We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #27 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Great Stay”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Fantastic Hotel great location excellent bars and restaurant not forgetting the roof top bar etc staff were very helpful had a great time. Easy reach of trains hop on buses which were great value and theatre and restaurants.

Room Tip: room 1101 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Buckto your kind words about our staff, our location, and our rooftop means a lot to us. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,917
    798
    197
    47
    25
See reviews for
961
1,416
156
722
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We chose this hotel rather than another because of its rooftop lounge where we thought we could enjoy a drink after our long days visiting NY. We stayed 4 nights at the hotel and of the 4 nights, the rooftop was closed 3 on 4 nights and the only night open to the hotel guests, it was crowded. We complained at the concierge and we could finally access the rooftop the evening before our departure between 10:35pm and 10:50pm, then we were asked to leave the rattan seats because they wanted to tidy up the place. We took the hotel program with us and we can see from it that between June 2nd and 15th 2014, the rooftop is closed to hotel guests 9 nights on 14!!
Also, the freezing cold Air Conditioning made it difficult to stay in the hotel restaurant or at the bar, so basically, once back at the hotel, the only alternative was to head back and stay in the hotel room, where you can open only about 20cm of your window.
On the good side, the staff was extremely nice and helpful. The room was comfortable and since we mentioned that we were on our honey moon, the hotel provided a bottle of white wine and a cake in the room.

Room Tip: ask for a room as high as possible to reduce street noise! 12th floor is the highest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Christian L, your thoughtful comments regarding our staff mean a lot to us. We are actively addressing the topics you have brought to our attention, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stay at the hotel 3 nights .we stayed at many hotels in Ny and we never hade such a grate service.
The staff were so nice and made our stay so pleasant starting with the doormen, the reception everyone in the hotel greeted you. A lovely, modern hotel, with lovely staff. But It was a little nosy ,a lot of parties on the roof bar. We come to Ny 10 days a year ,usually
We do not like this location but we hade
an incredible stay at Refinery. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leonesko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Leonesko, we hope you will be returning soon and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My first time in New York and I will never forget. Huge location to have fun close to bryant park ; amazing rooftop.
My husband and I enjoyed our stay for our 6th anniversary: Great room, bathroom with all the amenities (Labo). We,have been surprised to be welcomed so kindly (cookies and cupcakes in the room).
A special thank to Albert, Guest Service Manager, Aziz the Doorman and all the front desk team.
We wil come back for NYE !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your kind and thoughtful comments, Shirley M. We are happy you chose Refinery Hotel for your special occasion and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have stayed at many a trendy hotel and I have now realized that great decor and ambiance go a long way, but customer service remains key. The reason so many celebrities stay at the Refinery is because they treat everyone as such. My spouse and I were in New York for our first anniversary. Apart from the lovely and largest room I have ever had in a New York City hotel, the staff were so pleasant and made our weekend. Particular praise goes to the doormen, especially Bashar. He arranged taxis without a fuss and everyone in the hotel greeted you. It seemed everyone loved their job, including the hospitable concierge. When employees seem this happy, it rubs off on the hotel guests. A lovely, modern hotel, with lovely staff. Thank you for an incredible stay Refinery. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinfale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Your recommendation means a lot to us, Martinfale. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Myself and my partner stayed at the Refinery Hotel for two nights in June 2014 - on arrival, Raymond who works at the front door couldn't have been more helpful to us, helping with all our luggage to our room and providing us with lots of advice and information. Although we arrived around 1030, we managed to get slightly earlier access to our room at around 1300, which is always good. We were also given a complimentary upgrade to an executive suite, which given that it was our first trip to the city, was a very nice touch and great service.

Our room was very spacious and lofty, with excellent decoration. Our room had a king size bed with a working space opposite, with a large LG TV above, also including a living area adjacent. The bed was very comfortable, however, the noise proofing from outside wasn't amazing, so car horns, sirens, etc, were fairly audible from the room. This was mainly a problem at points during the day and didn't really detract from the quality of sleep we experienced at night.

Throughout our stay, all staff we experienced throughout the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly, from the porters and reception staff to the maids. The hotel itself is located in a prime position in Manhattan, with all tourist sites you could imagine being within walking distance - for example, Empire State Bldg, Times Square, etc. There are subway stations located close by for any further out trips, such as to the 9/11 memorial, therefore the hotel is very well located for both walking and for further transport links.

The hotel's rooftop bar is an extremely classy touch also, providing views looking onto the Empire State Bldg, resulting in a great setting for a few drinks. Overall, I would wholly recommend this hotel for those looking for an excellent modern hotel in the Manhattan area. All rooms are tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable, whilst the hotel is filled with very helpful and friendly staff, and for this reason I'd definitely stay if and when I return to New York.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marklgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your thorough and thoughtful post, marklgraham. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Not my first time in this place and it's always a pleasure to see a wonderful staff.Perfect location in Midtown. 6th Avenue and 38th street. Close to the best spots of the city.
Thank you to the front desk team, Mr Albert; the director, makes you feel as comfortable at the hotel as you were at home.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Shane O, we are always proud to be your home away from home. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 466 in New York City
2,924 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 466 in New York City
3,592 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#67 of 466 in New York City
1,966 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#38 of 466 in New York City
2,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Property: Refinery Hotel
Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing