We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great reasonable place in New York City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Ranked #324 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This was a very nice reasonable place for New York. From the time of our arrival until departure everything was nice. We had an early arrival and they stored our bags while we did the tourist thing. The room was small but adequate to sleep and shower which is all that is needed when you want to see all you can.

The one thing I would suggest was to have a small microwave in the breakfast area since they did offer sweet rolls. The breakfast spread was well rounded and hit he spot.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomenglishDudley_ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

This still-fresh hotel in Hell's Kitchen seems well run. But like many NYC budget hotels, the rooms are tiny. They don't have closet or bureau, just a shallow wall unit with shelves and a few hangers. It's okay for two people, pretty tight for three. Likewise, the bathroom has a large modern shower, no tub, and a sink with very little countertop space. (It's roomier, though, than the almost capsulish new Indigo in Brooklyn.) The included breakfast is pretty standard hotel stuff, not bad as it goes, though the lobby runs out of tables. It's convenient to the theater district. The nearest garage (validates at $30/night) is about a block and a half away, next to the Skyline. And there's only one elevator... I guess they couldn't even spare that much space for a second.

Room Tip: Lower floors (walkable) might help avoid waits for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Let me start by saying that this hotel is very lucky to have Joann as part of the staff, I was absolutely blown away by her hospitality. She helped us with places to eat, sightseeing, guide us with everything, booked us a shuttle, printed out our boarding passes and not once she misses a good morning, how was dinner or breakfast. What I loved the most is how genuine she was about helping us every time, the rooms were a bit small but the whole staff made our stay worth it, the rooms were very clean, breakfast was always great. Thank you

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doran d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a decent deal for the money. The front desk people were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was typical hotel fast breakfast; but one morning we came in late to eat. We had been on a running tour and were starving. The lady that was cleaning the area and putting everything away made sure we had plenty of food before finishing her duties. She was extremely sweet and helped serve us with a smile on her face.

Be ready for EXTREMELY small rooms. There were four girls in the room and it was a TIGHT fit. We couldn't have our room cleaned because there was only a small walkway that was not covered with suitcases, coats, etc. It wouldn't have been too bad if there had only been two people.

The hotel is off the beaten path but within walking distance or an inexpensive cab ride to most sites. The neighborhood seemed safe and we didn't worry about walking in a group at night.

All in all ...not too bad for the cost.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoLovesToTravel_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I just want to say a BIG THANK YOU to the staff... There was not a day during our 5 day stay (DEC 12 - DEC 16 th) that we where not met with a good morning, how are you? How is your stay? Do you need anything? ect... The lady working your breakfast well can not say enough about her and all the hard work to keep up with the breakfast bar and all the people in the dinning area every morning, and never once did she miss a beat with KEEPING EVERYTHING FULL... AND HOW she kept a smile on her face and able to remain so friendly during the busy time, she should give lessons....

AGAIN A BIG SHOUT OUT AND THANK YOU TO EVERYONE FROM THE 4:30 AM CHECK IN FRONT DESK STAFF, HOUSEKEEPING THE ROOMS ARE SO CLEAN, BREAKFAST AND ALL THE OTHERS WE NEVER SEE WHO PLAY A BIG ROLE IN THE GUEST STAY.... THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU....

CANNOT WAIT TO COME BACK IN THE SPRING....

Room Tip: Note there are some nice local restaurants all around. And being there for my birthday was great to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PLAYTIME1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This is 9-storey hotel on the far west side of Manhattan, yet close to subways, buses and restaurants. The rooms are compact so don't carry too much baggage; but they're clean. If you're going to need a closet or chest of drawers, maybe because you have lots of clothes or your stay is going to be more than a day or two, you might want to find another lodging. I did not have a fridge nor microwave in my room. The vending was in the basement. The single elevator was often slow in coming. Don't bring a car unless you're O.K with expensive garage parking. But I did have a view of the Hudson and the Wi-Fi worked well. And the morning breakfast was a good starter. You can actually walk to the cruise ship terminal from here and the closest subway is 3 avenues east. Eighth, ninth, and tenth avenues are filled with restaurants but eleventh avenue, closest to the hotel, has few in the vicinity. Again, the rooms are on the small side. Maybe this would be O.K. for single travelers or those on tight budgets. But if you're used to even modest sized rooms, maybe check the adjoining Holiday Inn first.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Zoom_Gotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We chose this hotel because of its location and price. The hotel being brand new was a big plus. The rooms are small, typical for New York, but very clean. Not really enough space for eating in your, so plan accordingly. Sal's Pizza is a block away, a little north on 10th Ave, very small but really good. Sombrero on 48th near 8th is also good if you're looking for Mexican.

The hotel staff was very friendly, and there was fresh coffee at the front desk every time I walked by. Also an occasion cookie. The lobby is fairly small so the free breakfast is a bit crazy. I find this to be typical of Choice properties, but this is a little more crowded than most.

We had to wait on the elevator a couple of times, but the hotel has a very small footprint, about 10 rooms per floor, so there really isn't room for two. It is fairly noisy, as stated in other reviews, but not unbearable. Ice and vending on the bottom floor marked "C" (cellar?)

We were here to shop in Times Square and visit Rockefeller Plaza, which is only a mile away. This hotel was perfect for doing both. The neighborhood is mostly apartments, with small businesses to the west. We felt safe walking the streets, even at night. Hell's Kitchen Park is a block east of the hotel, and very similar to the one in the movie, Daredevil. Nice place for the kids to blow off a little steam.

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to New York, and this hotel was a big part of it. We'll be back on our next trip to NYC.

Room Tip: Upper floor away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck_Haaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Comfort Inn Times Square West
#265 of 470 in New York City
1,024 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Midtown West
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Mi...
#224 of 470 in New York City
1,104 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#318 of 470 in New York City
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#266 of 470 in New York City
2,579 reviews
Manhattan
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#357 of 470 in New York City
179 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#264 of 470 in New York City
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Midtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Midtown West

Address: 548 W 48th St, New York City, NY 10036-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £86 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Midtown West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Midtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing