We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel in a Fabulous Location!”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #29 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My husband, 2 teenage children and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We absolutely loved this place, it was within easy walking distance of Times Square and also Macys. The staff were so welcoming and incredibly efficient. We had one king bedroom and a double queen for our children. The double queen room was much bigger than the king, and both rooms were extremely well appointed with very comfortable beds. Bathrooms were immaculate too. The staff took care of our bags when we first arrived and also on our last day. Nothing was too much trouble for them. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will0w101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

We will look forward to your next visit, Will0w101, and thank you for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,340 - 3,346 of 4,219 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Nice boutique hotel in a spot a little away from most others which was welcomed. We enjoyed a drink at the rooftop restaurant and also had a quick breakfast in the bar/restaurant which was great (awesome waffles).

The only negative was at check in I asked for the front desk to call when our room was ready, but they did not call. We did enjoy a couple drinks at the bar/restaurant, but I could have used that 30 minute nap I was hoping for. When I stopped back over the front desk said the room was ready and had been ok to occupy for the last 45 minutes.

Overall, a very good experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAHAWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

DAHAWK—we are glad to hear that you had an overall good experience, despite any inconvenience at check in. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This proved just about the perfect place for a 5-day break in Manhattan: Superbly located on 38th/6th, with predictably compact but well enough designed rooms redeemed by high ceilings and super comfy beds, and unfailingly helpful and friendly service from a young attractive team. There are good bars and a pretty good, if unremarkable, restaurant. Overall styling is very good. The fitness room perhaps focused more on aesthetics than functionality, but at least there was one. Minor quibbles would be the lack of in-room tea/coffee making facilities, the fine judgment required to avoid the shower being either freezing or boiling, and a feeling that the walls and floors didn't offer great sound insulation. We would return and overall we would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We were on 11th floor, so not disturbed by street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDCT50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

We thank you for your recommendation, EDCT50, and look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed here for NewYears and now were back. This hotel is great. The staff is friendly and they remember your names. The rooms are large and lofty. We ate at the restaurant and the food was delicious. We haven't taken to the rooftop bar yet, but we will before we leave. Great location, great hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jnherring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

jnherring--thank you for your review, we are happy to hear you are enjoying your return visit and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here in October 2013 for a friends 60th birthday weekend. I had booked the hotel on line and good thing I brought my confirmation with me! Our friends got a room, but my husband and I were told that because we were a " no show" the day before, that there was no room available for us! Well, after pulling out my confirmation and showing them that I was, indeed, arriving on the day I was meant to, the clerk said nothing, put her head down and found me a room! No apology, no smile, nothing!
Then, the day before we were to leave, we got a bottle of wine and a card welcoming some stranger to our room! Apparently, we had to check out! Ha! This is when I put my foot down.
I'm sure this was a one-off mistake in booking on their part, but it really bothered me about the attitude. And then to have a nice bottle of wine delivered to my room...for someone else! Why was I not offered anything for MY inconvenience.
We don't typically like this location (too touristy) but stayed here for the benefit of my friend who had never been to NYC. It was close to Times Square, Broadway and some pub style restaurants, but for the price of the room, I wouldn't stay here again.
For a real NYC experience! stay in Greenwich Village or Hells Kitchen. Ooh, or Chelsea! I now need another NYC fix!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyclingnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post, cyclingnomad. I am sorry to hear that there was any confusion surrounding your reservation and for any affront you may have experienced from our staff. This is not the Refinery standard and we hope to welcome you back in the future, so that you may experience our dedication to customer care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Fabulous 3 night stay. Gorgeous room. Totally loved the rooftop bar the views of the Empire State were fantastic The Refinery staff were so friendly and helpful. Wood thoroughly recommend this hotel to all.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank scotsgirlCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

We appreciate your recommendation and hope you will be visiting us again soon, scotsgirlCheshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed here for a week and generally wouldn't write reviews but this hotel deserves recognition for great service.
Hotel is beautifully presented throughout and the rooftop bar is amazing!!!
Well done guys!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Decandval73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for your review and enthusiasm! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Decandval73.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,150 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,748 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 469 in New York City
2,924 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
#18 of 469 in New York City
2,294 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#23 of 469 in New York City
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £189 - £525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing