We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made to feel like a criminal”
Review of Refinery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Refinery Hotel
Ranked #27 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Made to feel like a criminal”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

I am here with my partner on vacation (returning after having gone to medical school in NYC for 5 years). I thought the hotel was too expensive for what they offered. Room was OK-sized for NYC, but nothing special. We were placed across from the service elevator on the 12th floor, which was noisy. The bathroom left much to be desired. You can tell it's worn down. The food at the Rooftop bar was terrible and overpriced. On our last day, they even charged us $300 to stay an extra 3 hours even though they're not at capacity. We explained it was my friend's engagement party, and we needed to get ready before checking out. That would've been OK, except that when I checked in both me and my partner gave the lobby our IDs, and apparently they only cared to take down my partner's name. On our last day, I had to come back to the hotel without him, and my key had been deactivated. They refused to replace it because they couldn't find my name. They truly made me feel like a criminal. All because they didn't bother to write my name down when we checked in. Bottom line, the service here is terrible. It truly wasn't worth the money we paid. I have stayed in many amazing hotels around the world, and I'm willing to splurge for a beautiful room and great service, but this is certainly not the place to do that. Word of advice to the management: when someone gives you their ID at check-in, teach your employees to write those names down to avoid embarrassing moments for all involved.

Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank DavidSolaDelValle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,890
    790
    195
    46
    24
See reviews for
951
1,405
155
714
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Stayed with wife and 2 children

Staff always friendly
Clean very stylish rooms
You know your in NY with style

Great location so much better than being smack on time square
Easy walk there and Empire State
Couldn't have been more happy

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wylandras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Wylandras, we hope you and your family will be returning soon and thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We spent 6 nights at the Refinery Hotel in a Deluxe Double Queen. The location is ideal, centrally located, close from many Metro stations. Perfect to visit any major interests of the city. The hotel is relatively new, very clean, nicely decorated. The room we had was big considering the NYC standards and the beds were very confortable.
Be aware it's a 12-story hotel, so avoid any rooms overlooking the 6th Ave because of a poor sound isolation and the heavy traffic. We asked to be relocated after the first night without sleep and it was done very promptly.
Free WIFI was an appreciated bonus.

Why it is not a 5 stars hotel? Because:
- No special attentions of the staff. When you come back in the hotel after your day or when you come out of the elevator in the morning, nobody knows your name (even though we stayed 6 nights), very rare greetings. The persons behind the desk were always absorbed in their computer! We felt nonexistent.
- Non separated WC in the rooms.
- No bath in the bathroom (we just had a big shower)
- The turndown service at night is on request only. And when requested on a daily basis for the rest of our stay, sometimes the turndown was done even before we were back at the hotel from our visits (around 5PM): useless! The made up of the room was really basic: glasses weren't cleaned, bathrobes were not put away in the bathroom, bin was not emptied, etc. The morning housekeeping was very correct though.
- Towels are of poor quality, too thin, not soft enough.

Last point but not the least, the entry to the Rooftop. It seems the Refinery rooftop is independently managed and being a resident of the hotel doesn't give you a real easier admission. If you travel with young adults under 21, they won't be allowed to reach the Rooftop after 6 PM even if they are accompanied by one parent. And this is not the issue of drinking alcohol. As the age of admission to a bar is only determined by the bar owner (not a matter of legal age drinking), a hotel guest dedicated policy should be considered by the Refinery management.

Globally, we had a nice day as we spent most of the days outside of the hotel and the room by itself was really great. We were just expecting a highest involvement of the staff to make our stay memorable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ici_Et_Maintenant75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Ici_Et_Maintenant75, Thank you for your detailed review and for staying with us. We take your feedback very seriously and are actively addressing the matters you brought up. We hope you will consider staying with us again for a renewed sense of customer care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed at the Refinery Hotel for three nights in August. Since we travel with our small dog and the hotel is pet friendly I opted to stay here, That and the excellent reviews and rating from the Tripadvisor site. The past reviews for this hotel are not overstated, The hotel is fantastic and the entire staff is friendly and helpful.. The location of the Refinery is very central to many of the landmarks. The rooftop lounge is very good and has a great view of the Empire State Building,The staff was very accommodating to us and our pet and we will stay here each and every time we go to NYC.

Room Tip: There was building construction going on the first night but that looks to be winding down. After t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your recent stay with us, Larrygg, and we look forward to you and your pet visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2014

A family of five saying for a week in July. The hotel is ideally located for all the tourist attractions, the food was excellent and good value for money. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was very clean. The hotel was stylish yet comfortable. The view of the Empire State Building from my daughters room was stunning and we would unreservedly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pc5london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Pc5london, we are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel for our stay in New York early August. The hotel occupy a nice building is very well situated. It is very close from central station, the Empire state and 10 minutes walk fromTIme square.
The rooms are not very big but well decorated and well equiped. Nice atmosphere and very friendly and professional staff. Good cocktails on the rooftop witmh a nice view on the Empire state. We wil come back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alexb1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, alexb1957, and we are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Of course you have to know about all the reasons why you should come here, let's start off with the fact that there is Parker & Quinn Restaurant and also the Rooftop Bar all in the same hotel. This makes perfect for those times where you need some coffee and breakfast as soon as you wake up from enjoying a night out. Though managed by a separate entity still operations run smooth just as if it were run by the amazing staff at Refinery.

You walk into the hotel greeted by the men quite dapper from head to toe, we also had the pleasure of being welcomed by Albert whom went above and beyond to make our stay more than what we expected.

When we got to our rooms there were cupcakes with the Logo of the Organization we work with sitting on the table with chocolates as well and a nice card from Albert & The Refinery Team.

The rooms very well decorated and modern yet still cozy. Lighting can be dimmed for those mornings where your not ready to awaken but you know you should. The beds so comfortable I slept like a dead man not moving or waking up once during the night. Also feeling so energized and not in pain...I say this cause I am very sensitive to the kind of bed I sleep on, I've stayed at luxury hotels before where I wake up with my back in knots and aching throughout my vacation.

Concierge was able to assist our group with a variety of places to eat when we were indecisive about what we wanted.

We were able to get reservations on short notice to the Rooftop Bar thanks to Albert, which by the way has some amazing views of NY.

Everything about this hotel during our stay was perfect from the service, decor, cleanliness, even the soft bedding/linens. I definitely enjoyed my stay at The Refinery and will be back soon.

Thank You Albert & The Refinery Team for making it a memorable stay.


Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank RobertJrReyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Taormina, General Manager at Refinery Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for your review RobertJrReyes. Your compliments to Albert and the rest of our staff are much appreciated. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,857 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,553 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#69 of 468 in New York City
1,838 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 468 in New York City
2,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refinery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refinery Hotel

Property: Refinery Hotel
Address: 63 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018-3818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Refinery Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Refinery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing