We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, New, Modern Rooms”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #29 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Great location just a block off Broadway. New, clean, a bit minimalist/loftish with all the amenities. Fast, free Internet that doesn't dog you to re-log in every time you turn your laptop or iPad back on. Comfortable beds, high quality linens and friendly staff.

Only slight negative is that our room directly faced 38th street so it was a bit noisy to sleep, but, welcome to New York. Next time, I'd ask for a room that doesn't face the street.

Well worth the money ... is probably now my favorite place to stay in The City.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room that doesn't face 38th Street.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_RHouston_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We are always proud to be considered a favorite, Mark_RHouston_TX, and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,094)
There are newer reviews for Refinery Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,058 - 3,064 of 4,094 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

The staff are all lovely and incredibly helpful. The rooms are very nice and we even got a view of the Empire State from out room! It is a great distance from all of what New York has to offer and staying here really did help to make our trip to the city a great one.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We appreciate your kind words, Chloe B. Thank you, we look forward to your visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stylish hotel in a great location, friendly staff couldn't do enough for us, the concierge was excellent nothing too much trouble. Rooms fresh and airy large bathroom with spacious powerful shower. Rooftop bar is a must to visit, Sunday is best as it is quieter rest of the week its hectic. Would definitely recommend a stay there.

Room Tip: Room 1008 doesn't have a view but is very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianeb288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for posting, Diane B. We hope you will be staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I recently stayed here. Jared, one of the concierges, helped us with a few details prior to arriving via email. Upon arrival we were greeted initially by polite and gracious doormen, then checked in efficiently by a happy Jeremiah. We had asked for a quiet room, which we did not receive. We stayed in 706 which after discussions with people in the elevator from time to time, was on the "wrong side of the building". Apparently 709-718 would have been better. But no matter, we spent our days becoming exhausted in a great city and having little sleep.

The rooms were wonderful. From the great queen sized beds to the air conditioning to the showers, the hotel shined in its "newness". The countertop space was sufficient for my daughter and my toiletries which were easily spread everywhere after first use. The shower was strong and easy to control temperature. So was the thermostat.

Renee was plenty of help after we arrived at the concierge desk with lots of great tips for my daughter and places to go.

With plenty of options for grabbing breakfasts nearby, it made for an easy place to ensure the day started off well. And with Times Square, the theatre district and shopping really close, we were never far from where we wanted to be.

Would highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Mahulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Your recommendation is important to us, thank you for taking the time to post, Mahulu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in May 2014, to see Cher! So pleased we found this truely amazing, peaceful, 5 star Hotel. Its a member of the Small Luxury Hotel of the World Group, and lives up to their standards plus some!!! Lovely old building which has been superbly re vamped into a modern, but understated masterpiece! Great staff, Amazing urban Roof top bar with views of the Empire State Building,( it does get busy thurs and fri with city workers until 8pm ). Bar food and service in the ground floor Parker and Quinn was second to none, try it! Live Jazz also in house, and free wine at reception at certain times! Yummi!!!
Door staff and reception staff particually attentive, thank you!! ( cute uniforms!) Marble bathrooms, wood floors, floor to ceiling windows, good air con, well stocked mini bar and fridge. Snuggle into beds and pillows with daily linen change. Very central, nr Bryant park, Herald Square, Times Square,5th Ave,Broadway, and we even walked up to Central Park and down to the Liberty Ferries!
Would truely advise if your looking for a Top quality, stylish, central NYC Hotel, but not cheapest..... Please try the Refinery Hotel!!!! We WILL be back....... Thanks to Everyone for making our 1st NYC break the Best city break weve had in ages.... x

Room Tip: Not much noise pollution from traffic below, so any room is good really! Black out blinds throughout...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewandSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Your review means a lot to us, Andy_Simon2014. Thank you for posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I should preface this review by noting that I have no idea what my stay cost (I was there with my girlfriend on business). However, the eight nights we spent there were great.

As a previous reviewer observed, it's stylish. Everything is "uber" and "cool" and "hip" probably, but I just noticed a clean, aesthetically inoffensive hotel. The room, for New York, was sizable. The bed was huge and comfortable and the shower was capacious. My pillow preference is probably aberrant, but I found theirs to be too hard for my still forming fontanel.

The rooftop bar is large and a pleasing place for a late-afternoon/evening drink. Good looking folks abound. But for as "cool" as everything is about this hotel, it's still an accommodating place that didn't make me feel like a jerk for wearing flip-flops in the hallways.

The greatest praise, however, is reserved for Albert (hope I got that right), who let me drop my bags for a couple of hours a day and a half after we checked out. It was an ace move that solidified the reputation of the hotel in this traveler's mind and singlehandedly prompted this review, so hopefully it won't get him in any trouble. Really, the whole staff were fantastic.

Room Tip: I overheard a woman complain about her room being too close to either the rooftop or downstairs bar...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoBuNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review, JoBuNYC. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel is lovely. We were upgraded to a double room with a view of the Empire State Building. The rooms were very spacious and had lovely bathrooms with high pressure showers.

Good location to walk to a few of the main attractions in NYC.

Only hiccup was the rooftop bar which gave awful service as we had to wait quite long just to get a bottle of champagne and clean glasses.

The restaurant downstairs in the hotel had a nice vibe and good food.

Loved the hotel and would definitely stay there again:)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rini9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We look forward to your staying with us again, rini9. Thank you for your post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 468 in New York City
3,016 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,663 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York
Langham Place, New York
#21 of 468 in New York City
2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 468 in New York City
2,805 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#64 of 468 in New York City
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £217 - £493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing