We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and great hotel.”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #28 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New and great hotel.”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed at the Refinery Hotel on December 30. The room was impeccable. It (the room) was also 3 to 4 times larger than any New York City hotel room I have ever stayed in. The hotel is new, so it's a great time to stay there.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank seattlechickenlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Happy to hear that you enjoyed our space and design, seattlechickenlady--we hope you will be returning for a second visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,942
    802
    197
    48
    25
See reviews for
971
1,425
157
728
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is a beautifully converted period building in an ideal Midtown location but it is the staff who make it a great experience. The morning coffee in the lobby was a nice touch. I will be returning in 2014!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedonist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
We look forward to welcoming you back to Refinery Hotel. Thank you for your post, Hedonist1.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostuni, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

First time we had stayed at this hotel which we all enjoyed. It is well situated in mid town which made it very easy to get around.
Staff excellent and food good. Rooms clean and very comfortable. Roof top bar was an unexpected surprise.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your review, Julian H--we are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us and wish you a happy 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I made a Trip Advisor profile just so I could write this review. The Refinery is awesome. I echo all the great reviews you can read on your own, so I'll just limit to our experience. We got married NYC Marathon weekend and chose the Refinery and the Bryant Park Hotels as our accommodations for our guests. We got married at nearby Gotham Hall. We decided to stay at the Refinery because we felt they truly wanted us to stay with them and we got first class service. They gave us such great service and so many nice perks (upgrade, champagne, flowers, etc) it was such a joy to spend our wedding weekend with them. We also did our first look on the rooftop which they were more than happy to accommodate. The view from up there is spectacular. Our wedding video also captured the edgy, hip vibe the hotel gave which was a nice contrast to the grandeur of Gotham Hall.

Finally, the staff and Amanda Toles were extraordinarily easy to deal with. As we all know, preparing for weddings is stressful and a headache. Last minute changes are often met with resistance and difficulty from vendors. Amanda and the Refinery made everything smooth and easy with all our changes and edits which really made me and my wife love them even more. They are truly the best. If you get married at Gotham Hall or in the midtown area, stay at the Refinery!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Your thoughtful comments mean a lot to me and the entire Refinery Hotel team. Thank you, Steve K, we were happy to be a part of your wedding and look forward to your return stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel is the perfect hotel stay in NYC! The hotel is beautifully decorated and the staff is excellent. Met our every need. Located near the theater district, close to Times Square, and easy walk to all the great shopping! Awesome roof top bar and the restersunt food was as good as a 5 star place! A must stay!!

Room Tip: It's still a boutique hotel..... No snob bing huge chain staff to deal with so just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhseiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
We are always proud to be considered perfect, Dhseiler, and thank you for posting. We hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is our 6th trip to NYC from the UK (2nd time with children), and we would honestly not choose anything other than The Refinery next time. We stayed from 28th Dec 2013 to 2nd Jan 2014 and on arrival were upgraded to a Deluxe Double Queen with Empire State view which made it extra special for our 8 and 6 year old boys.

By the end of our 5 night stay we felt like locals with a morning routine of getting breakfast at the nearby Pret followed by an easy subway trip to Bloomingdales/Central Park. The Refinery was a home from home with spacious, trendy rooms in a great location for exploring New York City by foot and by taxi/subway. Fantastic in the Christmas/New Year holidays for skating in nearby Bryant Park, and very well located for shopping.

We ate twice at the attached Parker & Quinn restaurant which was like a fantastic Cheers bar with loads of atmosphere - just what we wanted for our family holiday. On a more adult trip we would have loved to visit the Rooftop bar. The hotel staff could not do enough to make us feel welcome from beginning to end, would recommend this hotel to anyone without hesitation and hope to return here before too long.

Room Tip: We were given an Empire State view on 9th floor, perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxleyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your review, FoxleyFamily. We are happy to have been able to accommodate the special Empire State Building view for you and your family and greatly appreciate your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at the Refinery for five nights over Christmas and very much enjoyed our stay overall. We had asked for a room with a view of the Empire State on a higher floor and while we were given a corner room on a higher floor, the view wasn't anything to speak of (we were facing the traffic) which was a little disappointing. Our room, however, was beautifully appointed - exactly to my taste - and we appreciated the little details like the welcome note, bottle of complimentary water by our bed, nightly turndown service, and le labo toiletries (which were replaced daily - except for the first night, so not entirely consistent).

On day two of our stay (Dec 23) we were relaxing in front of the TV when all of a sudden water started plopping from the ceiling and onto the bed and floor. We quickly realised that there was a water leak directly above us and it was coming down quite quickly - enough to soak the floor in places. We rang reception immediately (my first thought was whether we'd be able to switch rooms with Christmas day being so close - as I imagined the hotel being fully booked). Within a few minutes the bell hop was standing outside the room with a trolley to take our bags - and he kindly helped us while we stuffed everything as quickly as we could into our cases. This was a big inconvenience as we had unpacked everything ready for christmas. Goodness knows what could have happened to our belongings had we not been in our room at the time!

The hotel dealt with the incident promptly and professionally and we were escorted to their largest size room, which was a pleasant surprise. The room was almost identical but far bigger with a seating area and little bar table - and with the view we had dreamed of waking up to at christmas: the Empire State building. We were very pleased and surprised that the hotel could accommodate us at such a busy time of year. We also received a call from reception asking if we were happy with our room and were offered a complimentary breakfast at their restaurant, Parker & Quinn the following morning - which was lovely. We ate in their restaurant on three occasions and enjoyed the food and service.

Feedback for the hotel:
While the hotel gets most things right, I would have given the refinery an extra star if they could work on the following details:
-in both rooms we stayed in, there was only 1 bathrobe, and yet there was 2 of us. We've always had two in our room at other 4/5* hotels.
-$10 for a bottle of water in the minibar was steep (you expect to pay a premium for alcohol but charging this much for water is price gouging).
-there is a large storage cupboard for cases & bags but minimal shelving/drawer space. It would have been nice to unpack a few more things rather than leave clothes in our cases.
-we were given a sheet of paper listing events at the hotel and were very much looking forward to the jazz night on 26th Dec, but this never happened. We asked the staff and they said it had been cancelled -with no explanation. We loved Winnies bar but it was pretty empty during out stay. Such a shame as it's such a tasteful space - and beautifully furnished.
-my boyfriend (now fiance) proposed to me while we were in New York - and when we told a staff member at the front desk (we were enquiring about having our wedding on their rooftop), their reply was "ah lots of people have been getting engaged - there was one of the rooftop recently." It is interesting noting from tripadvisor reviews that couples who celebrate special occasions have been treated with a cupcake/wine in their room. We didn't receive anything- let alone a "congratulations". While the service was great overall, there was nothing personalised about it.
-the bellhops are a credit to the hotel and go out of their way to help. It was a shame that both of us noticed that the staff at the front desk weren't so smiley and friendly when we returned to our hotel room in the evenings. In contrast, the staff on the morning shifts were extremely friendly and acknowledged us with a smile and "good morning". This was surprising for a hotel with the tagline #keepsmiling.

Despite these minor gripes, the Refinery is a firm favourite hotel of ours and with these tweaks, it could be the best hotel in New York. We'd love to return this year for our wedding :)

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
LouiseSutton—Thank you for your feedback, we will be reviewing the details of your stay to ensure the issues you experienced with the robes and entertainment cancellations do not arise in the future. We look forward to your next stay with us and to being of any assistance with your wedding—congratulations on behalf of the entire Refinery Hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,973 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,623 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#67 of 467 in New York City
2,060 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#42 of 467 in New York City
2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Property: Refinery Hotel
Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing