We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location/rooms/service”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #29 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Hits the trifecta of what a great hotel should be - location/great rooms and service.

Awesome location on 38th street, close to the subway and within walking distance of Times Square, Empire State, Macy's, 5th avenue etc. Also next door is a gem of a coffeeshop - Culture; great bright tasting lattes and cappuccinos and really smooth cold brews.

Love the boutique hotel rooms- clean with a vintage/Modern appeal and nicely sized

Lastly the service, the staff have been ever attentive and thoughtful- if your like us and amazon/online shop to your hotel, the staff have certainly been very kind in putting up with the throng of packages that have been sent in our names

Couldn't recommend it more, will certainly come back to stay

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R905WMmarkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your review, Mark C, we hope you will be staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,238 - 3,244 of 4,255 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Needs soundproofing. Street noise was a major issue. If I had known how loud it was going to be I would not have accepted the room, but we got in so late I felt I had no option. NMattress was notably sagging and should be replaced. Loved the vibe of the room and location of the hotel. Reception clerk made me feel like a criminal with the upfront charge for incidentals that gets reversed if you aren't a criminal.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank H P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I love NYC but hey, big cities can be so impersonnal and so is Refinery.
Wooden floors, stylish room, loved the bathroom and its shower, this is REAL boutique design, and unbeatable mid-town location. Plus it is not too noisy.
BUT the design of the rooftop bar, and the adjacent restaurant are a total mismatch.
And when the (very) loud roof top patrons start queuing in the lobby for their elevator ride to the local cruise fest up there, you will wonder if this is where you actually checked in earlier. As the lobby fills up, the blasé staff will not recognise you and you will be treated like any local peeper.
But then, who cares? It's busy, so it must be the right formula, right?
Not for me. I am not going back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank NihonJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Went up to celebrate my 30th birthday and wanted a fun place to stay. After a lot of research, decided upon this hotel - and do not regret it. From pulling up to valet parking, and having a nice chat with Harvey - one of the friendliest guys there - to checking in, it was wonderful. Our room wasn't ready at 3 at check in, so they took and stored our bags, offering to have them waiting in the room when we came back. We walked up to times square, came back, and tried to check in. Harvey was behind the desk and remembered our names! Also, the gentleman we had initially checked in with, was sad when we wasn't able to "personally check us in." Great service. The lady checking us in said the initial room had an "engineering problem" so we got moved to what she said was a bigger room. It was a corner room with 3 windows overlooking 38th streets and 6th avenue. The only slight snag came when we went up to the room and the desk said they'd send our bags up right away. 25 minutes later and a call to the desk to ask where they were, the bags arrived. The bellman also had a complimentary bottle (a real 750 mL bottle!) of their house Red Blend as a form of apology. It was a nice touch.

Later when we got back to the room, they had also brought up bottled water (sparking and still) and a mini cake saying "Happy Birthday" with a nice note wishing me a happy birthday. It was super nice.

The room was clean, the bed comfortable, nice little touches within the room, great bathroom amenities. The location also can't be beat - it's off the craziness of Times Square, but so close to walk.

I can't recommend this hotel enough. The service can't be beat - and in this day and age, I would rather stay at a place that makes me feel special at a slightly higher rate than get treated like just another number. The staff here make you feel special. Also - their companion restaurants and the rooftop bar is awesome.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a corner room. Stayed in 705 with awesome views and a nice spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful post, Joshua M. We hope you will choose to stay with us on your next visit to NYC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights recently and cannot praise it enough. The room was perfect and the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful - the location is also perfect not only was it close to macy's and Times square but the tube was only a few blocks away.. We are already looking forward to our next trip to the city and will Def be staying here..

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Emma M--we look forward to your next stay with us and thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Refinery for a weekend getaway to NYC. Location is awesome, only 2 blocks to the Bryant Park subway. Old garment building brought back to stunning life. Awesome in every way. Great rooms, comfy beds, awesome service and killer drinks in the bar!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Richie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, Richie F. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We wanted a special 5 days in NYC....looked at a lot of hotels and choices. We picked The Refinery Hotel, they were wonderful, the rooms we're perfect and our time there was PERFECT! It was money well spent, a time of memories that will last forever. And don't forget to hang at the Roof Top Bar, it's a great place to enjoy a cocktail and enjoy the views. We found it to be a great value and will stay there again real soon.

Thanks to the Staff of The Refinery Hotel for giving us great 30th Wedding Anniversary memories!

GMT

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, not sure I would prefer one over another. We stayed on the 8th floor in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMichael2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words, GMichael2014. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 470 in New York City
3,179 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 470 in New York City
3,781 reviews
Midtown
The Langham
The Langham
#18 of 470 in New York City
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 470 in New York City
2,955 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#27 of 470 in New York City
1,425 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £203 - £531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing