We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location, great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Ranked #172 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best location, great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel is perfectly located amongst heaps of shopping (near 5th Avenue) including the iconic Macy's department store as well as having the subway (34th St Penn Station) around the corner. It has well appointed rooms with very good amenities. The complimentary breakfast includes a wide selection of hot and cold food options and there is free wi fi in every room. What I thought made our stay the most pleasant was the lovely staff, particularly Yarisa, she was consistently helpful, friendly, professional and even helped us book our taxi back to JFK airport. What excellent value and a fantastic location! Couldn't ask for more!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank cherub79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear cherub79;

Thank you so much for the review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with and that you feel you received great service. It’s something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. I will be sure to pass along to Yarisa your kind comment.

On behalf of the entire TEAM at the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Omar Aquino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    450
    86
    20
    18
See reviews for
397
333
57
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
355 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We really enjoyed it here - the staff were lovely and very helpful. There's a free breakfast which is ok, and free wifi available. The room was a little on the small side but to be expected in the middle of NY. If you're fed up of eating lots of calories try the food bar next door (Pure and Fresh) - fab salads. The hotel is pretty central - fairly close to the subway, Times Square, Penn station, and shopping. If we're ever back in NY we will stay here again. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timtyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Tim W;

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square for your lodging needs! Thank you for your review and kind words. I am glad that you were pleased with your stay and that you found our staff, amenities, and location to be a good value. My staff and I are very honored you picked our hotel and that we were able to serve you.

On behalf of the entire TEAM at the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Omar Aquino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
326 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel is very well located near the 3 subway stations on 34th Street and just round the corner from Macys.

The staff were always very friendly and the hotel clean. The breakfasts were basic but extensive and a great feature of staying here, My room was small but adequate and the bathroom was a good size.

I would happily stay here the next time I am in New York.

Room Tip: I was in room 1807 which had a stunning direct view of the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoffAnnabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear GeoffAnnabel;

Thank you so much for the review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It’s something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to our entire staff. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the stunning view of the Empire State Building from your room.

On behalf of the entire staff at Holiday Inn Express Herald Square; thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Omar Aquino, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Had a great stay at this hotel - four nights - and I'll tell you about the good stuff after I tell you about the bad stuff.

Booked a family room months ago. Arrived at the hotel after a long trip taking c30 hours from Durham via Gatwick and Reykavik. Reception staff advised that there was no family room available, but they would allow two of us to sleep on the floor in a double room !! On the floor !!! No mattress but they would sort us out some sheets and pillows. On the floor !!! We politely asked if this was some sort of joke, but apparently not. After some gentle persuasion they did eventually offer us two doubles which at least meant that we all had a bed, but did give us the inconvenience of splitting us and our luggage up and we did have to re-pack and move rooms after the first night. No compensation was offered at any point. It seemed that they were doing us a favour rather than the other way round.

On the plus side, the hotel was excellent. Fantastic location made it easy for us to get around Manhatten. Big free breakfast was much appreciated. View of Empire State Building from our room was amazing. Room very clean and the staff very helpful after our problematic start.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliverCowey2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear OliverCowey2005;

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square for your lodging needs. Thank you for your review. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with your room type and reservation. I’m glad to hear my staff was able to accommodate you in two rooms for the first night. I’m pleased you found our complimentary breakfast, location, cleanliness of your room; and the staff to be a good value. I certainly have a great staff and will be sure to pass along your kind words.

Thanks again for staying with us; we truly appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Omar Aquino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Ok hotel when we got there didn't have the room we reserved so they tried to get us to sleep on the floor in a diferent room but instead they let us have 2 rooms for first night. There is verry good free wifi and break fast

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Oliver C;

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square for your lodging needs. Thank you for your review. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with your room type and reservation. I’m glad to hear my staff was able to accommodate you in two rooms for the first night. I’m pleased you found our complimentary breakfast and WiFi to be a good value.

Thanks again for staying with us; we truly appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Omar Aquino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

PLUS: Great, central location for this hotel. Easy to reach the Subway or to walk to the nearby attractions. The hotel is very basic, needs a refresher but my room was clean. MINUS: Request a room as high as possible to have less noise from the street. We were on the 3rd floor to the back of the building and we had the noise/smell of the kitchen/restaurant at the 1st level with a very ugly view. The breakfast is only until 09:30am, therefore very crowded. Depending on the time, you may not find a place to sit.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aeppler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guest;

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square for your lodging needs! And thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you found our location to be a good value.
Thanks again for your review and feedback and we look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Omar Aquino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The complementary breakfast caters for everyone and tea and coffee available during the day. The rooms were clean and the size was sufficient for the time you spend in them. The location is perfect, around the corner from Macy's and a few minutes walk from the Empire State Building. Would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnP245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guest;

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square for your lodging needs! And thank you very much for your review. Thank you for your comments concerning the cleanliness of your room, our complimentary breakfast, our location, and our staff. I certainly have a great TEAM and am proud of all of them.

On behalf of the entire TEAM at the Holiday Inn Express Herald Square, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Omar Aquino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Address: 60 West 36th Street & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10018-8039 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald Square 36th St)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South! Enjoy a calm, peaceful haven in the heart of NYC. You are a part of it all when you "Stay Smart" at the Holiday Inn Express(R) NYC hotel on 36th Street which is centrally located in the heart of midtown. You are steps away from fabulous shopping and famous landmarks. Business travelers can be minutes away from their offices of Marsh and Mclennan, Verizon, Google ABC,JP Morgan Chase,and McGraw Hill. All are within walking distance of our location in Manhattan near the Empire State building and minutes away from Times Square. Our hotel guests can stay productive in our 24-hour business center with copy, fax, printing and computer services. There is so much to do whether you want to catch a Broadway play or visit the Modern Museum of Art, browse the shops on Fifth Avenue or enjoy the sites at Chelsea Piers, The Holiday Inn Express(R) NYC hotel on 36th Street is located near the best of Manhattan and Times Square. Our hotel guests can go skating at Rockefeller Center, stroll in Central Park or Bryant Park or take an evening cruise around New York City. You will take delight in magnificent, skyscraper views, our impeccable customer service and terrific, complimentary amenities. Take advantage of our free, hot breakfast bar. Everyone's a star at our Holiday Inn Express(R) NYC hotel. With a name you can trust and a price you can afford, we'll indulge you with a practical and convenient stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing