We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in NY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #28 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best hotel in NY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at the Refinery Hotel for one week. It`s a beautiful hotel with a very nice roof bar. The rooms are big and luxurious. It`s really central and you have everything nearby.
This hotel has the best service I have experience. Love to come back soon.

Room Tip: Try the Deluxe Double Queen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lekross30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for calling us the best in New York, Lekross30! Your recommendation is important to us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,767
    767
    191
    45
    22
See reviews for
908
1,367
147
675
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We loved our stay at this hotel. The staff goes out of their way to endure that you have a nice stay. One night we were cold and they not only brought us blankets but they warmed them up first.
The design of the rooms is very special. It feels like coming home to an oasis which is something you really need in NYC.
The bed was so comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful and very clean, even big plank hardwood floors.
Only downside was that it is very close to Times Square. For us this neighborhood was a bit too busy but some people would probably like being so central.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wietholter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your review, Wietholter, and for recognizing our design and our team's great work. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed for two nights in August, te staff was friendly, the roo (studio King) was actually quite spacious and most importantly .....very CLEAN and comfy beds! Cental to all the sights and close to subway lines! All and all a great stay:)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OliKai1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your review, OliKai1113. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our beds and our location and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was our first port of call for accommodation when we arrived in the U.S and it did not let us down!

Upon arrival we were offered a glass of wine - little old me said yes (Cos I am holidays!!!! - yay) Hubby declined..lol..but imagine my embarrassment at getting into a lift with a wine glass in my hand..lol...should have thought that through! ..no it was all good! The staff were friendly, we felt welcome...

We were in an Atelier Executive Suite, which wasn't as big as I thought it was going to be especially at $496.50 US a night...but it was smartly dressed and once we lay on the bed we were happy!! The bathroom was big - loved the artwork on the walls and the mosaics on the floor...the industrial lamp in the room was a big hit with hubby! Am still trying to find a stockist that will ship to Australia!

We dined in the adjoining resteraunt on the first night although it was loud and busy, we still had a nice time - our waitress was fun.

The location of the hotel is perfect if you are a tourist as only about a 15 minute walk to Central Park, Times Square etc...lots of great restaurants/bars etc close by

Would I stay here again? ...Yes

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Malnic, thank you for your enthusiastic review. We are delighted to hear you and your husband enjoyed your stay, and are happy to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I am not a frequent visitor to New York and was looking for something affordable, yet near Times Square and the subway. I could not have been happier with my choice of the Refinery. This hotel exceeded my expectations in every way. The hotel is modern and sleek. Upon check in, Dante greeted me at the front desk. He was extremely friendly, nice and helpful. I was pleased with the size of my room and the cleanliness. The rooftop bar was beautiful with a great view of the Empire State building. The only downside was the lack of anywhere to hang a towel in the bathroom and that is so minor it's hardly worth mentioning. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D0nS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
We are delighted that you found us D0nS333! Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton rouge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Love this hotel. Very clean and the rooms are very sexy with the mix of contemporary and industrial. Previous review said the staff elevator was noisy but our room was next to it and never heard anything. The club on top the hotel was great and I can't say enough about the staff. They were always happy to help and give suggestions for restaurants and other things when asked. We had a street view so the was slight traffic noise but that's not the hotels fault. Would love to go back there today!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimplerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
We are happy to hear you had an excellent stay Dimplerose. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Having stayed all over NYC, this might be my new fave. Comfortable, with an unusually friendly staff. The public spaces were great, but the rooms were better. It can sometimes be the other way 'round. Great bar downstairs and really wonderful rooftop bar with an excellent view of the Empire State Bldg.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank bamcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We are delighted to be your “New Fave” Bamcg! Thank you for your review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#98 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Property: Refinery Hotel
Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing