We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Union Square New York
Ranked #119 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Fabulous stay”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel has more of a feel of a boutique design hotel. Beautifully designed lobby and rooms. Its restaurant The Fourth makes the best cafe lattes and cappuccinos in NYC thanks to the talented barista Kingsley. Great location next to three different subway lines and within walking distance of the restaurants in the east village. There is a nice fitness center and they have Dutch style bikes available too. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Diane P,

We are more than happy that your stay was a great one. And thank you for sharing your experience with us. It's been a pleasure hosting you and I've never been so proud of a greater team than this at Hyatt Union Square.

We have been very persistent and consistent with core values that drive our customer service feedback in a positive manner. And reviews such as yours prove that it's heading the right direction.

Please feel free to let us know if there anything we can do for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    928
    442
    137
    41
    31
See reviews for
419
428
105
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay at the Hyatt Union Square. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is near NYU, so there are a lot of restaurants and things to do within walking distance. I paid for the room upgrade, don't know if it made a difference, but the room was a good size & had a view of 4th Ave which made for great people watching. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Gayle H,

Thank you for this wonderful review. We really appreciate it. However, we are more thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It gives us immense pleaure and pride that we are doing things right by providing an outstanding service with our rooms, amenities and staff performance.

We definitely would like to see you in the near future. Please feel free to let us know if there is anything we can do for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, MI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We regularly visit our daughter, her husband, and our grandchild at Stuyvesant Town, and were pleased to find a name brand hotel within reasonable walking distance. Fortunately we were able to get a special rate. The staff could not have been nicer. Everything (the lobby, the elevators, the halls, the room, the fitness center) was in impeccable condition, perhaps because it is apparently newly renovated. The rooms are typical New York size, a bit small, but it was well set up to maximize the space. As is typical in New York, there are no in room refrigerators, no ice machines, and no free Wi-Fi in the room. There is a coffee maker, an iron, and an umbrella. As we were walking out of the hotel one morning, it just started to sprinkle, and the doorman picked up a Hyatt umbrella and offered it to my wife. We have never had that happen at another hotel. The regular rates are on the steep side, but for what we paid we received very good value at a convenient location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCCPlymouthMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear JCCPlymouthMI,

Thank you for this beautiful review. We are as pleased as yourself for finding us and had a good stay with us. It is our pleasure to treat every guest with the respect and provide them with an excellent service to remember a real New York experience. We couldn't be more thrilled that you had such an experience.

We definitely look forward to your next stay with us, there are lots of promotional rates available if you plan ahead. Thank you once again for staying with us.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Here is a hotel that just seems to have it going right, from check in to check out. The right amount of attention to detail without being intrusive or overbearing. The staff is friendly and approachable and you get the feeling they genuinely care that the experience is positive. The rooms are small but functional and the location to so many restaurants, stores and parks makes this a highly recommended hotel. The access to bikes provided by the hotel is a nice touch. Enjoy your next stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jp B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Jp B,

First and foremost, this is a wonderful and genuine compliment about our staff and I'm pleased that you feel that way. We have a great staff that has dedicated their energy to providing the best guest experience such as yours.

The neighborhood of Union Square is unique as it's right in the middle of both the downtown and midtown and accessible to most areas in Manhattan with subways right outside the hotel.

For the bikes, You're Welcome! It's both a Green Initiative and convenience for our guests to get around the city on a lazy afternoon or a cool breezy evening down West Side Highway.

We definitely would love to see you in the near future and can't wait to welcome you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Hyatt Union Square is my new favorite, NYC hotel! Stayed two weekends in a row because it was that good!

Above and beyond, friendly service, clean, well-appointed rooms and modern conveniences make this hotel a joy to stay in! Conveniently located in the hip, neighborly, university area of Union Square, you'll find easy access to all of NYC's best attractions - and feel more like a NYC resident than a tourist.

Every request is met with a smile and the goal of exceeding your expectations. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone from business travelers to couples to families! The Hyatt Union Square aims to please and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Andree M,

Wow, thank you for this wonderful review. We are so glad that you've been a loyal guest with us and happy to hear that your stays have been amazing.

I am very proud of the staff here at Hyatt Union Square as they are being recognized for their service and friendliness in all of our reviews. I can definitely attest to their sincere and genuine intentions to make feel our guest are home away from home.

Please feel free to connect with me the next you are around. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Hyatt Union Square is located in a perfect location--close to subways, walking distance to the Village and so many great restaurants and stores. The hotel itself was clean, hip, and comfortable. (Great shower!). The room was a nice size by NYC standards, and very reasonable. The staff was nice, professional, and helpful. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Helene H,

Thank you for a great review here. I'm very glad that you had an amazing stay with us. You have chosen a great hotel and the location cannot be more convenient. Our staff here are very passionate, young and friendly bunch.

We would definitely like to see you again in the near future. Feel free to contact us should you have any questions or need any assistance. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Hyatt Union Sq. is nicely located at the heart of Union Sq. which is an excellent location. There are plently of eat and drink locations nearby and the area is busy with hustle and bustle. It is close from the Union Sq. subway greenline. Decently priced and good comfort. I'm sure to return again.
P.S.: their shower is one of the best I've used.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subh_live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Subh_live,

Thank you so much for giving us an amazing reveiw. We really appreciate it. Above all, we are glad to know you had an amazing stay and have decided to return to us.

Yes, we have the location and the boutique yet luxury feel but it's the people who work here make the place more lively.

And yes! The showers are to die for. I'm glad that you enjoyed them.

Let us know if you have any questions or need assistance, we'll be more than happy to assist you.

Best Regard,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#177 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#152 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Union Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Union Square New York

Property: Hyatt Union Square New York
Address: 134 4th Ave, New York City, NY 10003-4903
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Union Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a block from Union Square Park, the Hyatt Union Square New York is a AAA Four Diamond property featuring 178 luxury, pet-friendly guest rooms, studios and suites with options for a private terrace. Surrounded by a vibrant neighborhood filled with public art galleries, entertainment, shopping, restaurants and bars, you won’t need to go far to discover Union Square. You’ll also have access to the third largest transportation hub to get you to other parts of Manhattan and beyond. During your stay, keep your fitness routine at our 24-hour Life Fitness™ gym complete with top of line fitness equipment, complimentary towels, fruit snack, water and headphones. Prefer to be outside? Take a tour of the city May-October on one of our bicycles. If you’ve worked up an appetite, step into Bowery Road for American cuisine. Prepared by Chef Ron Rosselli, the flavorful and thoughtfully prepared dishes are inspired by local farmers. Seasonal produce from the nearby farmers market, Union Square Greenmarket, can be found in each dish. Need something a little stronger? Take a seat at the Library of Distilled Spirits to try one of more than 700 bottles of liquor from around the world. Choose from our encyclopedia of more than 150 classic cocktails to sample something shaken or stirred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Union Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing