We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Facsinating!”

NYC Subway Art Tour
Ranked #242 of 620 Tours in New York City
Attraction details
Northern California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Facsinating!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was a great tour. One of the best we have been on. Who knew there was so much art to see in the subway! Darryl was a very entertaining and knowledgeable guide. As newbies to the subway system we felt comfortable enough after this tour to use it several more times during our stay

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank sushi4soup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Learn about the Art Underground”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

NYC Subway Art Tour is the ingenious brainchild of Darryl Reilly. Very imformtive, one views amazing works of art that would otherwise not be noticed. We met Darryl at a central location and for 2 hours had a private(only 2 of us) up close tour of several stations. Each artist based their work on their interpretation of the meaning of a particular station.
It was fantastic. Darryl was great. My only criticsm is that 3 hours was a little too long.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 521travellinglisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Seeing the subway in a new light”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We loved this tour! Made me realize that I'm so obsessed with studying the older subway tile signs that I've completely ignored the newer subway art that's been emerging over the past couple of decades. Our guide was amazing-very knowledgeable, organized, entertaining and a pleasure to travel around NYC with! Highly recommend and thank you!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
“Great Tour!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is one of the best tours in the city! I live in NYC, ride the subways, and have always noticed and enjoyed the art. Now that I’ve been on the NYC Subway Art Tour, I actually know about the art too! If you like art or are curious about the subway (and art) – you should check out this tour!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We'll never look at subway art again the same way.”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Darryl made this tour interesting and fun. Even though there were just the three of us, he didn't cancel. Instead, we had a personal family tour. It was REALLY HOT & HUMID so getting into the a/c cars was nice. Darryl had the tour script and sights so down pat it was seamless. We came with our own METRO cards which was convenient but not necessary. A really great tour to see art below ground and connect with it. The history was so cool!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Atalanta403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed NYC Subway Art Tour also viewed

 

Been to NYC Subway Art Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing