We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, deafeningly noisy”
Review of Crave Fishbar

Crave Fishbar
Reserve with OpenTable
Crave Fishbar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #592 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: 50th St
Transit: Lexington Ave and 53st. E,6 Train M15 Bus
Description: Crave Fishbar is a vibrant, convivial restaurant in Midtown Manhattan serving an inspired seafood menu from chef Todd Mitgang. An eclectic mix of reclaimed materials and custom made chairs and tables lend a beachy, rustic feel to the space, which houses a 25-foot-long bar where guests can order from the full dinner menu along with cocktails and wine from a mounted bottle display. Approachable, sophisticated dishes feature local seafood, crudos, and meat dishes that are thoughtfully prepared with both familiar and exotic ingredients.At the 2nd floor bar you will find a full raw bar shucking up a large variety of East and West Coast oysters. Outdoor seating on both floors. Crave Fishbar has taken its place as a neighborhood fixture, providing locals and newcomers alike with a elegant, inviting experience.
New York City
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, deafeningly noisy”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Excellent food all around, fresh delicious oysters often on $1 per piece special. BUT
the noise was deafening and led to our foregoing desert and coffee just to get away from
the din. Even earplugs wouldn't help!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkCityLibragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    75
    25
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Oyster happy hour”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have never come across an oyster happy hour before, but I would happily come here again an again for theirs! I can only comment on the oyster and wine as this is all we had (and why the heck not?!) but $1 per oyster and half price sparkling wine is not something I can turn down... Our waitress was so lovely, friendly and gave great recommendations on the huge variety of oysters. Goes without saying this is amazing value for money and so great that they don't mind you ordering only oysters, where other places might try and pressure you into getting other full price dishes. All the oysters we had were so fresh and delicious. The atmosphere was lively and fun, we could overhear the other wait staff who were as enthusiastic about the food as our waitress. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RanjiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great neighborhood spot”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We wandered on early on a Sunday night and sat at the bar. The food was excellent, the staff were friendly and attentive, and the atmosphere was lively and warm. Go!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JCCatDFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food and service. Too loud.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Food was excellent. Had a selection of fresh oysters that were great. Waiter was very helpful in making selection.

Yellow fin tuna and mussels for main course were both excellent. We sat upstairs. Bring your earplugs!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

What an amazing happy hour deal ($1 oysters)! Am definitely glad we made reservations. When we arrived there was a line out the door, but we were seated immediately. Our server James was great. Speedy service and lots of recommendations. We usually hit the GC oyster bar but decided to try somewhere new this trip. Glad we did.

Helpful?
Thank MITripGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crave Fishbar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Crave Fishbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing