We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, clean, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Ranked #192 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel is located on 36th street, so if you are a fashion lover, the hotel is very conveniently located, with 34th street a 5 minute walk away. However, it is a bit of a walk to Central Park/5th Avenue/Madison Sq, even to 42nd street. However, it is New York, and it's a city made for walking.
The room (2 double beds) is small, but again, it is New York, so you can't complain too much. There wasn't much walking room. The bathroom has all you need, but is also small, but manageable.
The front staff were very friendly. Always greeting you with a "hello", "welcome back" and smile.
The free-wifi is great, very reliable.
The complimentary breakfast was good, but nothing amazing.
Would consider staying here again. Very good value for money, I think.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear guest;

Thank you for your recent review and feedback! We are delighted you found our Hotel and location to be a good value and thank you for the kind remarks regarding the service. The convenience and location to all attractions NYC has to offer is a great feature and thank you for telling everyone!

On behalf of all of us at the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square, thank you for staying with us and YES we look forward to your future visit.

Regards,

Omar Aquino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed six nights here in late June. Location was great, and the hotel more than met our expectations. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were clean with good a/c and shower, and the breakfast was a welcome bonus (Not gourmet, but a good selection of fuel to start the day)..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Dorothy H;

Thank you for your giving us a "Nice Review"! We're delighted you found our new property, the location, the amenities and services suitable for your trip! We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your time. I will make sure to pass along your kind words to my team.

On behalf of all of us at the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your future visit.

Regards,

Omar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We just completed a pleasant five-day stay here. The hotel was clean and new and is in a great location – walking distance to Times Square, Grand Central, and multiple subway stops. It is not luxurious or gourmet, but does all the basics well – A/C was cold, showers were hot, bed was clean and comfortable, staff was courteous and thoughtful. Housekeeping was excellent – unobtrusive but thorough. The breakfast was filling, if a bit monotonous. Jan did a great job keeping the dining area supplied, and we never encountered a problem having a place to sit. There are a few computers and a printer in the lobby that were handy, though no real business center. My one caveat is that our room was very small (though very well thought-out.) A corner, 1603, it had room for the king bed with nightstands on either side and that was the width of the room. A very compact freestanding closet with a dresser, desk and wall-mounted TV rounded out the length of the room with no space to spare. The bathroom had similar tight corners (e.g. shower door just clearing the toilet) and minimal counter space. It was fine for two if we kept things picked up and weren’t lingering in the room much of the day, but would feel claustrophobic to spend much time in or if you over-packed. All in all, the hotel provided a clean, comfortable base of operations from which we could explore the city!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Kathleen W;

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square for your lodging needs. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. We appreciate your kind words about the hotel, the staff, breakfast options, and our location. As you mentioned, our hotel is centrally located within walking distance to major NYC attractions, such as the Empire State Building, Time Square, Macy’s, and Bryant Park. Thank you for comments concerning our breakfast attendant Jan, I will make sure to pass along your nice comment!

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you upon your next visit to the NYC

Regards,

Omar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed 3 nights whilst in New York City for the Cliff Richard concert. The hotel is new, clean and in an excellent location. The breakfast buffet was a lot better than other Holiday Inn Express hotels that we have stayed in round the world, and the breakfast room was really nice. The room was excellent and had a lovely view of the Empire State Building.
The only negative was the limo that the hotel booked to take us to JFK at the end of our stay. When we booked the front desk clerk told us it was a flat fare of $62, including tolls. The ride was very good but when we got to the airport the driver charged us $65, but she had by-passed the tolls and insisted the charge was $65.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Traveller205;

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square for your lodging needs. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our new hotel. I'm extremely pleased you liked the hotel, the staff, amenities, breakfast, and location. And that you had a great stay. I’m glad you enjoyed the view of the Empire State building from your room. Thanks for making the new Holiday Inn Express Herald Square your choice for lodging while visiting in the NYC.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you upon your next visit to the NYC.

Sincerely,

Omar A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

small hotel, small rooms, way too expensive as compared to room size. very un professional front office staff. Taylor in guest services is worse than worst. my first anniversary gone spoiled.

only 1 thing is good about this hotel is delicious Breakfast.

Not at all recommended, good rooms & locations can be find in same rates.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manpreet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Manpreet K;

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square for your lodging needs. Thank you for your review. We take great pride for the service we provide and knowing that we fell short in meeting your expectations is a disappointment. Please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. It is only by notifications such as yours that we can make necessary corrections, when and where need be, as we strive to be the best hotel in NYC. That's why I would like to personally discuss your comments. Please contact me at 212-897-3700 so that I may do so.

Thanks,

Omar Aquino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Very unhappy with this hotel! The rooms were extremely small the beds were more like doubles rather then kings! The place was dirty, it was 90 degrees out and you could only turn down a/c to a certain point. The breakfast was lousy herded into extra small dining room, had to wait to get a seat, the food was all microwaved cooked. I said to the manager that the place was nothing like the pictures, her reply was " thats how we get you in" there was no security in front, anyone could access the elevator walking in from the street, a accident waiting to happen! If something already has! I would never stay again, wish i had stayed with The Plaza my original pick, for the extra 50 bucks, but the pictures and breakfast changed my mind stupid move on my part! Even paid extra for a view, which that stunk! No pool, no restaurant, if you want these amenities don't stay here!

Room Tip: Pick another hotel! Pictures are very deceiving!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Diane E,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square for your lodging needs. Thank you for your review. We take great pride for the service we provide and knowing that we fell short in meeting your expectations is a disappointment. Please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. It is only by notifications such as yours that we can make necessary corrections, when and where need be, as we strive to be the best hotel in NYC. As you can see from our many previous reviews that the level of guest service and cleanliness is top notch; therefore, I hope you allow us to regain your confidence; by visiting out beautiful hotel in the near future.

Thanks,

Omar Aquino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Fairly new hotel which is in walking distance to many of the attractions. We took our grandson and found the hotel to be more than adequate, it certainly met all our needs. The rooms are big enough for two adults plus child but would be a squeeze for four adults. Would recommend the Superheroes tour if travelling with children.

Room Tip: Would recommend room on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank metzner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear metzner;

Greetings from the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square and the Big Apple! I’m glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the trip to New York City and were pleased with the stay. We pride ourselves on the great guest service that we provide. I will be sure to pass along to my TEAM all the nice things you mentioned.

As you mentioned the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square 36th Street is centrally located to all the major attractions New York City has to offer. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and other trip advisor travelers.

We certainly look forward to your next stay with us!

Regards,

Omar Aquino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#290 of 469 in New York City
2,187 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#161 of 469 in New York City
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#152 of 469 in New York City
2,003 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#261 of 469 in New York City
2,066 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South

Address: 60 West 36th Street & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10018-8039 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald Square 36th St)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £106 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South! Enjoy a calm, peaceful haven in the heart of NYC. You are a part of it all when you "Stay Smart" at the Holiday Inn Express(R) NYC hotel on 36th Street which is centrally located in the heart of midtown. You are steps away from fabulous shopping and famous landmarks. Business travelers can be minutes away from their offices of Marsh and Mclennan, Verizon, Google ABC,JP Morgan Chase,and McGraw Hill. All are within walking distance of our location in Manhattan near the Empire State building and minutes away from Times Square. Our hotel guests can stay productive in our 24-hour business center with copy, fax, printing and computer services. There is so much to do whether you want to catch a Broadway play or visit the Modern Museum of Art, browse the shops on Fifth Avenue or enjoy the sites at Chelsea Piers, The Holiday Inn Express(R) NYC hotel on 36th Street is located near the best of Manhattan and Times Square. Our hotel guests can go skating at Rockefeller Center, stroll in Central Park or Bryant Park or take an evening cruise around New York City. You will take delight in magnificent, skyscraper views, our impeccable customer service and terrific, complimentary amenities. Take advantage of our free, hot breakfast bar. Everyone's a star at our Holiday Inn Express(R) NYC hotel. With a name you can trust and a price you can afford, we'll indulge you with a practical and convenient stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing