We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, only some glitches”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #28 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel is in a very central location in Midtown - hence very noisy. It is stylish and calm, and the service is generally quite good. We had a drink in the rooftop bar and found it very pleasant.
Our room was big for NYC standards, and tastefully decorated. A bit noisy because of the noise from the street, but not too bad. The bed, however, was not very comfortable for my taste (too soft). The bathroom is very pretty, with a huge walk-in shower and a nice decor. But what it has in style it lacks in convenience. It is very difficult to regulate the temperature in the shower, there is no place to hang the towels, no counter space... this, plus a very tiny closet would make the hotel no a good option for more than a 2-3 days stay. The gym is quite good, as is the restaurant where we had breakfast. The reception personnel are on average quite competent, although there were some minor issues with booking a car and the check out process. The gentlemen at the entrance who help with the cabs are great. My only other minor gripe is that the room was not thoroughly cleaned after the first night we stayed there. It is still good value for money considering the prices and options in the city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We appreciate your taking the time to post, Maria M, and hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,098 - 3,104 of 4,143 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

Nice experience in this hotel that was recently opened in mid-town.The room was elegant, the bathroom very comfortable (rare in nyc) and everything clean, stylish and new. The people of staff were so kind you don't feel to be a nyc. Minus points: rooms don't have a view. The rooftop is a joke : it is run like a separate business, so we enjoy it just one evening because it was rented for private parties the rest of our stay. Since the price is high and the rooftop is an great advantage, it would be more honest to set two different prices, one in case guests can use it, the other in case they cannot.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank enea_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

enea_z, thank you for your post. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay and hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I would give thus hotel 4.5 stars if there were half stars. The room was great, it had character and different from the usual which is refreshing, with very high ceilings and nice bathroom. Our room had no view as we asked for quiet room and we were happy with this as it was quiet. Everything was great but for the price paid I am not sure it is great value for money. The hotel didn't feel like it was your residence, it doesn't feel that comfortable. Staff didn't go out of their way to assist with anything and some people mention free wine though this was never mentioned to us. We never got to see the rooftop bar as there were private functions, it would have been good if they left a note or had a sign as to which days it is and isn't open. The breakfast place had nice decor and I liked choosing a dish rather than having buffet, though all three days we found everything to be very heavy and fatty. The rooms are the real plus which is the most important thing but if I were paying for this out of my own money I think it is overpriced. The area is handy to the tourist things but not the nicest of areas.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank lifeisbeaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback, lifeisbeaut. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Great location just a block off Broadway. New, clean, a bit minimalist/loftish with all the amenities. Fast, free Internet that doesn't dog you to re-log in every time you turn your laptop or iPad back on. Comfortable beds, high quality linens and friendly staff.

Only slight negative is that our room directly faced 38th street so it was a bit noisy to sleep, but, welcome to New York. Next time, I'd ask for a room that doesn't face the street.

Well worth the money ... is probably now my favorite place to stay in The City.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room that doesn't face 38th Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_RHouston_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We are always proud to be considered a favorite, Mark_RHouston_TX, and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The staff are all lovely and incredibly helpful. The rooms are very nice and we even got a view of the Empire State from out room! It is a great distance from all of what New York has to offer and staying here really did help to make our trip to the city a great one.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We appreciate your kind words, Chloe B. Thank you, we look forward to your visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stylish hotel in a great location, friendly staff couldn't do enough for us, the concierge was excellent nothing too much trouble. Rooms fresh and airy large bathroom with spacious powerful shower. Rooftop bar is a must to visit, Sunday is best as it is quieter rest of the week its hectic. Would definitely recommend a stay there.

Room Tip: Room 1008 doesn't have a view but is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianeb288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for posting, Diane B. We hope you will be staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I recently stayed here. Jared, one of the concierges, helped us with a few details prior to arriving via email. Upon arrival we were greeted initially by polite and gracious doormen, then checked in efficiently by a happy Jeremiah. We had asked for a quiet room, which we did not receive. We stayed in 706 which after discussions with people in the elevator from time to time, was on the "wrong side of the building". Apparently 709-718 would have been better. But no matter, we spent our days becoming exhausted in a great city and having little sleep.

The rooms were wonderful. From the great queen sized beds to the air conditioning to the showers, the hotel shined in its "newness". The countertop space was sufficient for my daughter and my toiletries which were easily spread everywhere after first use. The shower was strong and easy to control temperature. So was the thermostat.

Renee was plenty of help after we arrived at the concierge desk with lots of great tips for my daughter and places to go.

With plenty of options for grabbing breakfasts nearby, it made for an easy place to ensure the day started off well. And with Times Square, the theatre district and shopping really close, we were never far from where we wanted to be.

Would highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Mahulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Your recommendation is important to us, thank you for taking the time to post, Mahulu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,067 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,699 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York
Langham Place, New York
#18 of 469 in New York City
2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#43 of 469 in New York City
2,856 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#63 of 469 in New York City
2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £210 - £494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing