We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #25 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
North East
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Check!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Smile and offer to assist by friendly doorman-check. Interesting and inviting hallway to the front desk area – check. Mind-boggling helpful and attentive front staff (shout out to Annie Sansaricq) – check. Delightful upgrade to an Atelier suite – check  Spacious, spotlessly clean room – check. Real artwork in the rooms and hallways –check. Sunny view with tall windows – check. Fashionable sofa long enough to accommodate both of us in front of one of the room’s two TV sets - check. Top-end bathroom toiletries that my wife insisted on taking home – check. A firm king bed that instantly deadened all motion as I melted into it – check. Luxurious linens and pillows – check. A truly full length (and stylish) mirror – check. Plently of storage space – check. A waiting birthday greeting and gift for my wife – check  Spectacular view of the ESB from the space-heated outdoor rooftop patio – check. Smiles and contagiously helpful attitude from each and every staff member in the building – check. Well-appointed and fully operational exercise room – check. An experience worth repeating – check!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tentenone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your thorough post, tentenone--we hope you will be making a return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,823
    776
    194
    45
    22
See reviews for
931
1,376
151
700
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

The rooms are quiet, clean, nicely decorated and just the right size. Everyone in the staff were extremely nice to us and you could really feel that they enjoyed working there. The roof top bar was very nice too.

I proposed to my girlfriend at this trip and the staff really went out of their way to make sure that we had the perfect engagement. A special thanks to Lindsay!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank karnim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your review, karnim. We are happy to have been a part of this memorable event and are glad that you and your fiancé enjoyed the stay. We will look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

The Refinery is a gem that stands out in the city, and comes highly recommended from my fiancé and I. We stayed in December, and had such an incredibly touching experience. The establishment itself is modern and refined, as the title suggests. However, there is a sense of fun and hominess, as the staff warmly greets you in jeans and suspenders. Tiny details in the rooms continued to make us feel right at home, the makeup mirror, robes, IPhone doc, and suggestions of what to do in the city. The rooms were large, modern, and completely NYC.
Shortly after arriving, my fiancé took me to the rooftop and PROPOSED!! This was a dreamlike proposal with rose petals, champagne, flowers, and a PHENOMINAL view of the empire state building (our first date site). MiMi, the manager of the restaurant, decorated the beautiful rooftop to perfection for my special moment, and catered to our every need. She even helped to calm my nerves with some much-appreciated conversation. So thankful for her! Afterwards we went for dinner in the city, and the door-men treated us like royalty as they grabbed the limo. Each employee took time to genuinely congratulate us. I was so shocked they all knew, and even more shocked they were so sweet.
The best part of our stay was when we returned from dinner. The girls at the front desk had taken all the flowers from the rooftop and decorated our room. There were rose petals on the floor, and a heart on the bed, wine, candles; and best of all, the girls wrote love quotes and tacked them everywhere throughout the room. I was so delighted, and Kevin admitted he had not even planned that part.
In short, I cannot express enough, accommodating this staff was. We will make it a habit to stay at this establishment for our annual city trips, because they gave us such a wonderful memory!

Thanks Refinery Crew!
~Soon to be Mrs. Conlon

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hdecker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
It means a lot to our team to be part of these memories and we thank you for posting, hdecker1. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the refinery for 5 nights. We are a family of 5 and booked 2 rooms. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The rooms were a good size with a lovely view of the Empire State Building. We were on the 8th floor and heard no noise. The staff went above and beyond to help make my son's 18th extra special. He received lovely cakes and a card on the day of his birthday and their recommendation for Benjamin's steakhouse was perfect. The hotel is if the fashion district which is close to everything and a lovely part if the city. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the stay and that we could be of any assistance with the celebration of your son's birthday. We hope to welcome you all back to Refinery Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed at the Refinery over New Year's and really enjoyed the hotel. We usually stay in the upper east side but booked here last minute and were not disappointed. It's a great location and central to everything. The hotel is in an old millinery and the development of the building is wonderful - huge rooms (ours was at least) with high ceilings, lots of the old vibe but with modern furnishings. Beautiful marble and tile bathroom and everything you need in a room (except a fridge but they'll bring you one if you want). We were on a lower floor so it was a bit noisy but that didn't bother us. As others have commented, the beds are incredibly comfy - amazing after a day of walking in the city. The rooftop lounge is lovely with some pretty amazing views.

Pretty consistent service from everyone - doormen are particularly friendly and helpful - the only miss being the concierge on New Year's eve.

We also ate a lot at the restaurant on the property, Parker and Quinn, which was very good - great room service from them as well. But there are lots of great little places within a couple of blocks to get a quick meal or drink - the Australian bar (ask Amber to make you a Feniman's and tonic if you go), a great Turkish place around the corner, Kati Rolls and our favourite, the Bryant market.

We will definitely be back to the Refinery.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for your review, Kim C--we hope that you will be returning for your second visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I would like to share our experience in speaking with the Refinery Hotel and particularly with Lauren Greenbaum. We had booked a week long stay here for Christmas, and had exchanged emails confirming our room, that had been booked incorrectly by our local Travel Agent. Lauren was just so amazing at doing what she could in this busy season to give us the correct room, even though it was not the fault of the Refinery Hotel. Unfortunately our son had a most serious accident breaking his neck and back amongst other injuries. Lauren was just so helpful, very accommodating and friendly in every email. She replied so promptly you could believe she was waiting to help me. I really can't say enough about this Hotel and I so hope to one day be able to stay there. I know now that it will be a wonderful experience, because the Staff in a Hotel make your stay. Thankyou Lauren, you're a star.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bella6055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful comment, bella6055--we are sorry to hear that you were not able to stay with us this time around, but we do send our well wishes to you and your family and look forward to welcoming you to Refinery Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel to celebrate my 40th birthday. The hotel is very modern and our suite was really spacious. The hotel is situated really well to get to all areas of NYC with the subway 2 blocks up with various lines to different parts of the city. The staff were exceptionally friendly and can't do enough to help especially Matthew and Basha ! Our suite had a great view of the Empire State building and a huge bathroom and shower with one of the most comfy beds I've ever slept in. The decor throughout the hotel is pretty cool and the rooftop bar has an amazing view of the Empire state too. As it was my birthday the hotel even left a selection of little cakes and a complimentary bottle of wine in the room. Would highly recommend a stay here and would definitely come back !!

Room Tip: The junior suites are great as they have a little more room with a sofa area and tend to be higher u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Your recommendation is greatly appreciated, jane C--thank you for your post. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#84 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Property: Refinery Hotel
Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing