We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Staff, Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Union Square New York
Ranked #112 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed here on business and the location was perfectly situated right by Union Square. The front desk welcomed us upon arrival and took care of our every need! The rooms were new and updated, as was the hotel itself. You can't go wrong with this hotel!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jettsetter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Jetsetter88,

Thank you for this review. We really appreciate it. We definitely are thrilled to hear you love the location and the staff at the front desk.

Please let us know if I can be of any further assitance. We definitely would love to see you again and w look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,688)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Union Square New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,397 - 1,403 of 1,688 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

You feel like you are staying in a boutique hotel. This is not your typical Hyatt. From the minute you walk in the staff is waiting for you with a smile on their faces. They are very friendly and always ask is there anything they can do for you. The room was a good size for New York and the lobby bar is a nice place to relax after a long day. I would highly recommend staying at the Hyatt Union Square.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfun05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear travelfun05,

Thank you for this wonderful review. We greatly appreciate every comment and the compliments. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Our hotel is a unique one in the Hyatt portfolio. It streamlines boutique yet not too casual to feel astray from the service that Hyatt is known for. We have a great team that is dedicated to provide the essence of class while complimentating with the New York style hospitality.

We definitely would love to see you back again with us and can't wait to welcome you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Please feel free to write should you have any questions for me.

Kind Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hyatts newest Gem

Great location and one of Hyatts newest gem. I highly recommend this property when visiting NYC. The staff were always available to accommodate all of our request. The location is in their heart of Union square accessible to great shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJiffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear JJiffo,

Thank you for this great review. We are ecstatic that you have fully enjoyed every aspect of this hotel.

We are a new and upcoming hotel that strives to become one of the best in New York City. With you help and great feedback, it not only gives us (the staff) the encouragement to strive for more but helps other guests to journey through this experience that is truly a Hyatt Union Square experience.

With that said, I would love to see you back at Hyatt Union Square and can't wait to welcome you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I travel 3-4x per month for business and decided to give the Hyatt group a try when this hotel opened.

After multiple stays I would not recommend.

If you need to stay at a Hyatt property in NY the Andaz is the only way to go.

First of all the beds are completely uncomfortable, the rooms are not properly cleaned, the front desk service is atrocious, and no fridge or cold drinks available in the room.

If you need to stay in the area I would always choose W, Standard or Ganservoort which are all in the same price range.

Also the Hyatt loyalist rewards are worthless. I'm at platinum status and never received an upgrade.

At the other hotels I am frequently upgraded and receive complimentary services.

I've complained to Hyatt and the hotel and never heard from them.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
5  Thank jmd437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear jmd437,

It is with deep regret that I write to you on this negative experience you endured during you recent stay at the hotel. I would like to sincerely apologize for all inconvenience and will definitely follow up with my department heads with the listed issues.

I was advised by my one of my manager's (Tenzing Dupatsang) that he had reached out to you on the day of check-out and has assured that his team will make sure that your next visit will be like none other without any issues you've had in the past.

I am confident that we will make a lasting impression and welcome you back to Hyatt Union Square with the respect and acknowledgement you have every right to expect as a Platinum member.

Please let me know if there is anything I can further assist you with. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Since the hotel opened last year I've stayed three times and enjoyed each one. This was a brief one-night visit, and because we were seeing a play in the Village, the hotel was a perfect choice for an evening downtown. We could go wherever we wished to go on foot, but the hotel's location also makes it easy to get on the subway.

The hotel is full of cool design features, but at the same time feels welcoming, and the gym in the basement is convenient and the equipment new. We were given an upgraded room with a great rooftop view East, and the Bigelow amenities are a great local touch. The rooms was as usual well-laid out and quiet .

The staff are always part of the great experience at Hyatt Union Square, and this time they really outdid themselves. I had accidentally left my wallet at home, and they went out of their way to not only be helpful, but sympathetic. A great stay, and the hotel has become my go-to in downtown New York.

Room Tip: Rooms facing 4th avenue and on higher floors have fine rooftop views.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank znitud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear znitud,

Firstly, thank you for your loyalty. We are thrilled to hear that your stay was more than outstanding this time around and sharing this with us on Trip Advisor.

Our staff here really makes the difference as you mentioned and every individual has a special characteristic and way of impressing guest - however still maintaining the essensce of hospitality professionalism. And we are very pleased you had the opportunity to experience such a trip through the staff's passion for great customer service.

We definitely look forward to many more of these stays. We can't wait to welcome you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a family traveling from multiple locations for an Art event. Upon arrival there was some confusion with the reservations. We had one room showing as reserved and 4 people to accomodate. Without hesitation and with excellent customer service Mr. Tenzing Dupatsang immediatly assured us he would arrange for appropriate accomandations. Within an hour we had adjoining rooms. This was a relief and at no time did we feel like we would not be taken care of. I highly recommend The Hyatt Union Square as an excellent choice for your hotel needs. Cudos to the staff, food and all around custoner service!!!

Room Tip: 4th Avenue location
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mdelia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear mdelia2014,

Thank you for a wonderful review. We really appreciate this. I'm so glad to hear that your stay was a great one and thank you for recognizing Tenzing for his outstanding service. I'll be sure to congratulate him during our next meeting.

It is with immense pride that I speak about the staff as they have been the driving force in creating the new experience that all of our guests are journeying lately. Thank you for being part of it and we hope to see more of you as we venture even further and into better places.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Seeked spot near our daughter who lives in East Village for 2 day stay...rarely do we opt for the chains, but Hyatt Union Square is game changer! Decent rate for upgraded city view room...immaculate, cozy & new feeling...love that. But BIG difference was truly terrific staff! Warm & welcoming, helpful & accommodating (thank you Victor!!) plus genuine sense of humor...traits must all be job requirements! Planning return trip to NYC with my sister & her girls mid-August...will DEF stay at Hyatt Union Square!

Room Tip: I'd ask for city view if available!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank donna2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear donna2go,

Thank you for a great review. We are grateful for providing us your sincere feedback which helps future potential guests to make the right decision when choosing hotels in New York.

It is definitely the location but as you mentioned the staff here creates the experience for our guests and the amenities we have are first class and luxury. The young, ambitious and friendly staff from the door to the housekeeping staff are motivated and encouraged by such reviews and I'll be sure to congratulate them in the next meet.

We definitely look forward to seeing you again. Please feel free to contact us should you have any questions.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
W New York - Union Square
#151 of 468 in New York City
1,496 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#119 of 468 in New York City
605 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#109 of 468 in New York City
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#189 of 468 in New York City
698 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#141 of 468 in New York City
1,447 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#91 of 468 in New York City
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Union Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Union Square New York

Address: 134 4th Ave, New York City, NY 10003-4903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £217 - £562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Union Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a block from Union Square Park, the Hyatt Union Square New York is a AAA Four Diamond property featuring 178 luxury, pet-friendly guest rooms, studios and suites with options for a private terrace. Surrounded by a vibrant neighborhood filled with public art galleries, entertainment, shopping, restaurants and bars, you won’t need to go far to discover Union Square. You’ll also have access to the third largest transportation hub to get you to other parts of Manhattan and beyond. During your stay, keep your fitness routine at our 24-hour Life Fitness™ gym complete with top of line fitness equipment, complimentary towels, fruit snack, water and headphones. Prefer to be outside? Take a tour of the city May-October on one of our bicycles. If you’ve worked up an appetite, step into Bowery Road for American cuisine. Prepared by Chef Ron Rosselli, the flavorful and thoughtfully prepared dishes are inspired by local farmers. Seasonal produce from the nearby farmers market, Union Square Greenmarket, can be found in each dish. Need something a little stronger? Take a seat at the Library of Distilled Spirits to try one of more than 700 bottles of liquor from around the world. Choose from our encyclopedia of more than 150 classic cocktails to sample something shaken or stirred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Union Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing