We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Ranked #279 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Thank You”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My wife and I stayed in HJ Soho for several nights recently, in town to explore NY from Australia. We found this place terrific, especially at the price. Staff were friendly, breakfast was a bonus and we loved the location, with all of the colour and action of Chinatown and excellent bars and cafes in Soho only minutes away. We would recommend this hotel for newcomers to NY.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCBarett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, front Desk at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Good day CCBartett,

Thank you so much for recommending our hotel to future guests! We are glad that you loved the location because we actually think that's one of our strongest points besides the excellent service that we are know for. The Lower East Side and Chinatown are two very different neighborhoods each one with its very own charm and we are lucky enough to border both of them.
If you ever come back to NYC please contact us and we will be very happy to see you again at HOJO SOHO.

Kind Regards,
Lina Siegert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    292
    73
    14
    10
See reviews for
183
243
49
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. It was a pleasant stay. The hotel staff was really helpfull in finding our way through to the big apple.

The rooms are not so big but big enough with a bathroom seperate. Bed is great!

I recomment this hotel for sure, it is about 3 minutes walk from the subway'east broadway'. From this station it is about 12 minutes to times square! Superb week.

We definately come back to this hotel if we can't get such a hotel with this price/quality closer to Manhattan.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DasjeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience. We are delighted that you and your girlfriend had a great stay. I agree that our beds are one of the great features of our rooms. Our guests consistently rave about their comfort, and I am glad that you enjoyed it as well.

We hope to serve your needs again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Brian Chao
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The hotel is not really on Soho but on Chinatown - which is great! It was a wonderful opportunity to explore different ways of life and the Chinese cuisine.
The rooms are clean and not so small as usual in NY. The staff is very helpful and nice - they gave me all the support I asked for. And the breakfast is very decent.
The subway is not far, so it is a good location to explore the city; you can even walt to Wall St. area!
In conclusion, I 'm pleased to have found out "my" hotel in NY!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis_Lisb0a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Hello Luis!

Thanks for your review! I am pleased that you were happy with our accommodations and the service our staff extended to you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and providing you another delightful experience!

Warm regards,
Brian Chao
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the HJ Soho for one week and we don't have one complaint about the hotel. It directed into Chinatown. It is more of New York here on the lower east side then downtown at Times Square. We could walk easily to Brooklyn Bridge, Soho, Little Italy and Financial district. The staff was superfriendly, the breakfast was varied and the rooms were very clean. We did not had any trouble with noise from the streets. The subway is just one block further wich takes you easily to Brooklyn or downtown Manhattan. I'd recommend this place to anyone for their trip. We'd be glad to come back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jensdm1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Front Desk at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Good Morning Jensdm1986,

Thank you very much for writing this kind review. We are very glad our location worked for the convenience of your stay and that you had a great time at HOJO Soho. We will be more than glad to have you again as our guest in the future and please contact us in case you have family or friends coming so we can take really good care of them!

Kind Regards,

Lina Siegert
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one week as a honeymoon trip and it was just really nice!
The hotel was extreamly well cleaned and the cleanin lady was lovely.
Staff was all in all very friendly and there was a free coffee n fresh fruits 24/7. The staff helped us in every question very well.
Abit far from the center but subway stop very near (east broadway) takes like 10 minutes to downtown,so was not a big deal.
Amazing views from the rooftop of the hotel,theres also some chairs at the rooftop.
We would come again for sure.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Front Desk at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Good morning Sebastian,

Thank you very much for your kind review! It was a joy to have you at HOJO Soho for your honeymoon and we are very glad to hear that your trip was comfortable and happy. We tried our best to accommodate you considering it was such an important date and we will be glad to have you in the future as our guest again!
Many thanks from all the Staff at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho for choosing us!

Lina Siegert
Assistant guest service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in hotel for a 4 night vacation. Usually stay in midtown, but we wanted to explore the lower East side. Hotel is new, very clean and has a super nice staff. However the hotel is several blocks from the orange line subway (the only line that is close) and this line had outages during our entire stay so we had to rely too heavily on taxis and car services. This cost us about $150 more in expenses than we had planned. Also the heat/air cannot be controlled by the individual rooms. The room temp is controlled by a master switch set by the staff. The first night we all we were dripping in sweat the entire night. Then we kept our window cracked the remainder of our stay. Also the area is very noisy and congested. Did not get a good night sleep the entire time we were there due to heat and noise.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Front Desk at Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Good morning Jill ,

Thank you so much for leaving this review and let us know how your stay was at HOJO Soho. I want to apologize for the inconvenience that you had during your stay with the AC, we tried our best to help you and make your stay as comfortable as possible. As you said it, the subway line is 2 blocks away from our hotel and unfortunately the F line had some issues during your stay, but there is little we can do about that ! the MTA is making some arrangements on the train tracks so the F train was affected during the day you stayed at the hotel. If you ever decide to visit us again I will personally make sure that you get the best accommodation possible and we will try our best to give you close by recommendations of restaurants and areas of interest.

Kind Regards,

Lina Siegert
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#355 of 468 in New York City
28 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#172 of 468 in New York City
570 reviews
Manhattan
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#348 of 468 in New York City
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#277 of 468 in New York City
1,210 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#231 of 468 in New York City
339 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#187 of 468 in New York City
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho

Property: Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Address: 5 Allen St, New York City, NY 10002-5301
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing