We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #25 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous 4 night stay in the Refinery Hotel. Everything about our stay was perfect from the service at reception to the standard of the room. There were 3 of us staying & on arrival we were upgraded to a larger room on the 10th floor with a magnificent view of the Empire State, a great start! The room was superb & huge vs usual New York standards, with a beautiful bathroom with great toiletries. The staff were very friendly & welcoming without being too over the top. If anyone is searching for a great place to stay in New York then this is the place. A top quality hotel. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eds81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
We are always proud to have provided a perfect stay, Eds81--thank you for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,854
    781
    195
    46
    24
See reviews for
943
1,388
153
707
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orleans, France
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had a great stay in this hotel. The room was comfortable and a good size. We had a view of the Empire state building as we had asked for when we booked. The room was stylish in a loft-style with a very comfortable bed and nice sized shower. The hotel is very well situated, in the middle of Manhattan, 5 minutes walk from Times Square, but far enough away that you're not bothered by the hustle and bustle. Near the Subway and the main train stations. Staff are friendly and helpful - Basha was particularly helpful when we checked out, he helped with our bags and a taxi. Only thing missing in the room was tea and coffee making facilities and it would be nice to have free bottled water - the water in the mini bar was very expensive. We would definately return to this hotel if we came back to New York, and we have already recommened it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for street side on a high floor if you want a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kikimimi45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review, Kikimimi45, we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayville, New York
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The first thing you will experience when you walk into the Refinery Hotel is the attentive service. Everyone making sure you are taken care of and comfortable is a priority. The rooftop bar was a lot of fun, great view. The location was perfect for dinner and a show. The room felt more like a cool apartment than a hotel room. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
We greatly appreciate your recommendation, simonrose1, and look forward to your staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The hotel is wonderfully located in midtown, near subway stops, restaurants. It's smart looking, super friendly staff, great rooftop (although it gets crowded at night because it's a happening bar). Room is well appointed and quiet although toward the small size and it was supposed to be a "larger" room. My room had zero view, though. Still, overall. A well deserved thumbs up!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JONVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for posting, JONVI, we hope you will be visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The hotel is very elegant with no excessive attitude!
It's not too much of a scene like the spots in the meet market.
The staff is really kind and extremely present without being invasive or...too much.I remember one of the guy in particular Basha that was extremely kind and available in taking care of my stuff even preventing some of the worries I always have when storing my luggages and personal items.

Very good.
I'll come back for sure
Andrea

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
We look forward to your return visit, andrea v, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were guests of the Refinery Hotel - which we had Chosen through tripavisor - for 10 days over Xmas 13 in two double rooms. As my daughter is seriously ill and the New York visit was her 'Star Wish' we had serious reasons to need a relaxing place to return to after exploring NYC and we did spend more hours in our rooms than out of them. Most of the must-sees were at walking distance, a great advantage. The rooms were clean (though housekeeping seemed to be understaffed), beds were very comfortable, the shower gels and stuff very much to our liking, our son's need for Fitness was satisfied in the small Fitness room. A pity the rooftop bar is open only in the evenings and no kids allowed even for a look at the Empire State (I won't tell that we got permission to take a photo with them up there one morning, pssst). All the personell were really friendly and helpful, we got the feeling each personally cared for our wellbeing. Thank you guys! Parker and Quinn served solid cuisine, better than average but it was rather dark, the places by the window being reserved for the evening.The only Problem we had was on the 25th all bars of the hotel were closed and it was impossible to get breakfast due to waiting time longer than opening hours and there had been no warning about that. Our discreet request at reservation that we'd get a small upgrade for my sick daughters room, was not met, but after all, it's the busiest time of the year. We are thankful for the late check-out. We strongly recommend this Hotel as a place to return to, relax and reset before Setting out to further explore NYC.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank O_A_Engel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
O_A_Engel, thank you for your post--your recommendation means a lot to us and we are happy that you enjoyed your overall experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxx
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Yes, the hotel is absolutely beautiful and the staff (bellmen, front desk) is incredibly friendly and helpful at any time.

And this easily makes you overlook the (little) things that aren't so perfect:

1.) When checking-in, our room wasn't ready and we were told to return in 45-60 minutes. But after one hour it still wasn't ready. We were asked again to wait, were temporally forgotten, although I received an email notification, that my room was ready. At two more inquiries we've always been told that the room is finally ready, but needs to be re-checked. But those re-checks, although there were obviously several, were not very thorough. The drawers in our room weren't clean a all. We found hair,fuzz and plastic foil.

2.) Housekeeping takes too long. The next day room wasn't made up before 3 pm, which is hardly acceptable. And again it wasn't very thorough.

3.) The room showed already wear and tear.

BUT our room, including the bathroom, was huge and very comfortable, with a fantastic view of the Empire State Building. Waking up at night and seeing the moon next to the Empire State Building is unforgettable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pacha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
We are happy to hear we could contribute to an unforgettable trip, pacha23. My apologies for the inconvenience caused by the delays at check in and with housekeeping. We will be following up on your comments to ensure all issues are resolved for your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Refinery Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#77 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Property: Refinery Hotel
Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing