We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Ranked #115 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Humacao, null, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at The Jade what a nice surprise. The staff is young, friendly and happy to help. The restaurant and bar were great, good ambiance and the food was an added surprise. Try higher floors, our room was small but very functional, my husband and I we were not cramped. The location, we had never stayed in the Village was fun and practical. Union square, the subway right around the corner. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin K, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Teresita G,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found The Jade to be a nice surprise. We strive to provide a relaxing ambiance with exceptional service and are glad that you found this to be the case. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    270
    97
    28
    16
See reviews for
209
324
56
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

...but then again we are talking New York. Really like decor and style nice boutique - but the room ( for 4 of us) and beds seemed very small. If you can cope with that - then this is a lovely hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was central for all main attractions

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deso2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin K, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Deso2704,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and apologize that you found your accommodation to be too small. While we are an intimate property, we strive to provide our guests with comfortable accommodations and exceptional service. Our staff strives to go above and beyond and we are pleased that you found our team to be friendly and helpful. We hope that should you return to New York, you might give us another try.

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I travel to New York for business and this is my most favorite hotel that I have stayed in to date. The staff is wonderful, very attentive and helpful. The design of the hotel is just a feast for the eyes, just lovely! The rooms are a great size for New York, you don't feel crammed into a tiny space, you have breathing room and space to spread out. The bed was so comfortable and the room was so quiet. I slept great here, which is so important for me to be fresh to work the next morning. The restaurant, Grape and Vine, was wonderful as well. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel. I will stay here again, love it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin K, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Shanna B,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that we could provide you with “peaceful luxury” and a great experience. We try to provide the utmost service and comfort to our guests and we are pleased to read that you were met with warm service and tranquil accommodations. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in New York!

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I am a New Yorker living in Europe, visiting NYC regularly! I recently "found" The Jade Hotel.
Perfect location with very friendly and genuinely helpful staff. And trustworthy! Left my wallet in my room upon checking out and it was found and returned with all my cash and cards safely in it!
It really is the best of what New York has to offer.
Gabriel Z

Room Tip: High floor and south facing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin K, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Gabriel Z,

Thank you for your review. We are so honored to be called “the best of New York” and we are pleased to read about your positive experience. We pride ourselves in a sincere and accommodating staff and we are glad that you found that in our team. We appreciate your kind comments and hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

beautiful lobby. and beautiful rooms, but still on the small side (coming from europe, this is normal!).
we were there early morning (overnight travel, no sleep yet) and were only expecting to leave our luggage. reception said they'd ring if the room was ready - never got a call, and I don't think they have an idea if our room was ready until I asked.
If your luggage is not waiting in your room, ask that you bring it up yourselves - we waited for an hour for our luggage before we can finally sleep. So yes, it wasn't a good start.
for 2 people, there wasn't enough space to hang your clothes or to dry your towels. whole bathroom floor would get wet as you shower.
Bar downstairs can get busy, but drinks and atmosphere is great. Service there is brilliant!
It's in a wonderful location. we walked to the high line and chelsea market. the subway is just around the corner. and the jazz bars 3-4 blocks away.
I would stay here again, now that i know that i should avoid checking in early.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaG_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin K, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear AnaG_2007,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and regret that you encountered issues during your early check in. Although our standard check-in time is 3pm, we always do our best to accommodate early check ins and apologize that your particular experience fell short of what was promised. We will review your comments with our team so that we can continue to improve our guest experience. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the décor of the hotel and the accessibility of our location. With renewed apologies, we hope to welcome you back the next time you are in New York.

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a gorgeous little boutique hotel in one of the nicest parts of Manhattan. It's close to subway stops, and the area is safe. it is within walking distance to many nice restaurants in Greenwich Village. Rooms are very clean, and the hotel staff is more than willing to see that clients are happy. I noticed that the noise level is very low, and the sounds of a big-city traffic didn't keep me awake at night. Two points to consider: First, the rooms are almost too small to accommodate 2 people with luggage. My friend and I were constantly in each other's way. Second, the hotel offers wi-if, but no computers on the premises. Therefore, if you don't pack a laptop, or if you need to print something, you might be out of luck. Other than that, the price is comparable with other hotels in the area, and it's a nice hotel.

Room Tip: The lobby was gorgeous, and the staff will make you feel like family. There was no continental break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin K, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Katherine D,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location convenient in exploring Greenwich Village. While we are an intimate property, we try to provide a warm and welcoming atmosphere and we are pleased to read that you felt so taken care of by the staff. We do regret that we do not have a business center available; however our front desk team is always happy to print directions or documents for our guests. We appreciate your comments and hope we can welcome you back the next time you are in New York!

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The service was very good and the food was very good. However, the rooms are small (typical New York), and on the darker side. We travel quite a bit, and while the room was well appointed, it felt a bit claustrophobic. It is a great place to stay, if you don't plan to be in the room much. The bed also wasn't as comfortable as a Heavenly bed or other high-end beds. The hotel is near the Village and very convenient to NYU.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin K, General Manager at Walker Hotel Greenwich Village, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Kristyn F,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that our service was attentive and sincerely apologize that your accommodations were not to your liking. We appreciate your feedback in regards to your room and will certainly keep them in mind for any future improvements or projects. I would be happy to discuss these issues in detail and perhaps recommend some of our other room types, should we have the opportunity to welcome you back. Please feel free to email me at jkellerman@thejadenyc.com at your convenience.

Sincerely,
Justin Kellerman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#113 of 466 in New York City
590 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#143 of 466 in New York City
1,421 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#116 of 466 in New York City
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#165 of 466 in New York City
684 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#78 of 466 in New York City
883 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#138 of 466 in New York City
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walker Hotel Greenwich Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walker Hotel Greenwich Village

Property: Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Address: 52 W 13th St, New York City, NY 10011-7902 (Formerly The Jade Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Walker Hotel Greenwich Village 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village is an independent, family-owned luxury boutique hotel located in the downtown NYC neighborhood of Greenwich Village. Offering 113 guest rooms and an elevated market-to-table American restaurant, Walker Hotel truly offers visitors an authentic New York hotel experience. Centrally located, guests can easily access all major business districts and New York City attractions such as Washington Square Park, Union Square, Chelsea, SoHo and the famed Meatpacking District. Access to all major transportation and transit lines are just a few short blocks from the hotel. Designed in gorgeous art-deco décor, all guests will enjoy luxurious Frette linens, local bath amenities by C.O. Bigelow - America's oldest apothecary, complimentary WiFi, free bottled spring water (replenished daily) and complimentary local and toll free calling. Other complimentary amenities include daily New York Times, evening turndown service and personalized Concierge services. Walker Hotel Greenwich Village offers 24-hour room service and a new market-to-table American restaurant called Society Cafe by Executive Chef, Christopher Zabita. Shopping at the local Union Square Green Market 4-days per week, Chef Zabita's passion for supporting local farmers and purveyors is enjoyed by guests and locals through his seasonally driven American menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Walker Hotel Greenwich Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing