We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel, price and amenities!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Ranked #331 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, price and amenities!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

This hotel is a few blocks from Times Square - if you don't want to walk for 15 min to the nearest subway station - there is a #50 bus that runs there (on schedule). The hotel is very clean and pretty. The staff is courteous and helpful. This hotel has free breakfast for its guests - lots of choices.
The room was on a smaller side but very cozy and clean. I actually like rooms like that - remind me of European Boutique hotels. The bed was by far the best I ever slept in in hotels - very fluffy pillows. At night the room was quiet.
There is no safe in the room, but the reception desk has one and they can keep your valuables there for free.
If I was to stay in NY again I would pick the same hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nedobryi_kot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jsoto5128, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
It's so AMAZING to hear that you had a great stay with us. We pride ourselves on the great service we offer to our guests and I'm so happy to see you enjoyed the amenities. The bed is one of our best features and I'm happy you got a good night's rest at the hotel. Thank you so much for the positive feedback. I can't wait to welcome you back as our guests in the future. Have an amazing day!

Juan A. Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    199
    118
    31
    18
See reviews for
134
200
32
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

The staff at this hotel is amazing!! Everyone went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. Juan at the front desk deserves a 12++ rating out of 10 for being helpful and courteous. Thank you! The breakfast was great too. Thanks again for everything.
Joanne.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne96124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Excellent friendly reecption staff and the rooms were fresh and clean, although a little on the small side. Coffee machine in room plus free coffee available 24/7 near reception. Excellent location to so many shops and food stores plus restaurants; 9th and 10th Avenues. The only drawback to this otherwise nice hotel is the breakfast area which is in the main reception area and is so small it does not flow because it is tucked into a small corner. Breakfast is quite OK but because you can make your own waffles, you only need 1 person making waffles plus a couple of people with oversized backpacks on waiting for their toast to cook or to make their waffle(s) and no one else can get near the rest of the food. Stayed 3 nights and would definately stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnnyUK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jsoto5128, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Juan Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The location of this hotel was perfect - only a few short blocks from Times Square and the Theatre District - just close enough to walk back for a bit of a break between attractions if needed!

Our room was very clean. It was a bit tiny, as would be expected of New York, but there was still plenty of room for the two of us.

There was continental breakfast in the morning. It was always quite busy while we were there. As usual, they had the toast, muffins, yogurt, waffle maker, cereal, some eggs and stuff...

There are plenty of restaurant choices nearby (a couple blocks away!) and the visitor guide in the hotel room had plenty of suggestions available.

The front desk staff were very friendly. When we arrived and our room wasn't ready, they stored our stuff for the day while we explored. They were also great at answering any of our questions.

It was a great price - we had booked in advance for between $119-129 per night.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrivingPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jsoto5128, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Juan Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

You can tell that this is a new hotel. Very easy arriving on the Wehawken ferry, grabbing a cab for $7. The staff is great. We booked through Priceline ($130). They checked us in at 11:00am, which was unexpected and much appreciated! It's an easy walk to the Javitz convention center- about 6 blocks. Not a touristy area, and relatively quiet. If you're looking for an inexpensive hotel, clean, new, helpful staff... Book here.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeMelloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jsoto5128, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! I'm happy to see that the hotel was convenient for your travels and that the staff took such good care of you. We hope you consider our hotel for your future stays in NYC! Thank you again and have a great day!

Juan Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Island, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I was so very impressed with the breakfast attendent CHRISTINE ST.ONGE she helped my wife who has to use a walker to get her waffle's and other food passed the lines of people..more people like her are needed in this hussling world.. many thanks to her.GREAT EMPLOYEE!!! also the hotel was outstanding very clean and helpful about what was near for dinner "POM POM DINNER" just around the corner was

Room Tip: try to get a upper floor and overlook the great hudson river and intripped museam
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemarie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jsoto5128, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
I'm so happy to hear you had a great stay! And to see that Christine took such good care of you! She is a shining star on our team and we are proud to have her. I will make sure the comments are shared with her and the rest of the team. Thank you again for your positive review and we hope to see you as a guest in the future!

Juan A. Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at the Midtown comfort inn for 4 nights from July 22nd. The room was small but very clean and was well equipped with TV, hot shower, wifi etc.

We had a room that faces the front BE WARNED. They are currently having building works going on directly opposite so we got a wake up call of a jack hammer at 07:30.

The lobby is a tad on the small side but the breakfast was fine but seating was limited so most people took there's back to there room.

When we checked in they needed a card to swipe which we thought was just for our card details if we didn't pay, they actually put a reserve on the card which resulted in a cost us as it was a UK card. When we realised by checking the on-line banking and asked, the receptionist stated they always do that and its in there spiel not to tell the customer, although there is a sign. We waited 30 minutes to try speak to the manager Mr Soto but the receiptionist kept saying he wasn't available, we never did see him.

It is a 20-25 minute walk to the red 1 line subway which is a bit further then you want after a long day and makes going back into the main areas for dinner annoying. They did sort out us a transfer to JFK that was about $22.

In summary. Its a clean nice hotel, but watch which card you use when you check in and there is some building works at the minute.

Room Tip: We were in 507, ask for a room at the back for a quieter morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heather048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jsoto5128, General Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Juan A. Soto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Comfort Inn Times Square West
#249 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Holiday Inn Express New York - M...
#203 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#264 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#257 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#364 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#321 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Midtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Midtown West

Property: Comfort Inn Midtown West
Address: 548 W 48th St, New York City, NY 10036-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Midtown West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Midtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing