We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate and polished haven in the Big Apple!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Union Square New York
Ranked #120 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
East Hampton, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Intimate and polished haven in the Big Apple!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This newer addition to the Hyatt family gets a top score in my book! Great location, modern and comfortable rooms, excellent and attentive staff ... who could ask for more? I have stayed here several times and appreciate being remembered and welcomed back with genuine warmth.
I am almost torn between keeping this as my 'secret' discovery and sharing this precious 'gem' of a hotel with all my friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Joelle K,

Thank you for this amazing review. Also, thank you for being a loyal guest of ours. We appreciate your business and we are glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

I can't be more thrilled to hear about the staff that has created a friendly vibe yet keeping it professional.

We can't wait for your next stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square. Please let me know if I can be of any service to you.

Kind regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    467
    138
    43
    33
See reviews for
445
441
113
471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This Hyatt was beyond and way above anything I expected when I arrived with my family! From the new and very clean rooms to the family like greetings and treatment from the workers :) Micheal at the desk was more them welcoming and accomadating and all the other staff was just as amazing!!! I would never stay anywhere else in NYC! I suggest you don't stay anywhere else!
Sincerely,
Happy family from Detroit :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimODetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear TimODetroit,

Thank you for this amazing feedback. We are so glad that you had one of your best stays in NYC with us. I am very pleased and proud of our staff in regards to their outstanding service and commend each and everyone to making you feel at home.

We are glad that you have chosen us and will continue to do so in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square. Please let me know if you have any questions or assistance in the near future.

Kind regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I always choose to stay here in NY. Really nice -- has a very "boutique" feel to it. Staff are great -- very friendly and helpful. Rooms are always very clean, overall the hotel is very well kept. Beds are very comfortable, rooms are small (as always in NY) but very well designed. Very modern and new feel to the entire Hotel -- very nicely designed.

Fourth Restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Phil W,

Thank you for staying with us again. We are glad to hear that this was an amazing stay yet again.

We can't thank you enough for your loyaltly and again this review puts the icing on the cake. Our staff here more than friendly and always eager to get you what you need and get it promptly. We are ambitious and it's these passionate and genunine friendliness that puts us where we are right now.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square, hopefully, very soon.

Kind Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I am a business traveler and really enjoyed my stay here. The staff is incredibly friendly.. from the doormen to the folks at the front desk. Great hosts all around with a convenient location near Union Sq. Nice bar with an adjoining restaurant. VERY quiet rooms.

The hotel has a nice gym with plenty of treadmills, equipment, etc. Loved the apples and bottled water.

I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear CookeJ,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are glad to hear that this was a great stay for you. Our team here are dedicated to create an experience for both business and leisure travelers. It is so good to see them at their best.

We do hope to see you in the near future. Please let me know if you have any questions for me. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I recently spent 3 nights at the Hyatt Union Square . This was my 6 th trip to NY and I have to say one of the best. The location is fantastic being so close to good shopping and the restaurants of Soho. I liked that it was away from the high rise financial district of midtown and a little closer to the tree lined streets and village atmosphere that this part of town offers. The hotel itself is very clean and modern. The rooms very comfortable and quiet. I had a corner suite on level 5 and enjoyed the modern design and inclusions. The staff are fantastic. Front desk staff very happy to assist and extremely welcoming. I will return!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keentotravelsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Keentotravelsydney,

Thank you for this amazing review. I am very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Also, one of the best stays in many of your trips to NYC! We are proud of the staff that make this hotel what it is and all the wonderful and genuine feedbacks that we are constantly receiving from guests just like you.

Please do return to us on your next visit. Let me know if you have any questions or need assistance whilst you decide your return trip to NYC. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here last week and the hotel was amazing. We had a wonderful welcome each time we came into the Reception area where the staff were so friendly and helpful in every way. Both Victors were exceptional. The bed was the most comfortable we have slept in. Fantastic location and modern carefully designed rooms with the shower and toilet separate. Fantastic air-conditioning which we could adjust easily and instantly. Also very quiet at night.
We loved it and are planning a return visit. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Liz P,

Thank you for a wonderful review. We do appreciate it that you have given us a wonderful and genuine feedback. I'm delighted to hear that your stay here with us was a great one. I cannot be more prouder of our staff and I'll be sure to thank both the Victors for their great and outstanding job.

With that said, I'm sure I can count on you returning back to Hyatt Union Square when your trip brings you back to New York. Until then...

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, CA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 5 days. Very nice, modern, chic hotel. The staff is wonderful and available. Lighting controls are very techie, the TV is great (not the usual flat-panel add-on with bad resolution), the bedding is superb. And it's quiet, even facing out on Fourth Avenue. Best of all is the shower -- planning to buy one of the shower heads for use at home! Highly recommend and we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeverlyLosAltos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear BeverlyLosAltos,

Thank you so much for this indepth review on most of our ameniities. I think you've given most of our future guests a pre-arrival glimpse of their stay with us. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to see you once again.

Until your next visit to Hyatt Union Square, have a wonderful day and good luck.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
W New York - Union Square
#140 of 467 in New York City
1,477 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#114 of 467 in New York City
590 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#119 of 467 in New York City
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#164 of 467 in New York City
683 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#149 of 467 in New York City
1,417 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#89 of 467 in New York City
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Union Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Union Square New York

Property: Hyatt Union Square New York
Address: 134 4th Ave, New York City, NY 10003-4903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Union Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a block from Union Square Park, the Hyatt Union Square New York is a AAA Four Diamond property featuring 178 luxury, pet-friendly guest rooms, studios and suites with options for a private terrace. Surrounded by a vibrant neighborhood filled with public art galleries, entertainment, shopping, restaurants and bars, you won’t need to go far to discover Union Square. You’ll also have access to the third largest transportation hub to get you to other parts of Manhattan and beyond. During your stay, keep your fitness routine at our 24-hour Life Fitness™ gym complete with top of line fitness equipment, complimentary towels, fruit snack, water and headphones. Prefer to be outside? Take a tour of the city May-October on one of our bicycles. If you’ve worked up an appetite, step into Bowery Road for American cuisine. Prepared by Chef Ron Rosselli, the flavorful and thoughtfully prepared dishes are inspired by local farmers. Seasonal produce from the nearby farmers market, Union Square Greenmarket, can be found in each dish. Need something a little stronger? Take a seat at the Library of Distilled Spirits to try one of more than 700 bottles of liquor from around the world. Choose from our encyclopedia of more than 150 classic cocktails to sample something shaken or stirred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Union Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing