We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Ranked #119 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Jade is beautifully tucked away in Greenwich Village. The staff are absolutely amazing people. Bourke Lee is one amazing AGM and person all around! Briant at the entrance of the building makes you feel warm and welcome upon arrival and couldn't be more helpful! I had an amazing 1 night stay, even ate at their restaurant, The Grape & Vine. Delicious! We had the oyster and salmon tartar, the burrata, mac & cheese and short ribs, with a great bottle of red. The whole experience was fantastic and intend to return yearly!

Thanks for an amazing evening!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Jennifer G,

Thank you for your review. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us and that you felt so taken care of by our staff. Both Bourke and Briant are invaluable members of our team and we will be sure to pass along your compliments to them! We are also glad to hear that you were able to enjoy a variety of dishes at Grape & Vine and that you had a great dining experience. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in New York!

Sincerely,

Elizabeth M. Andrews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    269
    97
    28
    16
See reviews for
209
323
56
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Very good hotel with attentive service and as I see it perfect location in New York. The restaurant also was very nice and the ambience in the hotel was great. The rooms are rather small but the location is however the best part of this nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TormoAlfta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was our second trip to NYC and having previously stayed in Midtown, we decided to stay in the Greenwich area. Having trawled through Trip Advisor reviews, we decided on The Jade and what a great decision that was! It is a small, quiet, beautiful, new (only a year old) hotel that suited us perfectly. The staff are incredibly helpful and polite, the hotel décor is stunning and trendy (but not uncomfortably so) and it smelt amazing due to the fresh flowers and scented candles. We had a Bedford double on the 17th floor which had incredible views looking south towards Lower Manhattan - definitely worth asking for a room on the higher floors to get the views! The room was on the small side, like many in Manhattan, and a bit of a squash with two adults, two children plus bags and a pushchair! But to be honest we didn't spend much time in there and it was spotlessly clean and the beds were super comfy. Breakfast was good, the juices are incredible and we loved the granola with fruit. They even prepared a bowl for us to take away when we left at 5am!

The hotel is in a fantastic location - 5 mins walk to the hub of Greenwich/Bleeker Street, 10 mins walk to Chelsea Market, Meatpacking District and the High Line and just off 5th Avenue with a good range of shops ranging from Gap, Zara, American Apparel and Aldo to Seven, Michael Kors and Kate Spade. If you don't mind walking you can walk up 5th Avenue (past the Flatiron and the Empire State Building) to Bryant Park, Grand Central etc in about 40 mins and just a little further to Madison Ave, Park Ave and Times Square.

If, like us, you are travelling with small children there are lots of eating places really close by including fast food like Chipotle, burger & pizza places but also juice bars, bagels and healthy snack bars. The room service menu was limited but the food we had was very tasty and arrived about 15 mins after ordering.

We would highly recommend The Jade for anyone who wants to stay away from the chain hotels and likes somewhere with a bit of character and comfort. We thought it was excellent value for money and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a high floor for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Emma W,

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We are thrilled to hear that you found The Jade to be a great choice in Greenwich Village and that you had a fantastic stay. We are glad that you enjoyed the character of our property and that you found our location so convenient in exploring the many great restaurants and shops nearby. We appreciate all your kind words and hope to welcome you back the next time you are in New York!

Sincerely,

Elizabeth M. Andrews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oil City, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My son was playing a benefit concert for The Youth Arts Forum in Greenwich Village so we decided to stay at The Jade because of the close proximity to the venue. We are very pleased with our decision. The entire staff from the front desk, cleaning crew, dining room, and front door men, were very pleasant and helpful. The front door men were very courteous and friendly, and were not intimidated with all of the equipment we had to transport. It is a beautiful hotel. The huge floral arrangements, with real flowers I might add, was a welcoming sight as well as aroma as you walked into the hotel. It is also a short walking distance to restaurants and unique shops. We travel to New York a few times a year and will definitely stay at the Jade again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Julie S,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you found The Jade to be a great choice for you and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff strives to go above and beyond for our guests and we are so glad that you found the front desk team and the bell men friendly and helpful. We are also happy to hear that you appreciated the small touches we provide, as we try to create a welcoming an intimate atmosphere for our guests. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in New York!

Sincerely,

Elizabeth M. Andrews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

As a frequent traveler I really enjoyed The Jade Hotel. Friendly faces from the moment I arrived, from the doorman, front desk staff, housekeeping and room service. Lovely room, comfy bed and terrific neighborhood. The bartender was happy to serve cocktails and the drinks were delicious! One drawback...one of the two elevators needed repaired the morning of my check-out, but the hotel staff were extremely helpful despite the challenges.

I would definitely stay with The Jade Hotel again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Holliecollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

- Large hotel very few front desk stuff. Constantly a small lineup
- Staff seem irritated by almost all requests. Asked to borrow an iPhone 5 charger front desk look annoyed and confused. Her suggestion was to "google an Apple Store"
- Room service painfully slow (i.e. One order of white wine never showed up even after calling the front desk and restaurant repeatedly)
- Rooms small, dark, and not very stylish considering the marketing
- Even the mere act of smoking outside the hotel seemed to elicit a passive aggressive response from the front desk, at this "non smoking property" - don't ask for a match, they don't like that
- Bad shiny fabric on window seat and somewhat uncomfortable fake-feeling leather chairs
- Slow elevator - 5 min wait times
Tiny, crowded gym
- cleaning staff and other misc staff feel to dominate all the hallways. Very crowded. Unappealing staff hallways/thoroughfares with bad harsh lighting open on to floor all day
- For the money, you can do much much better in NYC. From a service level perspective a huge disappointment - very sub par service by North American hospitality standards
- Other similar hotels i.e. Nomad and Bowery = better value, better decor, better value

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Angus M,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I only wish you would have shared your disappointment while you were in the hotel, so that we could have done something about it. From your comments I take it that you were in a Barrow Queen. Had we known you felt the room was too dark, we could have relocated you to a brighter room. We also feature larger room types, and would have been happy to show you some of our other room options.

Many guests find our staff, especially the Front Desk, to be very friendly and helpful. We are sincerely sorry that you found them irritated and annoyed. We strive to exceed our guest expectations and create a comfortable atmosphere and we regret to hear that you found the staff and the accommodations lacking.

We have reviewed these comments with our team members as we strive to continuously improve and if you would like to discuss any of these issues directly, please feel free to contact me at emao@geminihospitality.com. With renewed apologies, we thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just stayed here. Love the neighborhood, room decor, and staff. Pretty clean. Drawbacks include the size of the room (small) and noise from the hallway (doors slamming, staff talking, etc.). Still I would recommend it. The area is great--with Union Square nearby, easy access to subway, and GREAT bagels down the block (Murray's). I would probably give this place 3.5, if Trip Adv allowed for it, but since it doesn't, I'll go with 4. It was better than average.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floridaresident75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear floridaresident75,

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. While we are an intimate property, we sincerely apologize that surrounding noise detracted from your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the neighborhood and our convenient location and we hope that should you return to New York, you might give us another try.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#114 of 467 in New York City
590 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#149 of 467 in New York City
1,417 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#120 of 467 in New York City
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#164 of 467 in New York City
683 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#78 of 467 in New York City
875 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#140 of 467 in New York City
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walker Hotel Greenwich Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walker Hotel Greenwich Village

Property: Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Address: 52 W 13th St, New York City, NY 10011-7902 (Formerly The Jade Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Walker Hotel Greenwich Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village is an independent, family-owned luxury boutique hotel located in the downtown NYC neighborhood of Greenwich Village. Offering 113 guest rooms and an elevated market-to-table American restaurant, Walker Hotel truly offers visitors an authentic New York hotel experience. Centrally located, guests can easily access all major business districts and New York City attractions such as Washington Square Park, Union Square, Chelsea, SoHo and the famed Meatpacking District. Access to all major transportation and transit lines are just a few short blocks from the hotel. Designed in gorgeous art-deco décor, all guests will enjoy luxurious Frette linens, local bath amenities by C.O. Bigelow - America's oldest apothecary, complimentary WiFi, free bottled spring water (replenished daily) and complimentary local and toll free calling. Other complimentary amenities include daily New York Times, evening turndown service and personalized Concierge services. Walker Hotel Greenwich Village offers 24-hour room service and a new market-to-table American restaurant called Society Cafe by Executive Chef, Christopher Zabita. Shopping at the local Union Square Green Market 4-days per week, Chef Zabita's passion for supporting local farmers and purveyors is enjoyed by guests and locals through his seasonally driven American menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Walker Hotel Greenwich Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing