We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“African-French fusion in lower Harlem”

Patisserie Des Ambassades
Ranked #196 of 387 Bakeries in New York City
Cuisines: Moroccan
Neighbourhood: Harlem
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Harlem
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
118 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“African-French fusion in lower Harlem”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I wish we'd scheduled lunch or dinner after seeing their menu. We had a wonderful basic breakfast of eggs, home fries, slices of their bakery's ciabatta, and the most interesting/fiery brown hot sauce/paste I've ever had. Complex, hot as **, lingering delicious flavor once the heat subsides. Be sure and ask for that and start sparingly. $6.99, everything excellent, great service, a classy, elegant, but warm and inviting atmosphere. From their bakery took a 7-grain baguette: top quality. A must-go for out next trip to this great world city! www.patisseriedesambassades.com

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R0adTripper66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirriemuir, Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Calorific heaven”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I used to live in France and so was a bit sceptical when we came to a French patisserie in Harlem for breakfast. However, we werent disappointed. If I had closed my eyes and taken a bite into the croissant, pain aux raisins or pain au chocolat (not that I had each of these all to myself, you understand!) I would have thought I was at a small French boulangerie in real live France.

There are only a couple of seats inside, but tables are available outside if you fancy an al fresco breakfast. (By the way, note the seamless change from French to Italian....)

I recommend you try this place - and forget about calories for a day (or two).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Grannela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
318 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Awesome bakery”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This is a little neighborhood Sengalese bakery and restaurant that turns out excellent baguette and pastries in the French style. It is always busy and frequented by the local Sengalese population. If you need to pick up some bread for dinner or some pastries for dessert, this is the best place around for miles, the bread is baked fresh daily and sells out quickly so get there early if you want one.

They also have a little restaurant in the same space where you can order coffee and croissant in the morning or various dishes of in a fusion of Sengalese-French cuisines that are pretty tasty and unique. Just be aware that the place gets very busy and the Sengalese take a very different pace from the average New Yorker, if you plan to eat dinner there you should plan to wait longer than usual for everything so don't go if you're in a hurry, go if you want to relax

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank snoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
91 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Croissants!”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I only stopeed by here to get a croissant. I had read other reviews that said they had true Paris croissants and they did! Only $2 for a regular, $2.75 for a chocolate. I had the chocolate it was to die for!!! (Along with a vanilla latte, yum!!) The lunch and dinner menu looked delicious. They had a variety of pastries for an affordable price! If around Harlem, go here!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EllenJoan2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Patisserie Des Ambassades also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Patisserie Des Ambassades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing