We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why stay here? Because its awesome!!!”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #25 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Why stay here? Because its awesome!!!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

From the location to the amenities but most particularly for the service, Refinery Hotel is THE place to stay in NYC. Special callout to Albert, Samuel, Basha, Edison and Domenic who went out of their way to make our Girls weekend truly memorable. All staff were friendly and accommodating and bent over backwards to meet our needs. Thank you all so much.
We flew into Newark, took the train into Penn Station and it was a clinch to walk to the hotel from there. The rooms were beautiful and the linens to die for. Nice hard wood floors, elegant bathrooms and tastefully decorated.
Loved this boutique hotel - would not dream of staying anywhere else in NYC.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flewtoyyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We are happy to be a home away from home, flewtoyyz--thank you for posting, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,848
    780
    195
    45
    24
See reviews for
939
1,387
152
706
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay here after reading through the reviews on Tripadvisor & we are so glad we did! It was our first trip to NYC and the location of the hotel was perfect for all we wanted to do. The staff are available 24 hours for any needs you may have. The room was clean, comfortable & suitable. We stayed on the 5th floor, we didn't have much of a view but that didn't bother us. It wasn't particularly noisy either. We would gladly stay here again!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Heidi K--thank you for your review! We are proud to have provided a perfect stay and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed once on business in January and given my great experience returned in February with my wife for vacation. The hotel very walkable from Penn Station. Your are greeted immediately as you approach the door and again as you walk to reception. Through out both stays the staff went to extraordinary lengths to be helpful, clearly trying hard, skilled and well trained.

To the right as you walk in is a warm contemporary lounge area. Also, just beyond reception is a gourmet Irish pub styled restaurant (I realize that sounds like an oxymoron, but great comfort food). On the roof is another bar/restaurant that is an outdoor space in the summer (haven't been there in summer), but was a cozy glass enclosed space with a fireplace. It was snowing the evening we went up with a magical view of the Empire State Building through the glass (food up top is OK).

The rooms are relatively spacious, with a warm contemporary fresh designs but retaining the loft like wood floors and elements highlighting the buildings history. Everything is very well thought out and the sense of style takes a page from the Nomad Hotel. the inside rooms were very quiet even on lower levels. The only shortcomings: the work-out room is rather small and when we went to get a car service to take us to the airport for an early flight they were charging about twice the prevailing rate. This was in striking contrast to the very reasonable room rates.

Overall a great all around experience and will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Batch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
We look forward to your visiting us again soon, Batch B--thank you for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We have just left after the most brilliant 5 night stay at the Refinery. It's been said a lot here but the front of house staff really are wonderful. Our room (think it was a junior suite) was huge for Manhattan and beautiful. We did not see any of the wear and tear that previous reviews have flagged.

The only things I'd change is the rooftop bar is often booked out for private functions and the staff at the lobby bar aren't as helpful as their colleagues on the front desk. That said, when you can get up there the rooftop bar is fantastic.

Next time we're in NY I can't see why we'd stay anywhere else for the same money. Thanks for a great time!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Benkay1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for your review, Benkay1989. We are happy to hear that you left with a positive first impression of Refinery Hotel and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed at the Refinery Hotel recently while in NYC for a bachelorette party and the experience couldn't have been better. The staff was friendly, accommodating and attentive. The ambiance and decor are upscale, eclectic and all you could want in an boutique hotel in Manhattan. Comfortable beds and nice size rooms. Additionally, the rooftop bar is amazing! The food is great, the dj plays great music and there are one of a kind views of the empire state building at night. Parker Quinn is another restaurant that is located on the main floor of the hotel. Perfect spot for brunch in the morning. We didn't have dinner there, but can't imagine it is anything but exceptional. A true gem in a great midtown location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rstetson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your recent stay with us, rstetson, and we look forward to your visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Myself and my wife stayed here for the past week on our honeymoon and expectations were surpassed. Location, service, quality and value all 10/10. What I loved most though was the humility of the hotel. They are a baby in terms of how long they have been open for and the reviews and hype surrounding the hotel hasn't gone to their heads. Their willingness for feedback and further development is so refreshing. Most other hotels within the same category are too cool for school yet these guys have absolutely nailed it! Matthew on the door is the man also. He is the perfect ambassador for the hotel.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel85l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
We are happy to have exceeded your expectations, daniel85l and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous 4 night stay in the Refinery Hotel. Everything about our stay was perfect from the service at reception to the standard of the room. There were 3 of us staying & on arrival we were upgraded to a larger room on the 10th floor with a magnificent view of the Empire State, a great start! The room was superb & huge vs usual New York standards, with a beautiful bathroom with great toiletries. The staff were very friendly & welcoming without being too over the top. If anyone is searching for a great place to stay in New York then this is the place. A top quality hotel. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eds81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
We are always proud to have provided a perfect stay, Eds81--thank you for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,783 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,495 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#82 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Property: Refinery Hotel
Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing