We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate!”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #29 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My lady and I just returned from a three day gateway in NYC.

We stayed at the Refinery Hotel.

It is immaculate on all aspects. Very clean. Bed and sheets are so comfortable. Staff is polite, courteous and knowledgeable. Very well located. Decorated with amazing taste and funk. The roof top terrace is breathtaking.

We very highly recommend it.

Sebastien Demers, Quebec, Canada

Room Tip: Bring posh clothes to go for drinks in the evening at the hotel terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sébastien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

We are charmed to hear that you and your lady enjoyed your getaway at Refinery Hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience Sébastien D, we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,922 - 2,928 of 4,153 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Me and my partner have stayed at Refinery Hotel in early April 2014. We have booked a Studio Queen. Upon our arrival we got upgraded to a Studio King with a view on Empire State Building. Thanks again for that!

The room was absolutely gorgeous. Roomy, airy, comfortable bed, unbelievable view, great bathroom and impeccably clean. The staff is always helpful, friendly - and extremely well dressed ;)

It was the perfect place to stay at and we enjoyed it very much. People who have a light sleep shouldnt maybe take rooms in the upper level (where ours was located) as you can hear sounds of the rooftop restaurant, but I wasn't disturbed by that at all - as NYC obviously is a quite unquiet city.

Thanks again and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Herrweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

We are so happy you had an incredibly good stay, Herrweh. Thank you for your pleasing room description and great recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I only have the best to say about the Refinery. It is a great hotel to stay in NYC both for its location and service. The rooms are well designed, clean, light and spacious. The staff if friendly and helpful and will always make you feel special. The restaurant (Parker & Quinn) is really good and I recommend to have breakfast there at least once. Overall a great experience and hopefully I will have the chance to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank veraco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Your thoughtful and insightful comments are much appreciated, veraco! We are happy to hear you enjoyed Parker & Quinn and would love to welcome you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed at The Refinery on a recent business trip to NY, and absolutely loved it. It is quirky and unusual, but in a great location with great design and a really fun, friendly feel to it. The rooms are stylish with lovely touches of luxury throughout, the staff were great, and while they don't do breakfast the free coffee for my walk to our NY office each morning was a nice touch.

If you are coming to Manhattan for work or pleasure and you want to avoid the big faceless chain hotels, give this place a try - you will love it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 455WillC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review, 455WillC. Your recommendation means a lot to us and we hope that you will choose to stay at Refinery Hotel during your next visit to NYC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Ok - so this is not a Mandarin Oriental overlooking the Central Park, but for its price range, it is the best hotel you can stay in Manhattan by a nautical mile. Even if money was not an issue, I still think I would choose Refinery Hotel over any other in Manhattan.

Rooms: Trendy, nicely designed rooms that are larger than NYC average. Comfy beds and very good attention to detail in room design.

People: Very very helpful, always smiling and willing to make your stay enjoyable.

I stayed on the top floor on the other side of their famous rooftop bar, so I did not hear any noise from the bar or the street.

Pro's: Decor, cleanliness, staff, "feeling", beds, aircon, location, technology.

Very minor con:
-Room doors are like a safe doors, good for security but they make a BIG noise when you close them.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have less noise coming from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozgur U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

We very much appreciate your review and recommendation, Ozgur U. We hope you will come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I took my boyfriend to Refinery Hotel on August 22nd for one night as a special anniversay treat. It was by far, the best hotel I have ever stayed at! The staff was so sweet (especially the lovely young woman working at the front desk Friday and Saturday night)! Our room was perfect - the most comfortable bed! The mini bar was well stocked - the rooftop bar was gorgeous (a little noisy) - I have already made plans to return for a quick holiday getaway in December. This is my new go-to for NYC.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 10th floor in a corner room and it was great - no noise issues from bar etc. We did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adksgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for naming us the best, adksgirl! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in December.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The Refinery Hotel is a short drive from the Lincoln Tunnel and easy to access. The service is wonderful and the staff are kind and welcoming. The bellhop, I want to say his name is Bosha, remembered our family from our first visit and made us feel right at home.

The rooms are always neat and cleanly, although minor fix-ups may be helpful down the road. (Ex. Bathroom door wouldn't fully close)

While the rooms do not escape the noises from outside, one should remember that New York is called the City That Never Sleeps for a reason! You will get rooms like that in any NYC hotel.

I highly recommend this hotel and we will make sure to stay here next time we visit the city!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horsegirl187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

We love our repeat guests Horsegirl187! Thank you for your review and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,078 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 469 in New York City
3,706 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York
Langham Place, New York
#18 of 469 in New York City
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#43 of 469 in New York City
2,866 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#67 of 469 in New York City
2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £208 - £496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing