We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a perfect retreat in urban jungle”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #29 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

the Refinery Hotel is fine. rooms are spacious, clean and polished. lovely and mod decor with warmth and style. bathroom is big for NYC standards and the shower is sublime!

the front desk service is friendly and welcoming. service in dining and concierge also spectacular. my only problem was that the housekeeping staff interrupted our slumber. be sure to indicate with your door tag "Do not disturb". otherwise, they may barge in on your morning snooze.

rooftop bar and lounge is fab. love the atrium and fireplace. very cozy for a cocktail and respite from walking the city streets.

we were stranded for awhile, uncertain if our flight would take off in the snow. but the staff was very accommodating and the lounge downstairs was helpful in alleviating our fears and assuring us that whatever happens, we have a home at the Refinery.

location is nice, central and an easy walk to subway stations. nearby Bryant Park offers good dining and shopping. we would definitely stay here again. look forward to our return without the Polar Vortex.

Room Tip: be sure to use your do not disturb tag to ensure a morning snooze
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosedorsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

We, too, look forward to your return visit, rosedorsey. Thank you for your post—we will be sure to address the timing of our room make up services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,430 - 3,436 of 4,256 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

I wanted to confirm what others have already said:

Pros:
Well designed, modern rooms and bathrooms
Great location
Great bellmen and bellwomen
Friendly front desk service
Great platform beds with fresh smelling linen.

Cons:
Small rooms with inadequate drawer space if more than one person.
Small bathroom with minimal counter space
Lack of a business center
Translucent bathroom door which affords variable privacy. (Do not travel with a companion unless you want them to be able to see you sitting on the toilet and cleansing yourself.)

I have two major complaints, which are deal-breakers regarding my returning to this hotel:
1. The Refinery Rooftop has received wonderful reviews. Unfortunately, there were "Private Events" on three of the five nights we stayed. In addition, the Refinery Rooftop fancies itself as some sort of haughty taughty establishment. Every afternoon when it opens, they commandeer one of the three elevators servicing the building, set-up a velvet rope line manned by intimidating black-suited bouncers who screen anyone attemping to use the elevator for any purpose other than a swift ride to their "club". This dramatically reduces the ability of hotel guests to get to and from their rooms. There could be two elevators on the 12 floor, and if the "club elevator" was sitting empty on the first floor, you would have to wait for them to return to the ground floor. This definately made us feel as thought we were second-class citizens. I don't know what the hotel's deal is with this club, but they should really give better consideration to guests who are paying hundreds of dollars per night to stay as opposed to the drinkers on the roof.

2. Take a look at all the responses on this website from the management of The Refinery. They all basically say, "sorry you didn't enjoy your visit; hope next time is better." How about some genuine answers showing that management cares. Please state how you plan to make positive changes in response to these reviews. There are way to many choices in the area for them not to show true concern about negative reviews.

Room Tip: You pay more to face the street, but that is noisy. Take a standard room that faces inside, and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JeffreyF715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Jeffrey F, feedback is very important to us and I assure you that we will be taking your experience with Refinery Rooftop into account as we continue to improve. I am genuinely surprised that you find our management responses lacking, as I believe there are a number of reviews that speak to our sense of customer care and value of personal follow up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here for a long pre-Christmas holiday weekend in December. The hotel is very centrally located in mid-town and we found it quite convenient for our weekend adventures. We were impressed as soon as we arrived. The hotel is beautiful and chic, but not in any way pretentious. We were warmly greeted at the door and at the front desk. The staff was so welcoming, friendly and efficient. We were promptly checked in and we headed to our room - which was lovely and very well appointed (we had one of the ATELIER Executive suites which has a very comfortable sitting area in addition to the sleeping area). The bathroom was lovely, quite large with plenty of space. The bed was quite comfortable and we slept well.... that is until we both got the flu. We were out of commission for 2 days and you know there is nothing worse than being that sick than being that sick away from home in a hotel. But we felt so at home and comfortable in our room that it made the bad experience tolerable. We kept saying how thankful we were that we found this hotel and how miserable we would have been if we had been anywhere else. The Refinery will definitely be our go-to NYC hotel for our future trips. We cannot imagine staying anywhere else. Thank you for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Select one of the ATELIER Executive suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TobaniSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

While we are sorry that the flu interrupted your holiday, we are happy that you found us and that you enjoyed a comfortable and relaxing stay. We hope you will be visiting again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

After my first review in June, I stayed at the Refinery Hotel for two more visits during the summer. It's now January and I miss it- it felt like my second home! I read someone's review that said he was 56 and too old for this hotel but I'm 58 and thought it was amazing! High quality linens, natural materials, wood floors, great bathroom, cool night lights, and most of all, a wonderful staff. They are friendly and helpful. A big shout-out to Basha, who went out of his way to give me an umbrella because rain was expected, walk a block to hail me a taxi, and just made my stays even more enjoyable. The Refinery makes a connection between its location in the garment district and its emphasis on great design. It has a restaurant with food sourced from the greater NY area, excellent cocktails and reasonable prices (just wish the noise level was a bit lower- the only place my age comes into play!). The rooftop bar is awesome, especially if you go on off-hours, and the hand-crafted cocktails were refreshing on a warm summer's night. I wish I could stay there tonight! This will always be my go-to hotel in NYC. Thanks, Refinery.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Mindy N--we are happy to be your go-to home away from home in NYC and look forward to welcoming you back to Refinery Hotel soon. Thank you for your post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Beautiful hotel in convenient area near midtown, Rock. Center, Times Square and many subway lines. The Refinery is Chic without being off putting, equally welcoming to diverse clientele that includes hipsters and oldsters, families and business travelers. Rooftop bar is a near miracle. True urban feel, neither generic nor precious. Close to everything. Interior rooms are very quiet, at the expense of view. Service is unpretentiously impeccable.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your review, Michael S. We are happy that you enjoyed the various aspects of your stay and hope you will be making a second visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I cannot speak highly enough about this hotel. As a seasoned traveller I have never stayed anywhere (and probably will never) stay in a hotel as good as this again. As an owner and a manager of commercial businesses , we will be using examples of the customer service at The Refinery for training to improve our businesses. These guys seriously get it!!
We arrived before Xmas and was meant to leave a couple of days after New Years, just after the big snow storm. Our flights were cancelled, delayed and cancelled again. We checked out 3 times but kept coming back, only to experience the best hotel service ever (even at 1am in the morning). The assistance given by the staff ( in particular Rinaldo) made a frustrating experience tolerable.
From the time you arrive and meet the friendliest and most helpful doormen to the smiling faces at reception ever time you pass the experience is welcoming. Both my partner and cannot thank you all enough. To have staff that love their jobs means the culture set from the top is right, well done.
We were lucky enough to spend New Years at the roof top bar. What an awesome place and away for the chaos of Times Square.
If I was to fault one thing it is the food. We got room service once. It arrived on a tray in a plastic container and a paper bag. The food was soggy and not nice. You guys are better than this, my tip for improving get it up to the standard of the service. That said, the unbelievable service of "nothing is too much trouble" "how can we make you stay more enjoyable" allows you one small glitch.
I could write a novel on this hotel and all of the little things they do right, it is those little things that make a difference. Biggest thank you to the staff.
Great location, walking distance to so much, great place to stay!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AussieS5Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Your enthusiasm is greatly appreciated, AussieS5Richard, and we thank you for your feedback as we continue to refine our services. We will look forward to your return stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

As soon as we walked through the door we were greeted with the friendliest staff, and that kindness lasted throughout our entire stay. The room was spacious and had a very fresh, fun feel to it. The Rooftop bar was a wonderful place to just relax by the fireplace and enjoy time with friends. The overall atmosphere of the hotel was wonderful and everyone there is looking to accommodate.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gkktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your post, gkktravel. Customer care is very important to us and we are glad to have provided a warm and welcoming stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 470 in New York City
3,181 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 470 in New York City
3,781 reviews
Midtown
The Langham
The Langham
#18 of 470 in New York City
2,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 470 in New York City
2,957 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#27 of 470 in New York City
1,425 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £200 - £532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing