We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greay stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Union Square New York
Ranked #113 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel was exactly what I needed on my recent weekend trip to NYC. From the minute I arrived I was pleased with this hotel. The front desk staff were friendly, efficient and personable, even past midnight (I took a late flight in). They asked about my plans for my trip and offered help finding anything I might need. I feel like at a lot of places, they don't actually care, but here, the staff remembered that I was there to see a show at Irving Plaza (which is just 2 blocks away) and asked how it was the next evening when I returned. Those are the kind of details that make me a happy customer.

The rooms are fairly small, as expected in NYC, but I was impressed with how spacious it felt. There is great space saving design that's still aesthetically pleasing. The bed was very comfortable and I slept like a baby.

Room Tip: Courtyard facing room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenzing D, Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are so glad that you had a great stay here at Hyatt Union Square.

Our staff here at Hyatt Union Square are nothing less of hospitality professionals that are dedicated to providing the best and genuine service to all our guest. We are glad you were able to experience one such moment and able to share it. I will be more than happy to acknowledge our staff witht their exemplary service.

We hope that you make Hyatt Union Square your new home and hopefully we'll be able to more of you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Thank you and until then....

Regards,

Tenzing Dupatsang
Assistant Front Office Manager
tenzing.dupatsang@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,508 - 1,514 of 1,706 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend the Hyatt Union Square Hotel. I've stayed in NYC many times and never knew about this hotel before! The room was beautiful, modern, clean and had everything I needed. Check in was quick, easy and accommodating! The restaurants were wonderful! What I loves most was the location; everything was right outside your door. Shopping, markets, restaurants and especially and especially the clean open spaces which in NYC are hard to find!
I would rate this hotel Andy experience a 5 star!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chgxhfz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenzing D, Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We would like to welcome you back and hopefully you would recommend your loved ones as well about the hotel. It's a gem in the heart of New York City and our staff here work tirelessly creating an ambiance of chic and luxury at the same time.

Please do contact me directly should you have any questions or queries for your future stays in New York.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Kind Regards,

Tenzing Dupatsang
Assistant Front Office Manager
tenzing.dupatsang@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I love Hyatt Union Square for the friendly staff, lovely decor, and proximity to everything! I have tried many brands in the city, but always come back to Hyatt. I specifically choose the Union Square location because of it's cozy feel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenzing D, Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you so much for this amazing review. Your title says it all and I have to thank you for your loyalty with Hyatt.

We hope to make every stay of yours at Hyatt Union Square a memorable one and we have just the individuals that are personable and professional at the same time.

Please do contact me directly should you have any queries or when your plans bring you back to Hyatt Union Square.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square in the near future. Thank you once again.

Best Regards,

Tenzing Dupatsang
Assistant Front Office Manager
tenzing.dupatsang@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Front desk staff is always ready to accommodate you as best they can. On my last trip I received a fabulous upgrade and they corrected a mistake in the reservation that I made. Great service with a smile. Gym is fantastic, one of my favorite hotel gyms in the city. My go to union square hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nryan2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenzing D, Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. I am truly glad that you had a wonderful stay with us.

I'm glad that you have come back to us since your last visit to NYC. We hope to see many more of your visits so we can recreate all those memorable experiences for you.

Please do contact me if you have any questions or plan for your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Tenzing Dupatsang
Assistant Front Office Manager
tenzing.dupatsang@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Nice new lovely hotel. Nice room (cozy, but not small). Funky decor. Staff was very friendly. A very ideal location. Right at Union Square and a quick walk to St. Marks for all your "punk rock" shopping needs! Very easy access to the subway (near Astor Place). Not far from Bowery/SoHo. Lots of restaurant choices around the area. Parking is expensive wherever you park in NYC so you just have to deal with it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Nikki_Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenzing D, Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you for a wonderful review. I am glad that you had an amazing stay with us.

I'm sure you had a great time shopping around the neighborhood and the little surprises that comes with New York.

Please do contact me directly should your plans bring you back to New York. We would love to have you back.

Thank you.

Kind regards,

Tenzing Dupatsang
Assistant Front Office Manager
tenzing.dupatsang@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We thought we would try this new property in NYC for our latest trip to the Big Apple. I must preface this stay(service-wise) by saying that this year we have already stayed at Park Hyatt Aviara, Park Hyatt Dubai, Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa, Grand Hyatt Dubai and also Park Hyatt Vendome UHH yes we are loyal to the Hyatt Brand. We had amazing service at each of these locations. We don't require a lot of attention per se BUT here ALL we needed were prompt wake up calls. On the first night/morning we had requested a wake up call and received it an hour earlier than our requested time. Not the biggest deal BUT we were not fans. On the second night/morning we had requested a wake up call for an "early" flight. WE RECEIVED NO WAKE UP CALL AT ALL!! This was very frustrating and we ended up missing our scheduled flight. Yes... a big deal!! We had really looked forward to our stay at this new prop.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanzmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenzing D, Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review on your stay at the Hyatt Union Square.

After reading your comments, I must say that I am truly sorry we failed to deliver an amazing Hyatt experience to you. This certainly isn’t typical of our team.

I know that I can’t change the past; however, I can certainly influence the future. Please if you can reach out to me directly to discuss the matter further would be much appreciated.

Again, I am very sorry, and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Tenzing Dupatsang
Assistant Front Office Manager
tenzing.dupatsang@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Very good hotel with new rooms. The service is good and there is a very good bar at The hotel Also.

At The top there is a nice view

The location is very good , very close To subway and good restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlavioBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenzing D, Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. It is good to know that you had an amazing time here at Hyatt Union Square.

Our team here at Hyatt Union Square are dedicated professionals and genuine individuals driven to provide the best and personal experience. And I'm glad that this time we have succeeded.

Please do reach out to me directly should you have any further inquiries or when your plans bring you back to New York. We would love to have you back.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Tenzing Dupatsang
Assistant Front Office Manager
tenzing.dupatsang@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
W New York - Union Square
#154 of 469 in New York City
1,501 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#118 of 469 in New York City
613 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#109 of 469 in New York City
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#214 of 469 in New York City
707 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#140 of 469 in New York City
1,460 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#88 of 469 in New York City
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Union Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Union Square New York

Address: 134 4th Ave, New York City, NY 10003-4903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £216 - £542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Union Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a block from Union Square Park, the Hyatt Union Square New York is a AAA Four Diamond property featuring 178 luxury, pet-friendly guest rooms, studios and suites with options for a private terrace. Surrounded by a vibrant neighborhood filled with public art galleries, entertainment, shopping, restaurants and bars, you won’t need to go far to discover Union Square. You’ll also have access to the third largest transportation hub to get you to other parts of Manhattan and beyond. During your stay, keep your fitness routine at our 24-hour Life Fitness™ gym complete with top of line fitness equipment, complimentary towels, fruit snack, water and headphones. Prefer to be outside? Take a tour of the city May-October on one of our bicycles. If you’ve worked up an appetite, step into Bowery Road for American cuisine. Prepared by Chef Ron Rosselli, the flavorful and thoughtfully prepared dishes are inspired by local farmers. Seasonal produce from the nearby farmers market, Union Square Greenmarket, can be found in each dish. Need something a little stronger? Take a seat at the Library of Distilled Spirits to try one of more than 700 bottles of liquor from around the world. Choose from our encyclopedia of more than 150 classic cocktails to sample something shaken or stirred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Union Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing