We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Refinery Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
US$208
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hyatt New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin New York at Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$382
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$223
US$203
Triumph Hotels
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Omni Berkshire Place(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$266
US$255
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$257
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$348
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness centre
Warwick New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$410
US$230
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Pod 51 Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$223
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Mela(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$228
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,453)
Filter reviews
4,454 results
Traveller rating
3,294
851
218
60
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,294
851
218
60
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barparker quinnbryant parkhat factorythe empire state buildingcupcakesnew yorkmagnolia bakerygreat hotellive jazzhardwood floorsfashion districtboutique hotelhotel gueststimes squaregreat boutiquecomfortable beds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,523 - 3,528 of 4,454 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We had a great break in New York at this lovely hotel. We stayed 5 nights and found that the location was an ideal base for exploring and sightseeing. The decor is modern, luxurious with a hint of the industrial feel in keeping with the building. Our room was on the 11th floor and we had a view of the Empire State Building - we were glad to be on a high floor because there was still some traffic noise - but what can you expect in the city! The hotel thoughtfully had provided ear plugs with the toiletries in the bathroom - it's that kind of place where you don't need to ask for anything because they are already on it! The staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming from the door staff Aziz and Harvey to the folks on reception and in the bars. We went to the rooftop one night which was great and also had a glass of wine in the bar downstairs where they have live music in the evenings. If you like jazz, Sarah was awesome. It was a wonderful stay - it was great to go back to the chilled luxury of the hotel after a busy day of wearing out the pavements. I'd recommend and would return myself.

Room Tip: Suggest asking for a high floor as this would be quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Brenda P, thank you for your recommendation. We hope you will be visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

After returning home from a 4 night break at the fabulous Refinery Hotel, I can't recommend the hotel enough!
The staff were attentive, helpful and very welcoming. The room (we stayed on the 12th floor by the lift) provided a perfect base for our sightseeing trip, the room was a great size, really clean and comfortable. There was a small amount of noise from construction workers on the opposite side of the street bit not enough for us to moan about, after all it's New York! Considering we were a floor below the rooftop bar, you would never have known - you couldn't hear a thing. A visit to the rooftop bar is a must, as well as the Parker and Quinn restaurant where we both enjoyed the best steaks we have ever eaten!! I can't rave about the place enough. The location of the hotel is great for most major tourist attractions and literally 2 blocks to get to the subway to get you everywhere else! I would recommend everyone to try the Refinery and if I was to ever return to New York- I would definitely be booking my stay there!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma_270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for your enthusiasm, Gemma_270. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Just had an overnight at this most charming hotel and were impressed from the moment the front doors were swung wide to welcome us. Visually the structure is a delight, from the lobby's vaulted ceiling to the detailed industrial chic theming throughout--including a pop-up "inkwell" on our room's desk that housed electrical outlets. Somebody really cared about the design of the Refinery and it shows everywhere you look. We loved our room, where the theming continued, and appreciated the attention paid to lighting and bedding--both excellent. The public spaces are delightful too--the lobby bar is spacious, relaxing, and quiet; the restaurant is attractive with tufted banquettes and upscale homestyle food (killer beets); the rooftop bar is glamorous while being cozy (although with a crowd a few decades younger than us and quite a few decibels louder, we did only a quick tour and then retreated to the lobby bar). Staff were friendly, professional, super-alert, and thoroughly enjoyable to interact with. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musicmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our design details and thank you for your review, musicmom3. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. Lots of things within walking distance and the subway only 2 blocks. The restaurant, rooftop bar, and the rooms were all very cool. The service was also excellent. I would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emery E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Emery E--thank you for your post. We appreciate your recommendation and hope you will be visiting us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is now one of my favorite hotels. Great amenities but what really made the difference for me was the details throughout the hotel. The staff was great and seemed very happy with their job and the environment they worked. The room design and details were great. Rustic wood floors, cool features like art painted on the walls themselves. Room service was delicious and the menu choices were wide and varied. Two great restaurants and bars. I will stay here from now on when in the city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmaOtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

We are happy to be considered a favorite, jmaOtown. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews