We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Union Square New York
Ranked #121 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
High Ongar
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great location for downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

The staff are exceptional and the rooms well fitted out. This isnt your classic Hyatt hotel with grand rooms and big social spaces but it makes up for all of that with friendliness and the location is perfect for downtown. In my opinion better than the W on Union Square.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianexn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenzing D, Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you so much for providing us with an amazing feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We have a great team here at Hyatt Union Square that is built on class service standards with a hint of personalization that could conjure a pleasant experience for all our guests. It is our privilege to serve you again when you do return to Hyatt Union Square in the near future.

Do keep in touch and thank you once again for staying with Hyatt Union Square.

Regards,

Tenzing Dupatsang
Assistant Front Office Manager
tenzing.dupatsang@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    437
    133
    39
    31
See reviews for
407
417
105
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel last week on business and enjoyed it very much. The location is fantastic one block from Union Square. I was upgraded to a room with a lovely deck although not able to use it because if was so cold. The size of the room was average NYC hotel room, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was well laid out. The front desk staff was very helpful with sorting out the trains to Wall Street for me and making a reservation of dinner in the East Village. The bistro in the hotel lobby served breakfast and that was very good but the selection was a bit limiting. I will return to this hotel again next time I am in NYC for business.

Room Tip: I was in room 209 and I would request that room again because it was very quiet and large enough esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquelineSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenzing D, Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review and insight about our hotel. It was our pleasure to have you with us and looking forward to many more.

As a young and ambitious team, we are absolutely determined to create personable and memorable experiences for every guest of ours. Again, we look forward to welcoming you back and hopefully recreate that experience for you.

Please do keep in touch whilst you return to Hyatt Union Square.

Regards,

Tenzing Dupatsang
Assistant Front Office Manager
tenzing.dupatsang@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Great hotel, trendy decor and restaurant area. Great location if you want to be in the east village. A 10 minute walk to the Hi-line, meatpacking market and galleries. Great gym and friendly staff. Cool bar area large which was perfect for meeting up with friends.

Room Tip: Higher the best for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andbrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hello -

Thank you for staying with us and for your great review! We very much appreciate it.
I'm so happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of many of the things that our great neighborhood has to offer. We hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Just stayed this past weekend at this Hyatt. The location was perfect, near Union Square and it's metro, several grocery stores nearby, 24 hour Walgreens, 24 hour coffee and dining and within walking distance to everything else we needed. The staff couldn't do enough, sp friendly with an "I can" attitude , everyone from Victor the bell captain to the desk, bar and housekeeping staff. Yes the rooms are small, but the price was an unbelievable bargain for such trendy digs. Folks, it's New York! Rooms are small unless you mortgage your house to pay for them. Single malt scotch bar a great touch. Everything clean and great working order,well maintained fabulous new fitness center. . Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Back rooms no view but incredibly quiet. From view rooms less quiet but not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indulgent01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hello -

Thanks for staying with us and for your great review! I enjoyed hearing that our staff was able to accommodate all your needs and that you got to taste some great single malt scotches at the bar. Hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Very Friendly staff. Rooms very small but has everthing you need. Good drycleaning. You need to pay for Wifi. Location is exellent if you like the area. Lots of very good and trendy restaurants. Will definetely come back next time I am in NY.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Concordia100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hello -
Thanks for staying with us! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the Hyatt Grand Bed. If you are ever back in New York, we would love to see you in the hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Hello,
We have stayed at many hotels in New York,including the Four Seasons and The Trump,and although they are both lovely,the Hyatt Union Square ranks right up there!!
We were there celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. I never expect an up-grade as I feel I am paying for the room I booked. When checking in and having a casual conversation with Amanda,she asked why we were in the city,we told her,and all of the sudden,we were given an upgrade! Nice,especially when not expecting it! Our room had a huge terrace!!Amanda at the front desk was excellent,as was every staff member we encountered-friendly,not stuffy or arrogant!
The location:can't be beat!! We love the union Square area. Great restaurants,the market,easy access to Soho,the Village and,midtown.There is a subway stop right there,but it is a great walking location.
The lobby and hotel bar are beautiful,nice for cocktails before going out. Check out the flower arrangements in the lobby,they are stunning!
Rooms-the rooms are small,even by NY standards,but they are layed out perfect,with every high tech gadget imaginable. We didn't mind the size,because it had good lighting,excellent bedding,the best hair dryer,high end toiletries,excellent shower,and was spotless!! Turn-down was lovely with candy and soft music.
If you can,get a terrace room.We had a huge terrace with table and chairs...we could have had a cocktail party out there!!
The gym:this is important to my husband,and the gym is super nice,well equipped,clean,towels,fruit and water bottles all available.My husband usually buys a day pass and hits a nice gym/health-club,but did not need to when we stayed here.
Don't be put off by this being a "Hyatt"...as I was a little worried and generally prefer smaller boutique hotels.This Hyatt is not your typical chain hotel.
If you have any questions let me know....
My son goes to school in the city and I have stayed at a ton of NY hotels,if you need any comparisons!!
Enjoy the city!!

Thanks again Amanda,and all the doormen,you were all great,so fun coming back to your friendly smiles after exploring the city all day!!

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlimd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hello -
First, I must congratulate you on your 25th wedding anniversary! We are honored that you chose our hotel to be a part of your celebration.
I'm so happy that your husband and yourself were able to explore Union Square and all of our great neighboring areas as well as take advantage of all the neat things that our hotel has to offer as well. Please do let us know if your travels bring you back to New York in the future, as we would love to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel over the Christmas period for our honeymoon. We choose the hotel because of it's location and close proximity to Wholefoods, great restaurants and shops. Upon checking in the hotel staff were friendly and helpful but after that completely hopeless. We were offered a morning paper which we only received the first morning and then my husband had to call every day after that to request it. We made other requests throughout our stay with the requests form left by housekeeping in the room which were never ever provided.
The rooms were modern and clean but extremely small, particularly the bathroom area. There was limited space to hang and store items.
It wasn't exactly honeymoon material and we were left feeling disappointed. When we were last in NYC we stayed at the Bryant Part Hotel and unfortunately it was booked out. When we return we will definitely opt to stay there instead of the Hyatt.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hello --

Thank you for reviewing us and for providing feedback which will help us to improve overall. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that you and your husband may have experienced while staying with us. I would like to look into this matter further; if you would like to discuss this, please send us an email at sales@hyattunionsquarenyc.com and I will make sure to address the specific points you make. I hope you have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#140 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#105 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#179 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#162 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#90 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Union Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Union Square New York

Property: Hyatt Union Square New York
Address: 134 4th Ave, New York City, NY 10003-4903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Union Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Union Square New York property offers 178 luxe guest rooms and suites that evoke the area's vibrant spirit and invigorating atmosphere. Renowned interior designer Paul Vega created a unique urban space that blends high design with natural elements. Our building's historic façade and expansive 23-foot high ceiling provide a grand entrance for your arrival, and our enthusiastic team will ensure that all your expectations are exceeded. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Union Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing