We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Ranked #108 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Lovely boutique hotel, beautiful art deco design. The gorgeous aesthetic of the lobby and restaurant carries in to the rooms with period styled furniture and wall treatments. The rooms are small, in true Manhattan fashion, but very comfortable. A friend and I stayed for 4 nights in a double room with two double beds and had a great stay. The beds are super comfy with high quality linens and pillows, and the staff turns them down for you every evening and leaves truffle chocolates on your pillow. We had no problem with the length of the beds, but as we are both average height females, I could see that your feet might dangle off the end if you're tall. The bathroom has nice fixtures and they provide C.O. Bigelow bath products, robes and slippers. There are 4 small glass shelves near the mirror and a larger shelf under the sink with extra towels etc. We had enough room to store 2 toiletry kits, and lay out some of our cosmetics. The curtains work well to block out light at night, and we found the room to be quiet and restful (we were on the 10th floor). I would suggest requesting a room on a higher level that is away from the elevator, to reduce the amount of noise from hallway traffic late at night.

As other reviewers have mentioned, there is not a lot of closet space; it's about 2ft deep with a single hanger bar, 3 small drawers at the bottom and an area for shoes. Upper shelf has a bit of space but also contains the in-room safe. This is more than adequate if you are only staying for a few days but I will admit it gets a bit squishy when you've got two people's clothes for 5 days. In order to make the most of the closet, we both packed extra wire hangers and hung up as many of our clothes as we could. The rest we managed to fit in the drawers or on the shelf. Once we were unpacked, we put our suitcases one-inside-the-other and stored them in the space above the closet. This really helped with keeping the room free of clutter and maximizing the space. There is a bench seat and desk in the room which provide enough surface storage for putting down purses and daily shopping.

The hotel is 2 blocks from a subway station on M, F, L and Path lines, so it makes getting around pretty easy if you want to avoid cabs. It's also in easy walking distance to the Meatpacking district and Highline. There are some nice restaurants in the area and I would highly suggest Murray's Bagels, right around the corner, for breakfast.

Finally, I'd like to mention that the staff at The Jade is really friendly and helpful. Everyone we met there, from the desk staff to the bellmen, to the waiters in the restaurant and the housekeepers, were courteous, smiling and more than willing to help us with anything we needed.

So overall, we had a great experience and would definitely stay at The Jade again. It is expensive, as most good hotels in New York are, but I felt that they delivered good quality for your money.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors, away from the elevator, are quieter. Pack extra wire hangers for the closet...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Melissa Z,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you had a great stay and that you enjoyed the design and comfort of the hotel and your room. We apologize that we were unable to provide you with a larger room, but we are glad to hear that you still enjoyed the room and the amenities. Your kind words about our staff are much appreciated as we strive to exceed guest expectations and provide an exceptional level of service. We hope we can provide you with another great experience soon.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (992)
There are newer reviews for Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

734 - 740 of 992 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed at the Jade for nearly 3 weeks and had an excellent experience. Loved the overall stay and felt very at home but the stint was not without a few minor issues.

It was a work trip but I also had some friends staying for leisure too at the same time. Firstly, it's a really cosy living room feel to the entrance - dark, sexy and homely, the restaurant is great and has the same vibe. Food is excellent. It's like a mini-Bowery Hotel with a slightly more vibrant personality. Rooms also had the same darkness to them and not particularly condusive to any working in the evening. They are fairly small too - this extends to the size of the closets (literally can hang about 7 garments) and the beds are quite short. My male friend staying in a double room had his feet dangling off the end of the bed (he is 6 foot).

Bathrooms are bright and well-equipped and maintained. Rooms are fully equipped besides having a minibar. This was a little frustrating if you wanted a late night soda and didn't want to leave the hotel or call room service.

Another irritation for me personally was faulty air-con system that clattered on and off when on auto mode. Not great for a good night's sleep but the helpful front desk were quick and willing to move me to another room.

Location is fantastic and close to all the great restaurants and bars of Greenwich Village. Also close to the subway, which was convenient.

However, the thing that really makes this place are the staff - shout outs to Matt, Keron, Andy, Julia and the lovely hostess at Grape and Vine. This was definitely one of the main reasons that will have me returning here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimSP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear SimSP1,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that you found The Jade to be so cozy and that you enjoyed your stay here. We are happy to hear that you were so impressed with our staff and service and we will be sure to pass along your compliments! We apologize for the initial experience you had with the air conditioning, but are glad we were able to move you and resolve the issue. We hope that we can welcome you back to The Jade soon!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I don't travel to NYC often, but I recently went for one night my sister who was visiting from Israel. Searching the Internet we happened upon this boutique hotel and chose it based on the reviews we read. It is a small jewel, tastefully done down to every detail. I would recommend it to anyone.
I loved its location in Greenwich Village; walking distance to numerous in restaurants, cafes and shops. I loved the attention to detail in the rooms (rooms are not large, but the overall design and feel make up for it and help add to its charm), the tasteful common areas with fresh flowers and the bedroom linens and comfy beds. Also, the service was impeccable, every person that worked there was helpful and eager to help in every way. It all helped to make our one night a perfectly wonderful experience. I am so happy we stayed there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Rosie802,

Thank you for your review and your kind words! We are so glad to hear that you had a great stay at The Jade and that you appreciated the décor and our attention to detail. We are also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our location and experienced exceptional service from our staff. We hope we can provide you with another great experience soon!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We found the Jade Hotel to be a fabulous oasis in the West Village. From there we were able to wander over the High Line, then Chelsea Market, then wander the village all night. The lobby is very inviting and the front desk staff were very warm and helpful. The art deco decor of the rooms was very fun and the rooms were fully equipped with everything you need. We found this via a Hotel Tonight offer, but will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank consam3323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed a night at The Jade Hotel and we were very pleased. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the staff was wonderful!! Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and will definitely stay here again when we return to the city.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MissVictoria81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I loved this boutique hotel in New York, but the price was way too much.
Lovely reception staff, they were willing to stow our luggage for a day as our flight back home was late at night.
Small room, bathroom was clean and well equipped.
COmfortable beds, quiet rooms
Coffee available in lobby in mornings, free of charge
Free wifi which was awesome

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindiR_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Lindi R,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that you found our staff accommodating and that you enjoyed your room as well as our amenities including free wifi and complimentary coffee in the morning. We do apologize that you found the price to be too high and we are sorry we were unable to provide you with a more attractive rate during your stay. We hope that should you return to New York you might consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Gave 5 stars on everything except for the room bc our room was across from the elevator and it was a little noisy when in use. I loved our room, though. We are staying at The Jade again this weekend to celebrate my 50th birthday and my daughters 16th!! Will post an update since I asked for a room away from elevator this time.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familystyletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#119 of 468 in New York City
605 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#141 of 468 in New York City
1,446 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#112 of 468 in New York City
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W New York - Union Square
#148 of 468 in New York City
1,499 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#183 of 468 in New York City
698 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#89 of 468 in New York City
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walker Hotel Greenwich Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walker Hotel Greenwich Village

Address: 52 W 13th St, New York City, NY 10011-7902 (Formerly The Jade Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £249 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Walker Hotel Greenwich Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village is an independent, family-owned luxury boutique hotel located in the downtown NYC neighborhood of Greenwich Village. Offering 113 guest rooms and an elevated market-to-table American restaurant, Walker Hotel truly offers visitors an authentic New York hotel experience. Centrally located, guests can easily access all major business districts and New York City attractions such as Washington Square Park, Union Square, Chelsea, SoHo and the famed Meatpacking District. Access to all major transportation and transit lines are just a few short blocks from the hotel. Designed in gorgeous art-deco décor, all guests will enjoy luxurious Frette linens, local bath amenities by C.O. Bigelow - America's oldest apothecary, complimentary WiFi, free bottled spring water (replenished daily) and complimentary local and toll free calling. Other complimentary amenities include daily New York Times, evening turndown service and personalized Concierge services. Walker Hotel Greenwich Village offers 24-hour room service and a new market-to-table American restaurant called Society Cafe by Executive Chef, Christopher Zabita. Shopping at the local Union Square Green Market 4-days per week, Chef Zabita's passion for supporting local farmers and purveyors is enjoyed by guests and locals through his seasonally driven American menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Walker Hotel Greenwich Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing