757 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#65 of 466 in New York City
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Property: Refinery Hotel
Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing