We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT location and super clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Ranked #182 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Schaumburg, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“GREAT location and super clean hotel”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Fantastic brand new hotel!!

Booked on Priceline for good price (NY is expensive). We arrived over 2 hours early on a Thursday and our room was ready. Front desk was super nice, let us know of the free breakfast and free water bottles (you can get this at anytime). We would be gone all day sightseeing, come back to freshen up for dinner, and ask for two water bottles, no questions asked.

Room is decently sized, most people know that NY hotels are small, so please don't think you are gonna have a huge suite. And plus, are you in your room that much anyway when you have the gorgeous NY at your feet? Bathroom is small, but once again, nothing huge is needed. Bed was SUPER comfy and it was awesome to know we had a king size in that room. Our view was a great little bar called the Keg Room -- check it out.

Great location as well, only a couple of blocks from Times Square and plenty of food/bars around the area. We never had a problem with noise (yet we stayed at the end of October, so I can't say what it would be like in the Summer).

We never had a problem with breakfast--we would get there around 9:00 and there was PLENTY of food, now a seat is another problem. One of us would have to reserve the seat while the other got food. No big deal though. And their cinnamon rolls?? OMG soo good! Apparently not all Holiday Inn Express have these, so make sure to get some.

If we ever go to NY again, I am sure we will be staying here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deej R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    476
    91
    24
    18
See reviews for
421
347
60
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool. UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My sister and I had 4 days here. The bed is super comfy, good shower and tea and coffee in your room and 24 hours from the little breakfast room. The location is excellent. One block from Macys and easily walkable to Times Square, not too noisy. Very helpful desk staff. we had a minor issue with towels because we slept through the room service, but they were changed within 5 mins. would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilaWirral_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

There is only one side of the hotel that has views of the Empire State Building, and I believe only 2 rooms per floor on each side. With 18 floors that would be a maximum of 36 rooms with a view. They must oversell the rooms with a view at a $$ premium. I paid $359 per room and had two rooms for 3 nights. Once I went to the room and realized I hadn't received a view and I was told there were none of the rooms with the Empire State Building view. If there were, they would let me know and I could change rooms. I did not hear from the front desk, so upon check out I requested a reasonable $30 per room discount ($10 per night x3 nights) for two rooms at a total of a $60 discount. My total was over $2500 and I was denied the $60 discount for their Bait and Switch technique. I will post a photo of the view from room 1703. If a hotel is going to offer a room type specific "with a view," they should deliver it or give a reasonable discount when requested. With all the hotel choices in NYC, I would avoid booking this hotel. On the bright side, they have a perfectly friendly and proficient concierge.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ExtensiveTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear ExtensiveTravels,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are truly disappointed to hear of the overall dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay. We take comments such as these seriously and have sent you a private message in effort to obtain further details.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

unlike most of HIE ...A New Hotel , very clean, nearby everything , couple of minutes walk from Penn station, friendly staff, spacy rooms , free internet .....everything you need for a comfortable stay around the city ...I recommend and will come again for sure

Room Tip: have an empire state view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrTBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I travel to NYC several times per year and always look for a reasonably priced hotel located near our corp office in the ESB. I have stayed at half a dozen within the vicinity, all of which are quite nice. HI Express at Herald is no exception. However, they do stand out from the others (including another local HIE) for their impressive staff and new facilities (7 months old). Brian and Robbie were very welcoming and a valuable asset to the hotel and great ambassadors for the BRAND.
Room is nice size for NY standards and incredibly clean. Had a minor issue with TV...called down to desk and maintenance was up in less than 2 minutes (had been unplugged). Breakfast at 7:30 was plentiful and fresh with a nice variety.
2 very minor complaints (take the good with the constructive)...WIFI on 18th floor was very weak. Not sure if it was number of users or just my location...not a huge deal. Also, this is a very quiet hotel at night HOWEVER; the only noise I heard (except for the expected street sounds) was the constant hum of the elevator. This will not detract me from staying again, but I will know to bring ear plugs next time!
I always appreciate a good value and found one right here. Kudos to the management and to the desk staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zzz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I am in NYC frequently for business and stayed here recently. I was pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness, friendliness of staff, 24 hour coffee bar, free breakfast, etc. The rates are amazing for the room and the location. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmckelvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast, NSW
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I have travelled throughout the US over the last 5 weeks and made a 2 week stop in New York. This hotel was amazing. From the moment we stepped through the doors everyone was really friendly and helpful, particularly Brian on reception and John on Concierge.
The room was everything we needed. For a New York hotel, I was surprised to find the room was fairly spacious, incredibly clean and included everything we needed. Internet was actually high-speed and included in the rate (unlike other hotels which advertise this but cannot deliver).
Breakfast was the perfect start to our morning although, you have to down by 9.30am which can be a challenge after a late night out exploring!
The location in great, it took less than 10 minutes to walk to Times Square, Empire State, Madison Square Garden and only 5 minutes to the nearest subway station.
I will definitely stay here when I visit NYC in future, and will recommend all my Aussie friends to do the same.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank coastal_paradise30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#291 of 467 in New York City
2,122 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#166 of 467 in New York City
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#110 of 467 in New York City
739 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#188 of 467 in New York City
590 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#156 of 467 in New York City
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Address: 60 West 36th Street & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10018-8039 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald Square 36th St)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South! Enjoy a calm, peaceful haven in the heart of NYC. You are a part of it all when you "Stay Smart" at the Holiday Inn Express(R) NYC hotel on 36th Street which is centrally located in the heart of midtown. You are steps away from fabulous shopping and famous landmarks. Business travelers can be minutes away from their offices of Marsh and Mclennan, Verizon, Google ABC,JP Morgan Chase,and McGraw Hill. All are within walking distance of our location in Manhattan near the Empire State building and minutes away from Times Square. Our hotel guests can stay productive in our 24-hour business center with copy, fax, printing and computer services. There is so much to do whether you want to catch a Broadway play or visit the Modern Museum of Art, browse the shops on Fifth Avenue or enjoy the sites at Chelsea Piers, The Holiday Inn Express(R) NYC hotel on 36th Street is located near the best of Manhattan and Times Square. Our hotel guests can go skating at Rockefeller Center, stroll in Central Park or Bryant Park or take an evening cruise around New York City. You will take delight in magnificent, skyscraper views, our impeccable customer service and terrific, complimentary amenities. Take advantage of our free, hot breakfast bar. Everyone's a star at our Holiday Inn Express(R) NYC hotel. With a name you can trust and a price you can afford, we'll indulge you with a practical and convenient stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing