We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Refinery Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Soho Grand Hotel(New York City)
US$381
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$364
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,497)
Filter reviews
4,497 results
Traveller rating
3,325
860
220
62
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,325
860
220
62
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barparker quinnbryant parkhat factorythe empire state buildingcupcakesnew yorkmagnolia bakerygreat hotellive jazzhardwood floorsfashion districtboutique hotelhotel gueststimes squaregreat boutiquecomfortable beds
Filter
Updating list...
3,688 - 3,693 of 4,497 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is our 6th trip to NYC from the UK (2nd time with children), and we would honestly not choose anything other than The Refinery next time. We stayed from 28th Dec 2013 to 2nd Jan 2014 and on arrival were upgraded to a Deluxe Double Queen with Empire State view which made it extra special for our 8 and 6 year old boys.

By the end of our 5 night stay we felt like locals with a morning routine of getting breakfast at the nearby Pret followed by an easy subway trip to Bloomingdales/Central Park. The Refinery was a home from home with spacious, trendy rooms in a great location for exploring New York City by foot and by taxi/subway. Fantastic in the Christmas/New Year holidays for skating in nearby Bryant Park, and very well located for shopping.

We ate twice at the attached Parker & Quinn restaurant which was like a fantastic Cheers bar with loads of atmosphere - just what we wanted for our family holiday. On a more adult trip we would have loved to visit the Rooftop bar. The hotel staff could not do enough to make us feel welcome from beginning to end, would recommend this hotel to anyone without hesitation and hope to return here before too long.

Room Tip: We were given an Empire State view on 9th floor, perfect!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoxleyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for your review, FoxleyFamily. We are happy to have been able to accommodate the special Empire State Building view for you and your family and greatly appreciate your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at the Refinery for five nights over Christmas and very much enjoyed our stay overall. We had asked for a room with a view of the Empire State on a higher floor and while we were given a corner room on a higher floor, the view wasn't anything to speak of (we were facing the traffic) which was a little disappointing. Our room, however, was beautifully appointed - exactly to my taste - and we appreciated the little details like the welcome note, bottle of complimentary water by our bed, nightly turndown service, and le labo toiletries (which were replaced daily - except for the first night, so not entirely consistent).

On day two of our stay (Dec 23) we were relaxing in front of the TV when all of a sudden water started plopping from the ceiling and onto the bed and floor. We quickly realised that there was a water leak directly above us and it was coming down quite quickly - enough to soak the floor in places. We rang reception immediately (my first thought was whether we'd be able to switch rooms with Christmas day being so close - as I imagined the hotel being fully booked). Within a few minutes the bell hop was standing outside the room with a trolley to take our bags - and he kindly helped us while we stuffed everything as quickly as we could into our cases. This was a big inconvenience as we had unpacked everything ready for christmas. Goodness knows what could have happened to our belongings had we not been in our room at the time!

The hotel dealt with the incident promptly and professionally and we were escorted to their largest size room, which was a pleasant surprise. The room was almost identical but far bigger with a seating area and little bar table - and with the view we had dreamed of waking up to at christmas: the Empire State building. We were very pleased and surprised that the hotel could accommodate us at such a busy time of year. We also received a call from reception asking if we were happy with our room and were offered a complimentary breakfast at their restaurant, Parker & Quinn the following morning - which was lovely. We ate in their restaurant on three occasions and enjoyed the food and service.

Feedback for the hotel:
While the hotel gets most things right, I would have given the refinery an extra star if they could work on the following details:
-in both rooms we stayed in, there was only 1 bathrobe, and yet there was 2 of us. We've always had two in our room at other 4/5* hotels.
-$10 for a bottle of water in the minibar was steep (you expect to pay a premium for alcohol but charging this much for water is price gouging).
-there is a large storage cupboard for cases & bags but minimal shelving/drawer space. It would have been nice to unpack a few more things rather than leave clothes in our cases.
-we were given a sheet of paper listing events at the hotel and were very much looking forward to the jazz night on 26th Dec, but this never happened. We asked the staff and they said it had been cancelled -with no explanation. We loved Winnies bar but it was pretty empty during out stay. Such a shame as it's such a tasteful space - and beautifully furnished.
-my boyfriend (now fiance) proposed to me while we were in New York - and when we told a staff member at the front desk (we were enquiring about having our wedding on their rooftop), their reply was "ah lots of people have been getting engaged - there was one of the rooftop recently." It is interesting noting from tripadvisor reviews that couples who celebrate special occasions have been treated with a cupcake/wine in their room. We didn't receive anything- let alone a "congratulations". While the service was great overall, there was nothing personalised about it.
-the bellhops are a credit to the hotel and go out of their way to help. It was a shame that both of us noticed that the staff at the front desk weren't so smiley and friendly when we returned to our hotel room in the evenings. In contrast, the staff on the morning shifts were extremely friendly and acknowledged us with a smile and "good morning". This was surprising for a hotel with the tagline #keepsmiling.

Despite these minor gripes, the Refinery is a firm favourite hotel of ours and with these tweaks, it could be the best hotel in New York. We'd love to return this year for our wedding :)

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

LouiseSutton—Thank you for your feedback, we will be reviewing the details of your stay to ensure the issues you experienced with the robes and entertainment cancellations do not arise in the future. We look forward to your next stay with us and to being of any assistance with your wedding—congratulations on behalf of the entire Refinery Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My boyfriend and I really wanted to stay in Manhattan for New Years Eve, but unfortunately room rates were sky high. Day of, Refinery was offering a greatly reduced room price through HotelTonight, and based on the fantastic reviews of the property, we booked it immediately!

Previous discounted bookings through 3rd parties have left me weary, because I have often found that hotel staff will lower their standards from the full price paying guest. This was not the case at all at Refinery. Despite having some frustrations with champagne glasses that never arrived to our room, we accepted that it was New Years and they were very busy. When we arrived back at the hotel after the evening out at Avenue in Chelsea, we had a minor issue with the window and were immediately moved and upgraded to a Studio King room within ten minutes. We were so grateful for the quick service and appreciated the gesture greatly. The overnight staff, especially Isaiah, was extremely efficient and should be commended for the great service. Upon checkout we were also told that we would receive complimentary breakfast due to the issues we had the previous night. It was a genuinely nice surprise and the staff went above and beyond to make sure we left happy.

Overall, it was a wonderful experience starting with the easy booking through HotelTonight. The service, staff and breakfast at Parker & Quinn were excellent and I will definitely return to Refinery again.

Room Tip: Splurge on the Studio King- it is a much bigger room. Also, do not check out without having brunch at Parker and Quinn (it is amazing!).
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MLE91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

We look forward to your next stay with us, MLE91. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The Refinery Hotel is particular in every detail of their boutique hotel in the fashion district of New York City! They have preserved an important history outpost of New York’s rich millinery (as they put it) while injecting a warm urban artistic comfort from your room, the bar, rooftop deck and entry.

The Rooftop deck is to die for and by appointment even on weekdays due to its high demand for beautiful views of the Manhattan skyline and Empire State Building. They keep the number of people to a very reasonable amount so it is always enjoyable in any space: ​indoor area with seating, outdoor terrace, and ​indoor-outdoor patio.

A fantastic stay you wont forget!

Room Tip: make sure you make a reservation to visit the rooftop!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RUaVTBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for your review, RUaVTBaby--we look forward to welcoming you back to Refinery Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I made a last minute decision to go to New York with my wife and two kids and decided to stay at Refinery Hotel based on the reviews I read in Trip Advisor. I could not have made a better decision. The hotel has everything you can expect: a great location, a fantastic staff and a really comfortable room. The first room they gave us was small to fit an extra bed for our son, so they change us for a much bigger room with no extra charge. When we needed to heat the milk for our daughter, they put a microwave in our room in just a few minutes. No doubt about: Refinery became our house in New York city!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandre_1970_WDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

We are happy to have been able to accommodate your family, alexandre_1970_WDC, and that you enjoyed a comfortable and pleasant stay with us. Thank you for posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews