We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing boutique hotel in central location...”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #29 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at The Refinery hotel for two nights in the beginning of may. The overall look of the hotel is stunning. I would say its modernly refurbished and has a boutique contemporary feel, defiantly a nice hotel for a special occasion. This was my first visit to new york city and I found the hotel suitably placed for all the typical tourist sights. Just a few blocks away from time square rocker feller macys etc you wouldn't need to get a taxi or subway to the big attractions. We only took the subway once the whole three days we were there to get to down town from mid, subway stations all closely located.
The rooms at the refinery hotel were spotless. Big comfy double bed with what I gather spacious rooms for new york standards. The room had every amenity you could need however I think a kettle with tea and coffee making facilities would have been a nice addition as I like a cup of coffee first thing when I wake up in a morning. The mini bar has good options however was a little on the expensive side. The bathroom was good however thought the frosted glass doors lacked a bit of privacy as I was on holiday with people that I perhaps wouldn't want to see me in the bathroom, but it was ok.
We also ate in the hotels restaurant one of the nights we were in new york, down to convenience as we were tired from sight seeing. It was a lovely meal, had lamb burger and was lovely and fresh, waitress service was amazing, very attentive and knowledgable about the menu. The restaurant also kept with contemporary theme of the hotel which was a nice touch.
My only small complaint was that the access to the roof bar was difficult for people actually paying to stay in the hotel. Due to the popularity there was only one lift running to the roof top bar and you had to queue but you could get any lift down, which also made it difficult to get a lift at night if u were on a high floor as they were always full. Appart from this special hotel which made my new york experience that extra special.

Room Tip: If you don't mind waiting for a lift then a higher floor for an amazing view. Lower floor if you...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spenb1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your kind words and coffee maker recommendation spenb1010. We look forward to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,100)
There are newer reviews for Refinery Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,035 - 3,041 of 4,100 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

A truly great hotel. Cannot fault It. Staff frendlying and helpful, room was bigger than expected, location is ideal who like to explore on foot, rooftop bar first class. Our room was standard but the size and fittings were good. The hotel designer should have five stars as well as the style works very well from the art to the uniform of the the staff

1  Thank Horrid G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We look forward to your next stay Horrid G, and appreciate the kind feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked this hotel for a long weekend in NYC and overall would say this is a very good hotel. The room was excellently appointed, with the most comfortable bed we ever slept in at a hotel. Perfect location for exploring the city and a very high quality restaurant on site...but then it should be as you are paying the prices for luxury and location! The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially in the restaurant and bar there. However, of the various staff we encountered on the concierge desk, whilst very friendly and chatty, only one could provide us with a good recommendation as they did not seem very knowledgable of what was on offer in the area. She recommended us the Park Avenue Tavern which was fantastic and close by. Despite having a great stay at the Refinery, we would think twice before returning, the main reason being the rooftop bar. We stayed 4 nights and only on one of those were we able to get up there to enjoy the fantastic view of the Empire State building from this amazing rooftop bar (which we had specifically booked the hotel for) .Main reason for this was that the rooftop bar not only wasn't open during the day, it was booked every night for private events at exactly the times you would normally visit a bar in the evening. Nowhere were the exact opening times or private functions advertised, making it very hard to find the right time to go, and hotel residents could not use any part of the bar during private events. VERY disappointing. Strangely, the beautiful and cozy lobby bar also was only staffed in evenings which was a shame as would make a lovely afternoon hangout, despite that you can't order a tea or coffee there. If you could fix these small (but really annoying) points then we would have rated you a 5!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor and didn't have any noise from the road nor the other rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We appreciate your feedback Rowbery, and will be looking into your remarks about our Concierge and Food & Beverage establishments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Spent 5 days with my husband and friends ,from the minute we arrived staff (Basha) porter made us feel brilliant! Rooms gorgeous clean and modern! so central for everything,roof top bar with view of empire state was just brilliant...would defo go back!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Adele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thanks for your kind feedback on our rooms and space Adele F! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights for my 2 cousins big birthday, they flew over from Scotland and I flew up from Houston. We had a ball and Patrick the doorman was very helpful. Thoroughly recommend, an ideal location with a rooftop bar.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosiemummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Rosiemummy, thank you for your feedback! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed 1 night for a wedding. Great service from check-in thru check- out. Awesome view from rooftop bar/ lounge. We had a room on the 11 th floor...great room, comfortable beds, not noisy. Some people had rooms on 3 rd floor and complained about the noise from a street cleaner. I definitely would recommend this boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Request high floor
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhyoungNorthCaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your review, RhyoungNorthCaldwell, and hope you will be visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just spent 4 nights here and the overall experience was really great. The location is perfect for getting every where we needed during our stay. Rooftop bar is an excellent addition, but would be good if there was easier access to it for the guests. Private events there mean no access for guests.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Traveller197507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We appreciate your thoughtful review, Traveller197507. We hope you will visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 468 in New York City
3,028 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,667 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York
Langham Place, New York
#21 of 468 in New York City
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 468 in New York City
2,814 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#67 of 468 in New York City
2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £212 - £494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelbag, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing