We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #28 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We (a family of four from the UK) stayed at the Refinery for five nights over Christmas. I have stayed in hotels all over the world, and almost from the minute we arrived the Refinery became my favourite. It has been beautifully designed and is in a great location. The rooms are very comfortable and a good size, especially for New York. The hotel has been beautifully decorated throughout - the pictures on its website give a great feel for the way it looks. Most of all though, it's the people that make this place special. From the moment I booked our stay, our contact with all the staff couldn't have been better.

We were given a great welcome at the door after a long Christmas Day flight, and the team at the reception were so friendly. As it was my wife's birthday a few days before, we were given a bottle of wine to welcome us, and cupcakes for the boys. We were told we'd been given a 'special' room - but didn't know how special until we entered and opened the blinds, to be met by an amazing view of the Empire State Building all lit up for Christmas. Truly special.

I can't think of a better way to recommend this hotel than, if you are planning a trip to NYC, you MUST stay here!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Always proud to be a favorite, Ekes, thank you for your post--we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,779
    767
    191
    45
    22
See reviews for
908
1,367
147
683
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We just returned from a visit to NYC. A last-minute snafu with another hotel landed us at the Refinery, lucky for us! We stay in New York three or four times a year, and my husband enjoys checking out different hotels each time, so I can confidently state that the Refinery Hotel compares very favorably to other properties in the city. The hotel itself is attractive and comfortable and makes wise use of its public space. Our suite (actually one very large loft-style room with separate seating area) was very comfortable. This was important since my husband got sick and ended up spending 3 days stuck in the room! We requested an inside room and it was as quiet as we could wish. The ceilings are high -- a plus -- and though the room could get chilly the excellent heating system took care of that in short order. The only thing I would tweak in the room was the lighting. I would have liked the option of separate lighting in the living room area. Also, the glass door to the bathroom, while stylish, means the whole room is flooded with light when the bathroom is in use. (The things you learn when your hotel room becomes a sickbed!) But apart from the stylish and central location, what really stands out at the Refinery is the staff. Literally everyone from the doormen to the housekeepers to the waitstaff was pleasant, professional, and receptive. I can't for the life of me figure out where any complaints of snootiness come from. (If you want a real NYC cold-shoulder experience, check out one of the "fancy" hotels in the Upper East Side. Brrrrr!) Finally, I can't sign off without a special shout out to Mario, the barman at the lobby bar (Winnie's). Not only was he super nice and professional to us, paying customers. We also witnessed him providing plates and glasses of water to two European families with children one evening so the kids could enjoy the cupcakes they'd purchased elsewhere at the seating area in the bar. There was nothing in it for him -- except the pleasure of treating guests well. Thank you Refinery Hotel team for a great stay. Keep up the good work and Happy New Year!

Room Tip: Our inside room on the fifth floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMS1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Glad to have become your home away from home, CMS1000. Thank you for your thorough and thoughtful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guernsey channel islands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed at the Refinery just before Christmas with my wife & 3 sons. We had read the previous reviews and were looking forward to seeing if this hotel lived up to its reputation. We weren't disappointed, from the moment we walked in to the moment we left nothing was too much trouble for the extremely courteous and helpful staff. Location is ideal on 38th everything you would want to see in New York is either a walk or a short subway ride away. 3 bars on site the highlight being the roof-top bar which has an outside decking area and amazing views of the Empire State Building. The rooms were large and spotlessly clean and had almost every amenity you could wish for ( tea/coffee making facilities and slippers would be a welcome addition but a minor issue ). We will certainly be staying here again and will recommend the Refinery to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
We are happy that you found us, Nigel710, and that you enjoyed your first visit with us. Thank you for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ny
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed in Refinery Hotel with wife. Amazing hotel, amazing service. Room was awesome spacious and quiet for a NY hotel. Attention to detail in room was unbelievable from fixtures, to hardwood floors and tile work on floor of bathroom.Also great restaurant Parker and Quinn and amazing rooftop bar.Hotel staff was amazing. Overall amazing experience. If you are planning on staying in NYC would highly recommend this hotel which also has great location with Bryant park right next door and walking distance to Times Square.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lhac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Your enthusiasm is much appreciated, Lhac. Thank you for your post--we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

My husband and I just returned from New York on Sunday after spending Christmas at this remarkable hotel. When we arrived to check-in (at 7:30 in the morning) we expected we would have to wait until mid afternoon to get a room. Not so.....we were given a room within 15 minutes. Our room was quiet, extremely clean and very comfortable. Every staff member at The Refinery Hotel treated us with total respect, friendliness, warmth, and sincere interest. The location of the Hotel is spot on!!! So close to everything.....from Macy's to Times Square, Bryant Park (an absolute must to see), Grand Central Terminal and north to Central Park and west to the Hudson River to take a river cruise, we couldn't have asked for anything more. We have travelled extensively and can honestly say that The Refinery Hotel is at the top of our list for return visits. To be around employees who truly take pride in their job is heart warming. They really do care about you and your stay with them.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
We are glad that you felt welcome and comfortable during your visit and we hope you will be returning again in the future. Thank you for your review, Kay N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

And beatifully appointed. This is the best feature of this renovated property. The hotel has a vibrant vibe: lots of young people and a busy rooftop bar. If you don't mind the ensuing activity, and the slowness of the remaining elevators, everything else is perfect. The location is between Herald Square and Times Square (roughly equally distant) so is great for tourism. But the best thing about the hotel is, again, the large rooms. We arrived at the Atelier Suite, and is just awesome. The prices are very reasonable. And the staff is young, amiable, yet professional.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank armandele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for posting, armandele. We hope that you will visit us again on your return to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hampton, New York, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We took our family into NYC this weekend and stayed in the Refinery. From the very beginning, our experience was outstanding - from the warm and personal greeting from the bell staff to the front desk to the bar in the evening. The rooms are spacious by NYC standards, clean and modern. The location is convenient - just steps away from Bryant Park and Times Square. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Your recommendation is greatly appreciated, Tim B--thank you for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,642 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,406 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,453 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Property: Refinery Hotel
Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing