We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, service, decor, it has it all” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #28 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Location, service, decor, it has it all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This time was a quick 3-day trip to NYC. The location of the hotel is perfect as it is quite central but still a bit off the big noisy streets. Our room was the Atelier suite, in which a roll-away bed was put in to accomate a child. The room was big, enough storage room, bathroom was clean with good amenities (which I don't usually use but liked this time). The bed was very comfortable, loved the sheets.
Great attention to details in the decor make for a good amibiance in the room and the hotel.
The staff was efficient and courteous.
The room service for food was efficient, the food was delicious and hot, but comes at quite a big price.
would certainely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the courtyard side of the building, quieter than street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-JoseeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Marie-JoseeD, thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed Refinery Hotel and are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,767
    767
    191
    45
    22
See reviews for
908
1,367
147
675
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I recently stayed at the Refinery Hotel. It was my first time to New York and I couldn't have chosen a better hotel. The location is fantastic, walking distance to all major attractions, eg. Empire State Building, Times Square, Central Park, several subway routes, Madison Square Gardens and Bryant Park.
The hotel staff were amazing, friendly, efficient, knowledgeable and always willing to help at any time.
The room was a great size, I shared with 3 other females and there was plenty of room for us all in the bathroom, ample room for our clothing and with a great view of the Empire State Building. We did a lot of research of hotels and chose The Refinery for the room size. The décor was very trendy but also very stylish.
There is a Rooftop Bar which has a spectacular view of the Empire State Building also. It was just beautiful sitting there at either day or evening enjoying cocktails.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Your enthusiasm is greatly appreciated, susan e. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

If you are interested in a hip hotel without the hipster attitude from staff, the Refinery is the place. From the room to the bathroom products and water pressure, everything is excellent. But the reason to book here is the staff. Everyone here seems truly interested in connecting with the guests and providing the best possible service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karlomundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you karlomundo for your kind words about our staff and our service! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Water
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I liked this place: it's attractive, quirky and well staffed. We enjoyed our stay.

But there were just a few small things that stop it being really great for the money they charge. Cracked sink surround, a mirror that was being pushed at the wrong angle (away from where you stand) by a light, dust on ledges and a gap between the mattress and the headboard resulting in lost pillows. None a big deal but...

Pluses- great comfy beds. They have a gym/fitness room although it doesn't say so on website and the guy in the restaurant didn't know.

Overall a decent hotel which I would go back to.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Leonspinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We value your feedback, Leospinx, and will be thoroughly reviewing the topics you addressed in our rooms as we continue to improve our service. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and beds. We appreciate your time and hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My companion and I visited New York City in July, 2014. We stayed at the Refinery Hotel for four nights in the Standard Suite for about $285 per night.

My first impression was how friendly, efficient and helpful the staff were. At the very least there was always a staff worker eager to open the main front doors for us, a very nice touch.

I very much enjoyed the lobby bar where jazz bands played live nightly. I also enjoyed the rooftop bar with a good view of the Empire State Building.

The room in which we stayed was clean, comfortable and pleasant. The bed was very comfortable. The closet was big enough but we could have used more clothes hangers. The washroom was very functional and spacious.

The Refinery Hotel provided a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of New York. This is most definitely a heterosexual hotel but we felt comfortable enough as a gay couple without having to look over our shoulders.

Overall, I would go back to the Refinery Hotel in a heartbeat.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ten-Seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for posting,Ten-Seven, we are glad you and your companion enjoyed your first visit and hope you will be visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Within walking distance of Penn Station and all the important midtown stuff, I was delightfully surprised with this boutique-ish type hotel. The rooms were spacious (for Manhattan), the decor was hip (without being in-your-face trendy), the staff was very friendly and accommodating, from the doormen to the front desk to the maintenance team.

This was a weekend trip with four girlfriends and the hotel graciously upgraded our room so that we had two queen beds, a sitting area, and a spacious bathroom. We never felt cramped.

If you get a chance, definitely checkout the rooftop bar. Through some miracle, we were seated out on the open patio with no waiting where we enjoyed amazing appetizers, a pitcher of sangria, and a view of the Empire State Building. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: As with most NYC hotels, higher floors will have less street sound but the hotel does provide earplu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allthingsfadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your girls weekend with us, allthingsfadra. Thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We booked this hotel after the wonderful reviews. We have stayed in handful of luxury hotels in NYC so we were a bit nervous that there must be something wrong with this hotel because the price is not comparable to the others. We were very surprised to learn that this hotel is perfect. Excellent service and comfort. Our room is actually big which doesn't happen much in NYC. only drawback is that there is no tea kettle nor a way to make hot water for my morning tea.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jleahkaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We are delighted to hear you were pleasantly surprised, Jleahkaylor! Thank you for your kind words about our service and our rooms. We do have tea kettles that are available upon request and would be happy to provide one to you on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#98 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Property: Refinery Hotel
Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing