We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Surroundings”
Review of VIV Thai

VIV Thai
Ranked #871 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Surroundings”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Found this place while walking back to the Skyline Hotel. In NY for 4 days while on Holiday from UK. The food and service were excellent - visited on Saturday 14th around 6pm prior to show on Broadway.You must try the crispy pancake rolls for starters - they are amazing and I have never seen them made or served like that anywhere in the UK . Also try the Thai Red curry - very nice.
The surrounding are really nice and gives the feel of being very trendy.
If in this area or want a meal before a show then try this place out - you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    54
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“'Diamond in the rough' kind of place”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

After what seemed like a lifetime of trying to find a decent place to eat, we happened upon VIV Thai restaurant. We almost did not go in but through the window the atmosphere seemed very chill so we decided to go. We went around dinner time and did not have a reservation but we only had to wait 20 minutes for a seat. Meanwhile we sat by the bar were we had some Mojito's. I took the Pomegranate Mojito and my friend took the Coral Mojito. Highly recommend the Pomegranate! After we got seated we ordered the Emerald Dumplings as an appetizer and I ordered the Pad Prik King as the main course. The atmosphere was nice, cozy but loud due to some patrons celebrating a birthday. Although the price is a bit on the high side I do believe you get your money's worth!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colinasita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Food lived up to its origin”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The food was great service was slow. I guess we came at the staff's lunch time because when we needed service our server had to get up from the group who was having a meal. Other than that bump in the road the snapper was on the money and the panang tofu curry in cocoanut milk was to die for.

Helpful?
Thank Vaughn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thai Restaurant!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I visit NYC a few times a year and this restaurant was recommended to me by a friend who lives in Manhattan. I've found it's usually frequented by locals who also rave about it.
The food here is incredible as are the prices for a NYC restaurant. I've eaten here on a few of my visits, bringing new friends each time and everyone else has loved it too. They even have happy hour prices on drinks!
It's a short walk from Broadway so very handy when going to a show. It's not a big place so if you're going later in the evening make sure you make reservations.
I love the shrimp drunken noodles and even the salad is presented in a beautiful manner.
You won't be disappointed if you eat here!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miflathead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This place is great. We ordered the Pad Thai for dinner and appetizers; everything was excellent. Although we ordered pretty basic food some of the plates we saw delivered to other tables were art on a plate;amazing! We were lucky to get in on a Friday night without reservations; great spot and highly recommend

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed VIV Thai also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to VIV Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing