We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good hotel, nice rooms and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #27 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel, nice rooms and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed as a couple for 3 nights.
It was a good location (in Garment District). We could reach lots of what we wanted to see by walking, and it was only a short walk to the subway. We felt safe walking around.
The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful.
The hotel room was nice quality, clean and spacious, with a good shower and bathroom.
The price seemed good value relative to its peers.

We went up to the rooftop bar for cocktails and thought it was classy and nicely done. It had a beautiful view of the nearby Empire State Building and not just outside in the patio - the ceiling was retracted in the pleasant evening weather (see photo). Unfortunately, all seating was reserved so we had to sit at the bar. Future visitors might therefore be advised to request a seating reservation beforehand.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend the hotel.
The only negative, to give a full report, was the delivery of our $75 room service breakfast in plastic trays with plastic cutlery. As the menu said china ware was available on request, which we did, this only extended to the plates.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChickenBeakBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
ChickenBeakBoy we greatly appreciate you taking the time to post. We are following up on these details and hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,621
    725
    184
    43
    21
See reviews for
870
1,312
140
604
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 days in NYC up till 4 July and after several
stays in NYC I think the Refinery at 38th is my favourite hotel.
Excellently positioned , new , small and elegant. A real gem!
A kettle in the room would have been good as my partner is a big tea consumer. Otherwise perfect.
All members of the staff were polite, accommodating and had personality . I would highly recommend this hotel for all age groups.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Curthofmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your recommendation Curthofmann. We are thrilled to be your favorite and look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hotel was comfortable, interesting and in a good location as other reviewers have said. We also found the staff very friendly and attentive -- they often checked if we needed anything, were able quickly to arrange cabs, transport and bookings and stored our bags for us a few days before we arrived when we were passing through. That was very helpful.

It was pretty noisy outside (and we rarely hear any noise). But this is the middle of New York, so it goes with the territory I guess. No complaints about that.

Mu only suggestion is that the roof top bar should lift their game. They should look after guests more rather than treat them as just other customers -- it was unnecessary too to insist on holiding a credit card for a tab when I was charging drinks to our room and they knew who I was. They had roped off quite a bit of the tables the night we were there and it was only when I said we were going somewhere else that they fessed up that the group wasn't coming for about three hours. But this didn't detract from a great hotel -- there are plenty of other bars in New York after all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vague travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We appreciate your feedback, vague travellers. Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel, and your insight on our Rooftop. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

June 2014 & another great stay at this wonderful hotel. From the doorman to the front we were welcomed and helped by the kindest hotel staff. The room was huge by NYC standards and immaculately clean, lovely linen and the nicest of pillows. This is my 2nd stay here within 6 months and we will be back. The location is excellent - walking to Bryant Park, Theatre district, Times Square and major shopping. Wonderful to have the attached restaurant for our breakfast and we thoroughly enjoyed having the main floor lounge for a dessert and drink after our walk back from the Theatre.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for being a returning guest swCalgary, your thoughtful comments about our staff and our hotel are very important to us. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooper City, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Nice location staff friendly overall excellent rooftop very nice only negative was street was somewhat noisy even though we were on 4th floor restaraunts appeared to be nice however did not eat there bell men and security friendly and go out of their way to assist/answer questions

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 424michaele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, 424michaele. Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

As everyone says, the staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is well located. The king bed room is fine for one person since there are not many drawers to hold your clothing and the drawers they do have are small. My wife and I had difficulty setting out our toiletries in the bathroom since there is only one sink with a minimal amount of space. It would have been very helpful had there been an additional shelf in the bathroom. It also would have helped if there were a few hooks to hang the bathrobes as well as the wet towels we were encouraged to use a second time to "save the planet." The room did have style and was very quiet except when the fire alarm went off in the entire hotel and awoke us at 3:30 am. We're were told the next morning that it was set off when a guest was smoking in his room. They should find a way to mitigate that without disturbing every guest in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfrank2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post, Jfrank2014. We appreciate your comments and have actively addressed the hitches you brought up in your review. We hope to welcome you back soon for renewed experience of Refinery Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Husband and I stayed for an anniversary trip. Good size rooms for NYC. Staff is very helpful and young. Roof top bar is amazing, but they question everyone who enters, there should be a separate elevator for hotel guests cause once you say you are staying at hotel they let you straight up. Rooms are noisier by street, but that's to be expected in NYC. Excellent location, walking distance to Times Square and Bryant park. Convenient subway station also. Easy to grab a cab from hotel too. Can see Empire State Building from some rooms. Overall highly recommend for location and comfort of stay, you're right in the middle of everything!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mere86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for posting Mere86, we appreciate your feedback and hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,531 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,340 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Property: Refinery Hotel
Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing