We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern boutique hotel in union square NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Union Square New York
Ranked #98 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here for 9 nights. We really liked the location of the hotel because it was removed from the main tourist area of Times Square yet not too far from everywhere else. The rooms were pretty small but considering we were out most of the time this wasn't a problem and our bed was extremely comfortable. The staff were all young but always very helpful and enthusiastic. Particular thanks should go to Ephrom on the front desk and Joseph who always had a huge smile as he hailed our taxi. If the staff did not know something straight away they always looked it up for us and nothing was ever too much trouble. The restaurant in the hotel was also very good.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street but with windows closed, noise wasn't a problem. We preferred a street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hello Yvonne U,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. I am so glad to hear that you had a great stay with us and especially some of our associates you mentioned in your review. We are proud of them and a huge asset to the organisation. I shall personally congratulate them.

We do hope you will spread the word (in Australia) and also see yourselves return to us when your travel brings you back to New York City. Thank you once again for staying with us and for this amazing review.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,539 - 1,545 of 1,763 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This was our third stay at the Hyatt Union Square NYC . The staff was very welcoming, warm & friendly. The rooms are new, large for a boutique hotel and have everything you need. From a great shower, robes, outlets everywhere , cool lighting to current magazines for all tastes, this hotel has it all. It is centrally located in lower Manhattan , so walking is easy to shops & restaurants. Don't think we'll ever stay anywhere else.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dyanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Dyanne H,

Firstly, thank you so much for your loyalty and your third stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback and the review you have showered us with. I am pleased to hear that your stays have been more than satisfactory and we hope to continue to service you with the same experience the next time you back at Hyatt Union Square.

Please do contact me or the hotel, should you need further info in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We just spent 4 nights at the Hyatt Union Square and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a great location with shopping, restaurants and subway stations nearby. Union Square is right around the corner. The staff were very nice and accommodating. The restaurant has a good breakfast and the bar is very nice. We had a room overlooking 4th and yet the windows were soundproofed enough to keep most of the noise out. The bed was sooooo comfortable. The room is modern and clean and nicely decorated. My only complaint is that there are not enough drawers in the bedroom to put away your clothes. A couple design tweaks would have solved that problem. We enjoyed our stay and will go back to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to stay in a room overlooking 4th. The windows are sound proofed and keep the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Bjrad,

Thank you so much for this extensive review. We surely do appreciate your feedback and suggestions regarding the space for clothes.

I can proudly say that the team here are enthused by such feeback and remarks and goes a long way to prove dedication and passion for the work they do while working at the Hyatt Union Square. I shall personally share your feedback with them during our next meeting.

Thank you once again and as you said, we will see you the next time around. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The best part about this hotel is the door man. Victor is friendly, courteous and remembers your name. After that it goes downhill. The computer check in process is a mess. The reservations are always messed up. The rooms are usually not ready. The maid service is spotty. If you drive call way in advance to get your car, we waited an hour. The rooms are small but clean and the bed is comfortable. If they get the front desk figured out it is a convenient hotel in the NYU area.

Room Tip: Corners are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank golfforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Golfforme,

I am sad to see that your stay with us was below satisfactory. I do sincerely apologize that you feel this way and I will bring it up with my staff for a review on all the areas that were missed.

Our staff here at Hyatt Union Square are true passionate professionals in the field and do treat all guests with the same courteous and friendly experience that you have every right to expect from us. And I apologize that we have failed you this time.

Again, I can't change the past but certainly can influence the future. So please if you do consider us again and give us the opportunity to serve and experience the true Hyatt way, contact me directly when your travel brings you back to Hyatt Union Square.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice in the past year and love it. The location (just off Union Square) is fantastic (close to subway, etc.) The service is spectacular - everyone was helpful and even made the effort to remember our names. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Dave S,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I wanted to thank you for your loyalty and returning back to us. I will say that the staff here at Hyatt Union Square are young, eager and the friendliest that one can come across. They are passionate about creating memorable experience for our guests and your review has given them the motivated and encouragement to keep up the consistency.

We do look forward to your third stay with us and please let me know if there is anything else I can do for you. Until then... have a wonderful Memorial Day and looking forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel is very nice, nice furniture, good food and the best staff I ever experienced, the guest care is incomparable, which is fundamental, expecially when you travel for business, with lots of stress.
Will be my hotel in NY in the next trips, for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgiaJudy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear GeorgiaJudy76,

Thank you for this wonderful review. I am glad that you had an amazing stay with us. And I'm glad to hear that you have chose us to be your choice hotel in NYC.

Please do contact me should you have any questions or when your travel brings you back to NYC. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

New York hotels can be hit and miss. Well this one is a hit. We walked in in a rush to quickly checked in as we were getting late in attending a convocation. They took care of us professionally, checked us in, took our luggage, gave us the key and got us a taxi in a just a few minutes. When we later got back to the hotel, our luggage, etc. was in our room; the room was rather small (this is New York after all) but very well organized, very functional and elegant and with a super walk-in shower (essential for a good stay). Throughout our stay the staff was friendly and most helpful whenever we had a request. We will be back. I recommend this hotel for its location, the fact that it is modern/new and for the fact that staff seems genuinely interested in whether everything is in order.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was facing the street; it had a good view and noise from the street was not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adolfoMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear adolfoMontreal,

Thank you for this wonderful review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt right at home. The products and services we provide are our asset that are consistently quality checked and with staff as ours delivering it in the highest standards as expected by most of our guests.

We definitely hope to see you the near future and please do contact me for any further assistance. Thank you once again and looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
W New York - Union Square
#173 of 471 in New York City
1,525 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#236 of 471 in New York City
725 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#94 of 471 in New York City
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#115 of 471 in New York City
626 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#139 of 471 in New York City
1,500 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#50 of 471 in New York City
2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Union Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Union Square New York

Address: 134 4th Ave, New York City, NY 10003-4903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £159 - £454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Union Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a block from Union Square Park, the Hyatt Union Square New York is a AAA Four Diamond property featuring 178 luxury, pet-friendly guest rooms, studios and suites with options for a private terrace. Surrounded by a vibrant neighborhood filled with public art galleries, entertainment, shopping, restaurants and bars, you won’t need to go far to discover Union Square. You’ll also have access to the third largest transportation hub to get you to other parts of Manhattan and beyond. During your stay, keep your fitness routine at our 24-hour Life Fitness™ gym complete with top of line fitness equipment, complimentary towels, fruit snack, water and headphones. Prefer to be outside? Take a tour of the city May-October on one of our bicycles. If you’ve worked up an appetite, step into Bowery Road for American cuisine. Prepared by Chef Ron Rosselli, the flavorful and thoughtfully prepared dishes are inspired by local farmers. Seasonal produce from the nearby farmers market, Union Square Greenmarket, can be found in each dish. Need something a little stronger? Take a seat at the Library of Distilled Spirits to try one of more than 700 bottles of liquor from around the world. Choose from our encyclopedia of more than 150 classic cocktails to sample something shaken or stirred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Union Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing