We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved This Little Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Ranked #181 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Loved This Little Hotel”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Maybe it's the novelty of it. But this tiny roomed hotel was really appealing to us. We had the king room which is much smaller, than the double queens. Shoe-box small. Barely wider and deeper than the bed small. But, the decor and built- in furniture in the room was so clever. The bathroom was very nice. And, the compact but efficient design was impressive.

The location, although busy, was awesome. Again, my emotions may be taking over but walking across the street to spend the entire day ay Macy's, priceless! There are a few restaurants/pubs on the street. A trendy burger place on the corner and a good deli with a huge variety on the opposite corner near Empire. A big Starbucks not far. It was a close walk to Times Square to pick up a bus tour.

I agree that the attitude of the staff was outstanding. You can tell when customer service is just part of their DNA and this hotel exemplifies it.

From a practical standpoint, if you are a family with kids, and like a king, this room will not work. But why ruin it? "Sorry kids, mommy and daddy have to head back to New York...."

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14Surprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear 14Surprise,

Thank you for your review and kind words. And thank you for loving my hotel. I’m glad that you found our location to be a good value. As you mentioned, our property is within walking distance to Macy’s, great restaurants, pubs, and cafes. You are absolutely right; customer service is part of our DNA. We pride ourselves on the great guest service we provide. I will be sure to pass along to my TEAM all the nice things you mentioned.

Thanks again for choosing us! And certainly look forward to your next visit.

Have a great day!

Sincerely,

Omar Aquino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    476
    91
    24
    18
See reviews for
421
347
60
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I've been staying at Holiday Inn/IHG properties since early childhood, and I'm a Platinum-level IHG Club member. Never have I experienced the high level of customer service that I enjoyed at the HIE Herald Square 36th Street. As I approached the check-in desk for my 5-night stay, Lauren greeted me with a smile, recognized my Platinum status, and treated me like a VIP, offering me cold bottled water and a snack bag. I explained that my sister and two children would be joining me the following day, and she assured me that they would be well cared-for upon their arrival. When they did arrive, the hotel was able to arrange a connecting room, so it felt a lot like having a 2-bedroom, 2-bath suite. We were on the 16th floor, with close-up views of the Empire State Building two blocks away. Other than hearing distant sirens a time or two during our stay, the rooms were very quiet and the beds comfortable. Breakfast was more than adequate, with scrambled eggs, delicious bacon (on weekdays), sausage, pre-made omelettes, biscuits, gravy, cinnamon rolls, fresh pancakes, apples, bananas, cold cereals, instant oatmeal, bagels, English muffins, whole wheat bread, non-fat yogurt, 2% milk, and various juices. We arrived around 9:15 most mornings, and the only time it was crowded was on Saturday and Sunday. The four of us were able to get a table right away every time. But back to the customer service: By the second day, Lauren was greeting me by name each time I came into the lobby. By the third day, Tamara was doing the same thing, and each one of them seemed genuinely glad to see us when we came in from a morning of shopping or an evening at the theatre, always making a point of greeting us by name and giving us a big smile. During our stay, we had a forgotten toothbrush (replaced), a lockout or two, and various other little issues that Lauren, Tamara, and other front desk staff handled with a smile. One night, my nephew and I took a lot of time visiting the Empire State Building while my sister shopped; when we returned, Lauren let us know that my sister and niece had come in earlier and looked like they were in for the night. OK, now I was feeling like a resident of a building with a doorman! The rooms are modern, well-equipped, and quite compact; the small gym had minimal equipment, but was good for a handy workout. Overall, we had a wonderful stay, and I plan to return on my next visit to New York City.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDBeachGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear SDBeachGuy;

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square for your lodging needs! Thank your review and wonderful details concerning you recent stay with us! Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Platinum member; we appreciate your business and loyalty. I’m glad you felt like at home!! I appreciate your kind feedback about Lauren and Tamara. I’m certainly proud of both them and will pass along your comments.

On behalf of the entire TEAM at the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Omar Aquino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Hotel was extremely clean. Hotel has only been open for 5 months so everything was in great condition. The location was great for the areas we wanted to visit. The staff was some of the nicest I have ever encountered anywhere!!! They have a great hot breakfast served everyday and is free. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Great view of the Empire State building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGH43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear EGH43;

Thank you for your review and kind words. I am glad that you were pleased with your stay. We pride ourselves on the great guest service that we provide. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to the area.

Thanks for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square!

Omar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southeastern U.S
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Loved this new hotel very close to Macy's and a short walk to Times Square. Yes rooms are not huge but husband and 16 and 20 year old and I made it fine even with lots of luggage. Great breakfast and large room to dine. Elevators were very fast. All staff were super nice and accommodating. They held our luggage for us on day of arrival.

Room Tip: I love the setup of only 8 rooms per floor. No long walks to your room and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southerntraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Southerntraveler2

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square for your lodging needs! Thank you for your review. I’m glad that you found our location to be a good value. As you mentioned, our property is within walking minutes to Macy’s and the Empire State Building and centrally located to the major attractions NYC has to offer. Thank you for your comments concerning our great breakfast and for your kind words about my staff. I certainly have a great TEAM and am proud of all of them. I’m glad my staff held your luggage the day of your arrival.

Thanks again for choosing us and we look forward to your next visit!

Regards,

Omar Aquino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is my first time writing a review about a hotel since i'm not the type that can easily complain, BUT this time i have the strong urge to share my unbelievable experience at this hotel. I picked this hotel as i always read about the reviews on tripadvisor whenever i go travelling.

I'd start with the location - GREAT, there is no doubt about it - only a couple blocks from times square and other shopping area.

The free Wi-Fi and complimentary breakfast was wonderful, the wi-fi was fast and the breakfast was enough to keep me full until late lunch time.

The room was average to small, the bathroom was small but clean.

But when it comes to the service, i had to say it was terrible

I stayed multiple nights there since i went to several other cities as well. I stayed for around 9 nights in total there. The first two nights were fine. And on the next day i planned to leave NYC for 4 nights for Washington and Boston.
So, the night before i came down to the concierge desk and asked if i could store my big luggages (there were 4 of those, and i was gonna carry 2 small luggages to washington) in the hotel until we come back to NYC and we're gonna stay in this hotel again for the next 6 nights. The concierge said "yes that's should be alright", and i made it very clear that i was gonna store my luggages for 4 nights, and she said "yes, absolutely".
Then on the next day, i went down to the concierge with my 4 big luggages to check out and store my luggages, the girl from last night was not there at that time. So i told the concierge that i wanna store my luggages. And then she said "unfortunately, we don't do that service, it's against the policy etc etc, we can only keep for 24hrs". I was like what theee..., it was 9am and my train leaves at 10am. And i kept telling them that the girl from last night told me that i can store my luggages, but they seemed to not believe me. They did apologize but there was nothing that they offered to compensate. i was so upset, I mean if you had told me that you dont do that service, i would have looked for another alternative and left earlier. I asked if they could do just this time (to compensate whatsoever) but instead they told me there's a luggage storage service on the 39th st and i can store my luggages there. But it's already 9.10am and i'm not gonna carry my 4 huge luggages by foot. One of the staff helped me find the cab and asked for my email/contact number and he said he would see what can be done from there. we just rushed like crazy to get a cab (you can imagine how hard it is to get a cab and the traffic at that rush hour), and went to the storage, and rushed straight to the Penn Station, aaannd we didnt make it. so we bought another train ticket for another 200 bucks!! It was a rough morning really.
Then when we came back to the NYC i was thinking to ask about any type of compensation that they could offer regarding this situation, but i was too tired to ask them and didnt want to get into another long conversation with them.

And yea as i thought, they never contacted me through my email nor offered to compensate regardless how looongg i have stayed at their hotel. And the funny thing is, i never saw the staff that-told-me-that-he-was-gonna-contact-me ever again at that hotel.

Oh and also there was one day the housekeeping did not change our towels, so we asked the frontdesk to get a new towel and as usual she said "unfortunately, we dont have a housekeeping at this time."
well, what else can't you do?

I would definitely not stay at this hotel ever again!! There are a lot of hotels nearby so dont have to worry about location.

Room Tip: dont book a standard room if you wish to get a twin bed room, standard room always comes in king bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellavinella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Ellavinella,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square for your lodging needs! And thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you found our location, free Wi-Fi and complimentary breakfast to be a good value. Thank you for comment concerning the service provided by our concierge. It is only by notifications such as yours that we can make necessary corrections and improve our services. As you can see, from our many previous reviews the level of guest service we provide is top notch. That’s why I would personally be looking into your comments with my concierge desk to ensure it is corrected.

Thanks again for your review and feedback and we look forward to your return!

Thank you,

Omar Aquino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We enjoyed a brand new hotel with very good rooms, and very nice people. Location is the best. It has a very well provided self service brakfast. Rooms are very clean, litle beat small but who cares when you visit such beautiful city as NY. We would use it again without doubts.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_Chicahuala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square for your lodging needs! And thank you very much for your nice review. We certainly appreciate your kind words concerning our nice rooms, our great location, the breakfast options, the service of the staff, and the cleanliness of the rooms. We pride ourselves on the great guest service we provide. I will be sure to pass along to our staff all the nice things you mentioned.

Thanks again for choosing us and we look forward to seeing on your next visit to the NYC area.

Sincerely,

Omar Aquino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateauguay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I want to start off by saying the hotel was in a great location and staff was helpful in guiding us around the city.We checked in July 6th and stayed for three nights. The evening of the last night we arrived back at the hotel late and exhausted from the day. The next morning we were getting organized to check out . I lifted both comforters off the bed to make sure nothing was being left behind. I found on the bed I shared with my son several dried up spots of blood. I lifted up the other bedding on the bed my son was sharing with my husband and there was what looked like pink juice stains in the middle of the bed. These were not stains that remained after being washed. These were fresh stains!!!!! The cleaning lady actually changed my sheets with somebody's dirty sheets!!! Was this an accident? I hope so. We had no time to shower and were extremely grossed out. At check out I brought it to the attention of hotel staff , they apologized but nothing was done, no compensation was offered at all... We left upset and it ruined our last day as a family. We travel and rely on tripadvisor to help assure a safe and enjoyable stay when we travel. I am not saying to avoid this hotel , just please check your sheets before going to sleep!!!! As a customer travelling with a family we should have been offered some kind of compensation . We expected a clean safe environment at this hotel not dirty bloody sheets.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Erin19760000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear guest;

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square for your lodging needs. We greatly value your comments and would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you found our location and staff to be a good value. I have noted that you experienced inconvenience and discomfort with the cleanliness of your room. It is only by notifications such as yours that we can make necessary corrections and improve our services. As you can see, from our many previous reviews the level of cleanliness at our hotel is top notch. That’s why I would personally be looking into your comments with my housekeeping department to ensure it is corrected.

Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Omar Aquino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#292 of 466 in New York City
2,122 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#165 of 466 in New York City
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#109 of 466 in New York City
739 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#188 of 466 in New York City
590 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#158 of 466 in New York City
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Address: 60 West 36th Street & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10018-8039 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald Square 36th St)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South! Enjoy a calm, peaceful haven in the heart of NYC. You are a part of it all when you "Stay Smart" at the Holiday Inn Express(R) NYC hotel on 36th Street which is centrally located in the heart of midtown. You are steps away from fabulous shopping and famous landmarks. Business travelers can be minutes away from their offices of Marsh and Mclennan, Verizon, Google ABC,JP Morgan Chase,and McGraw Hill. All are within walking distance of our location in Manhattan near the Empire State building and minutes away from Times Square. Our hotel guests can stay productive in our 24-hour business center with copy, fax, printing and computer services. There is so much to do whether you want to catch a Broadway play or visit the Modern Museum of Art, browse the shops on Fifth Avenue or enjoy the sites at Chelsea Piers, The Holiday Inn Express(R) NYC hotel on 36th Street is located near the best of Manhattan and Times Square. Our hotel guests can go skating at Rockefeller Center, stroll in Central Park or Bryant Park or take an evening cruise around New York City. You will take delight in magnificent, skyscraper views, our impeccable customer service and terrific, complimentary amenities. Take advantage of our free, hot breakfast bar. Everyone's a star at our Holiday Inn Express(R) NYC hotel. With a name you can trust and a price you can afford, we'll indulge you with a practical and convenient stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing