We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice modern room, friendly staff , convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Union Square New York
Ranked #119 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice modern room, friendly staff , convenient location”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed here 4 nights . Had come here to drop our son to NYU - v convenient location as it's next to founders hall . Was a good decision as it proved to be much easier to go back and forth to move things ( staff kept helping with the luggage , taking it on their trolley to the dorm ) . Location is really convenient , next to Union Square station. Lots of great eating and shopping places .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanjayNSgah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear SanjayNSgah,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We really appreciate your genuine review. I am glad to hear that your stay was a great one.

We definitely hope that you will return as it will be our pleasure to host you and your family once again.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Kind Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    435
    132
    38
    31
See reviews for
406
417
105
439
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We were dropping off my son at NYU, so I booked the Urban Terrace room for 7 nights. I loved this hotel! Location was fantastic - steps from Union Square with a Metro station steps away. Hotel was quaint yet not pretentious. The staff were friendly and quite helpful. I had a small incident with some boxes that were delivered to the hotel for my son's move-in day being somehow misplaced. The hotel corrected the mistake expeditiously, and later that evening a complimentary bottle of champagne was delivered to our room as an apology for the incident. Thank you Tenzing! I really appreciated that you did that. All in all, a great hotel that takes pride in providing its guests with an exceptional service. I'll be staying there again soon...

Room Tip: The Urban Terrace rooms are located on the 2nd Floor and include a large terrace with chairs and tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fahim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Fahim B,

Thank you so much for this great review. I'm thrilled to hear that you and family had a great stay with us.

We had a lot of parents of NYU students checked-in this past week and we were honored to have all of you with us. Our staff was very excited during the big move and was doing their best during the early hours of Sunday morning. I'm sorry to hear that we misplaced those bags, however, much pleased with Tenzing's effort's to recover the bags and your trust in us. He's an exemplary manager we have in our team that is an immense asset to Hyatt Union Square.

We definitely would love to welcome you back to Hyatt Union Square. It's been a pleasure to have you with us and thank you for staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Hyatt Union Square.

Regards

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed here in August 2014. The hotel is stunning, beautifully designed and with superbly trained staff who were unfailingly charming, knowledgeable and helpful. I had booked a basic room, but basic here means luxury; fluffy towels, a fridge, coffee maker, everything you could need and above all a magnificently comfortable bed with top-quality linens. The location is terrific, in the middle of the Village with it's vibrant and lively atmosphere. Some gripes though I am afraid! At these prices, it just isn't acceptable to charge for wi-fi, end of story. And when I rang room service to ask for grilled cheeses after our long journey, we were told they weren't on the menu! Any hotel worth it's salt ought to be able to produce a grilled cheese, surely. Food is expensive: a Primavera salad the size of a side-salad $14 for instance, $6 for a glass of milk! So, stay here for a great night's sleep but don't eat or drink here, and factor the wi-fi charges (grrrr) into your budget.

Room Tip: We only saw our basic-level room which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Ms. Amanda J,

Thank you so much for reviewing us. We are thrilled to hear that your stay was a great one. I'm very proud of the staff that work here as their only mission is to make sure all our guests are taken care of up to the best of their satisfaction.

We do hope to see you in the near future and we can't wait to welcome you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Sincerely,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We dropped our son off at NYU and stayed at the Hyatt in Union Square and could not have been more pleased with the experience. The staff were extremely helpful with the large amounts of luggage we had as well as received three big boxes from Bed, Bath and Beyod for storage overnight for us. There is also an excellent gym and the rooms though small were very functional.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NTHCOPRCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear CONLNPPR,

Thank you for this wonderful review. We really appreciate your genuine feedback. We did have a lot of NYU students being dropped off for the new semester and I have heard nothing but great things about the staff. We were prepared and helped a lot of parents help move their kids to the nearby dorms.

It is such a wonderful experience and I'm glad you had a lovely stay with us. We definitely will look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

What a lovely hotel in a lovely neighborhood! Usually I stay in the typical Times Square kind of location but chose Union Square for this trip, and I'm glad I did. The hotel was excellent in every respect: the service, the rooms, the restaurants, and the amenities were just wonderful. Bed was enormous and the floor to ceiling windows provided a sweeping view of the city around me. The best coffee in the world from the barista who was friendly and engaging and a simply magnificent breakfast in the restaurant: a banana pecan pancake soufflé-wow but too bad there wasn't stomach room for the made on the premises croissants and pastries... The gym was well equipped and spotless. Leaving VERY early in the a.m. for a flight home the front desk Manager actually went out and hailed me a cab! A safe and smaller town neighborhood environment allowed me to walk around to explore without feeling any concern at all. Next time I plan to get a terrace room and if it is as nice as it appears I may not leave the hotel all weekend!!! Kudos to the staff-

Room Tip: Terrace room would be worth the extra but the standard room was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tagml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear tagmi,

Thank you so much reviewing us. We are really appreciate your feedback. I am so thrilled to hear that we made an impression and you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We definitely would love to see you in the near future. Please contact us should you need any further assistance.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Union Square.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Such a delightful hotel, in a great area and the staff goes above and beyond what anyone would expect to make sure that our stay was perfect. The rooms are chic, modern and very comfortable. We have stayed in alot of 5 stars in NYC, but this is where I will be staying from now on. Its has such a good "feel"

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 880Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear 880Diane,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We very much appreciate it and also happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We definitely look forward to seeing you in the near future. Please feel free to let me know I can assist you any further.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

What a wonderful hotel-great location, service and rooms! The ends are the terrific Hyatt beds and linens. Everything is crisp and new-a pleasure to stay there. Being in the middle of Union Square is convenient to everything-shopping, subways and many great restaurants. Will not hesitate to book there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinghopefully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Holbrook, General Manager at Hyatt Union Square New York, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear travelinghopefully,

Than you for this short and sweet review. We great appreciate it. We absolutely are thrilled to hear your experience was a great one and with all aspects of this new Hyatt.

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Safe trip and enjoy your traveling wherever you might be.

Best Regards,

Chris Holbrook
General Manager
chris.holbrook@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#113 of 467 in New York City
563 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#142 of 467 in New York City
1,440 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#102 of 467 in New York City
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#177 of 467 in New York City
661 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#162 of 467 in New York City
1,358 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#93 of 467 in New York City
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Union Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Union Square New York

Property: Hyatt Union Square New York
Address: 134 4th Ave, New York City, NY 10003-4903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Union Square New York 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Union Square New York property offers 178 luxe guest rooms and suites that evoke the area's vibrant spirit and invigorating atmosphere. Renowned interior designer Paul Vega created a unique urban space that blends high design with natural elements. Our building's historic façade and expansive 23-foot high ceiling provide a grand entrance for your arrival, and our enthusiastic team will ensure that all your expectations are exceeded. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Southall Travel, Booking.com, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Union Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing