We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it, great location.”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #24 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Loved it, great location.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband stayed here for business and then myself and two young daughters met him for a long weekend. We had a great stay. The staff is professional and kind. The location is great. The view from the roof top bar is amazing. Beds were comfy. Couldn't have asked for anything more.

Room Tip: We had a view of the Empire State Building, if you want a quiet room, should ask for an inner room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
So happy that you and your family found us, Kristine72. We thank you for posting and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,859
    783
    195
    46
    24
See reviews for
943
1,389
153
709
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown NJ
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My three sisters and I stayed one night here for a quick overnight getaway and we all were very happy that we chose the Refinery for our stay. Loved the vibe of the hotel with the funky art and were thrilled at the size of our room and bathroom...especially for NYC! Beds were comfy and we had no noise issues at all. Rooftop bar was wonderful and we had a great breakfast at Parker and Quinn. Location was very convenient to everything. I cant say enough about every staff member of the hotel...I couldn't believe this level of friendliness and helpfulness from NYC, kept thinking I was in the South! I would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaNJCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are delighted to hear you and your sisters enjoyed your stay LisaNJCPA! Your comments mean so much to us and we will look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Being greeted at the door by GM Albert Armonte & his infectious smile & personality got our stay off to the perfect start. Upon arrival to our room we found specially made, scrumptious, cupcakes with our company logo on top! Wow! I took a picture, but can't attach it to this review for aim reason.

Within 4 hours of landing in NYC I stumbled on a manhole cover & broke my foot. The staff was SO accommodating! Offering to bring ice to my room as well as a wheelchair for use in the hotel. With the beautiful hardwood floors in the room(which would make you think you would hear people in other rooms-NOT!) it was wonderful to use the rolling desk chairs to get around the room to get ready for the best NYC adventures possible with a broken foot. . An amazing place with amazing staff!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaLisa2200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay despite your injury, LisaLisa2200. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and service, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed the signature cupcakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I travel often to NYC on business but this was my first time staying at the Refinery Hotel. It is without a doubt the BEST experience I have ever had in a NYC hotel. Let me start by emphasizing the simple but sophisticated vibe of the hotel. Walking through the doors into the hotel you forget about the speed at which the city moves behind you. The door men greet you with a smile and welcome you into a new world. The Refinery was once a hat factory and they chose to preserve that history keeping a hat factory theme throughout the hotel. The staff is one of the most superior i have aver encountered. They are efficient, knowledgeable, and friendly. The room had hard wood floors, plenty of space, and free WiFi in the rooms and throughout the property. The small details in the room are fabulous and the housekeeping staff, although never seen, did an impeccable job.

The Refinery Rooftop has a small menu and a not so small drink menu. The view is inspiring and the atmosphere is inviting and fun. The Parker and Quin, the main restaurant, served me the most delicious pork belly flatbread i have ever had in my life. I also had a rib-eye during my stay and it was cooked perfectly and was delicious.

The hotel is moments away from anything you want to do because of its close proximity to the heart of the city.

I will never stay in another NYC hotel when i come on personal vacation time. This hotel is a true gem and must be experienced.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your continued support Nelson T. We are always delighted to have you at Refinery Hotel, and are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and this hotel is highly recommendable. Clean, friendly staff, nice art and furnitures... They offered some champagne and strawberries with chocolate when they heard about our engagement in NY. The bed and room were decorated...very nice to come home that night!
We also enjoyed the rooftop bar. The location is ideal, you're close to the subway, Bryant Park... We come back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you, Claire V. We are honored to have been part of your engagement, and are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a relatively new hotel between Times Square and Herald Square presumably located in an old factory. Personnel wear suspenders and work shirts, as if they are stand-ins for 1920 workers, except much younger and better groomed. Very chic.

There are a lot of things to really love about this place -- INCREDIBLY helpful and cheerful desk clerks; a rooftop bar that is loaded with charm and ambiance as well as a stunning view of the Empire State Building; very comfy beds with soft, top of the line (high thread count) sheets and comforters; very well-appointed rooms with every thing you need; and a convenient location.

As a matter of personal preference, I wasn't crazy about the aesthetic. It doesn't evoke "factory" at all -- way too chic. Everything in the guest rooms is hard surfaces, black wood, white tiles, metal, mostly bare floors except for right around the bed, and fairly dim lighting.

Minor issue was that other than the bedding, nothing was soft -- not even the towels or the robe. The towels were absorbent, but not soft, which I guess is better than soft but not absorbent. I, however, prefer ones that are both.

The really problem. and the reason for four stars instead of five, is noise. The bare wood floors and hard surfaces may be aesthetically appealing to some, but every footstep can be heard in the room below. Above us, there was a woman in heels. She walked around, a lot, between 11 p.m. and midnight. And we heard every step. The noise from the very loud party in the next room (music, shouting, stamping) just reverberated through the walls. (Kudos to management, which shut the party down around midnight -- we weren't the ones that complained, but I imagine the people above and below were getting even a bigger dose than we were). We could also hear street noise. People go to hotels to sleep, and noise is not conducive to sleeping.

The Refinery is trying really hard to be trendy and chic, and the young, attractive crowd at the rooftop bar suggests they attract the market segment they were aiming for. But the people checking in and out were not young and chic -- they were the typical out-of-towners (hey, it's a hotel after all), that rented a hotel room so they would have a quiet comfy room and a hot shower. While The Refinery does really well on a lot of other things, comfort is somewhat lacking. Adding some more carpeting (not the horrid wall to wall stuff, just enough to deaden footsteps), some soft towels and maybe a touch of color here and there would do a lot to make the people that rent rooms as happy as the young people partying on the roof.

Next trip to NY, I would absolutely go The Refinery for the rooftop bar, but with all the great hotels in NY, I'd have to get a great price deal to go back again to sleep. There are just too many places that are chic, friendly, comfortable AND quiet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 59GoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your thorough review, and wonderful observations about our staff and service, 59GoTravel. We are taking your comments into account and hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I just stayed here for business and was pleased. Right off 6th avenue and a short walk from penn station. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are typical of NYC hotels, small. They are nicely appointed and comfortable. There is a fun rooftop bar too. Looking forward to staying here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank dubbs605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for posting, dubbs605. We are so glad that you found us and are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Property: Refinery Hotel
Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing