We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hyatt at Union Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Union Square New York
Ranked #118 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Hyatt at Union Square”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

New York hotels can be hit and miss. Well this one is a hit. We walked in in a rush to quickly checked in as we were getting late in attending a convocation. They took care of us professionally, checked us in, took our luggage, gave us the key and got us a taxi in a just a few minutes. When we later got back to the hotel, our luggage, etc. was in our room; the room was rather small (this is New York after all) but very well organized, very functional and elegant and with a super walk-in shower (essential for a good stay). Throughout our stay the staff was friendly and most helpful whenever we had a request. We will be back. I recommend this hotel for its location, the fact that it is modern/new and for the fact that staff seems genuinely interested in whether everything is in order.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was facing the street; it had a good view and noise from the street was not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adolfoMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear adolfoMontreal,

Thank you for this wonderful review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt right at home. The products and services we provide are our asset that are consistently quality checked and with staff as ours delivering it in the highest standards as expected by most of our guests.

We definitely hope to see you the near future and please do contact me for any further assistance. Thank you once again and looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    958
    461
    138
    42
    33
See reviews for
437
441
110
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My husband and I stayed for a week at the beginning of May to celebrate both my birthday and our wedding anniversary. We loved everything about our stay.
The hotel is modern, elegant and exceptionally clean. The rooms are spacious compared to many other city hotels and we particularly liked the open plan bathroom as it added to the spacious feel of the room. The Shower was large and powerful and the bed was extremely comfortable. We stayed on the 8th floor and did not hear any noise from the street below at all.
The staff were all brilliant; really helpful chatty and friendly. They could not do enough for us and dealt with any requests quickly.
We ate in the hotel restaurant one evening and the food was good although more expensive than other restaurants in the area. We chose not to eat breakfast in the hotel and instead opted for bagels and coffee from the coffee shop opposite the hotel, or ate a larger cooked breakfast at a local diner a few blocks away called Joe Junior’s.
The Union square area was the perfect place to stay. You are within an easy walking distance of many sites and on the main subway lines if you prefer to take the train. We did a mix of both and easily accessed the whole of Manhattan. We even managed to go to watch the Mets one evening and get the subway home in the early hours with no issues. There were lots of really good restaurants fairly close to the hotel around Union Square and a short walk away in East Village. The staff are happy to give tips if you are looking for a particular type of food.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough and will definitely stay here next time I visit New York.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_O84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Rachel_O84

Thank you for this amazing and detailed review of our hotel. It brings me immense pleasure to hear that your special occasion visit with us turned out to be a success. I cannot commend enough on our staffs' professionalism, friendliness and attentiveness to all our guests alike. We do have a great team and I am sure you found a home away from home in the Big Apple.

I assure you that this feedback will be shared with our entire team and we cannot wait to see you the next time you visit us.

Please do contact me should you have any further questions. Looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed three nights in Union Square and chose this hotel because it is new. The rooms are comfy and quiet, the desk staff are friendly and helpful and the location couldn't be better. It isn't the same as staying in Midtown which is my usual first choice, but i actually liked it better! It was easy to get anywhere from this location, and I loved spending time in Union Square Park. The rooms are small, but have all the necessary amenities, and the most comfortable beds. I appreciated being off the street as it provided respite from the hustle and bustle, and was quiet at night and early morning so i could sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the street don't have views, but are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellerZG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear WorldtravellerZG,

Thank you for this wonderful review. I take pleasure in hearing that our guests genuinely feel satisfied with their stay whether it be location or service or both. I am glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and hope you will be joining us in the near future.

Your review will definitely be shared with our staff which goes a long way as this will motivate them further to serve and assist in excellence.

Please do contact me directly should you have any further questions and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
Level Contributor
572 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were here for four nights. Our surroundings were roomier than many NYC hotels we have stayed in. The decor was contemporary and attractive. The beds were wonderfully comfortable. And the quiet was very much appreciated. The staff was young, charismatic and very willing to help. The location was great. The service was very good. We did miss the presence of an in-house concierge. Although staff was eager to help, they often had to ask among themselves until someone had the answer to our questions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear MissMem,

Thank you for this wonderful review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am glad you brought up the concierge questions, which is already in the works and will be fully operational in the coming weeks.

Hopefully, upon your next visit we will have a fully functional concierge desk and the same staff that has served you with great satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Hyatt Union Square is a great place for a get away. Great neighborhood, friendly and welcoming staff. The rooms are modern and comfortable. We have stayed 3 time this year and it continues to be our first choice when staying in NYC.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcd1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Marcd1963,

Thank you for a wonderful review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us yet again and thank you for your loyalty to Hyatt Union Square. We will definitely look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Please do contact me directly should you have any questions.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We recently used the Hyatt Union Square New York for our son's wedding party and the Hotel staff was tremendous. We booked 25 nights of rooms and the staff and hotel were fantastic. From the doormen, reception check-in, food and beverage, sales teams, everyone exceed our expectations. I would highly recommend anyone using this terrific smaller hotel with charm, new amenities, classy and well trained staff, and a great location in New York's Union Square area. Needless to say the Wedding was a huge success made even better due to the wonderful hotel and people. Our family are huge Hyatt Union Square Hotel fans and will use again and again on any NYC trips. We had 7 children and 24 adults in our wedding group. Kid friendly hotel.

Room Tip: We had a mixture of adjoin rooms, singles and the two suites which were great. The room decor/decora...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very eco friendly and not overdone like many hotels we had plenty of towels and our comfort was high on their list.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Mr. Henry N,

I cannot thank you enough for this detailed review on our hotel. I am very proud of our team that was involved in making a success stay during your son's wedding. From our sales team to the front desk, to housekeeping and engineering team greatly enjoyed hosting such a wonderful family.

Our congratulations to you and your family. We can't wait to see you in the near future. Please do contact me directly should you have any questions. Thank you once again for sharing this special moment with the Hyatt Union Square team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This property can't be beat for the area. I greatly enjoy staying here and make it a point to book in advance since it fills up quickly. The staff is incredibly friendly and the accommodations feel spacious for a NY room. They use the room space really well in the studio rooms. Splurge on a terrace room and you can have your own outdoor space for dinner/a glass of wine with friends.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms, and try to steer clear of elevators to keep the noise down
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear LFarbs,

Thank you for this wonderful review. I'm glad you had an amazing stay with us.

I'd also like to thank you for your suggestions on the Terrace. It is a great space and as we are looking forward to a great summer. Hopefully, we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back into one of them.

Please do not hesitate to contact us when your plans brings you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Until then,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
W New York - Union Square
#142 of 468 in New York City
1,471 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#111 of 468 in New York City
582 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#108 of 468 in New York City
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#189 of 468 in New York City
675 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#147 of 468 in New York City
1,405 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#86 of 468 in New York City
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Union Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Union Square New York

Property: Hyatt Union Square New York
Address: 134 4th Ave, New York City, NY 10003-4903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Union Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a block from Union Square Park, the Hyatt Union Square New York is a AAA Four Diamond property featuring 178 luxury, pet-friendly guest rooms, studios and suites with options for a private terrace. Surrounded by a vibrant neighborhood filled with public art galleries, entertainment, shopping, restaurants and bars, you won’t need to go far to discover Union Square. You’ll also have access to the third largest transportation hub to get you to other parts of Manhattan and beyond. During your stay, keep your fitness routine at our 24-hour Life Fitness™ gym complete with top of line fitness equipment, complimentary towels, fruit snack, water and headphones. Prefer to be outside? Take a tour of the city May-October on one of our bicycles. If you’ve worked up an appetite, step into Bowery Road for American cuisine. Prepared by Chef Ron Rosselli, the flavorful and thoughtfully prepared dishes are inspired by local farmers. Seasonal produce from the nearby farmers market, Union Square Greenmarket, can be found in each dish. Need something a little stronger? Take a seat at the Library of Distilled Spirits to try one of more than 700 bottles of liquor from around the world. Choose from our encyclopedia of more than 150 classic cocktails to sample something shaken or stirred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Union Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing