We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NYC's best kept secret!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New York Budget Inn
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NYC's best kept secret!!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at New York Budget Inn during a spring break trip to the big city. I can't brag enough about the staff and facilities!! Everyone who worked the front desk was sooooooo friendly and helpful! The rooms and bathrooms were extremely clean. The hotel is also super close to the metro! We will never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1liltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    337
    86
    28
    13
See reviews for
61
140
287
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great location and security. Rooms are very clean and spacious. There is a fridge, microwave, desk and lockers in each room. Restrooms are shared between floors, but there are enough so I never had to wait to use it. It's very clean and staff is very friendly. Only minus are beds: very comfortable, but they are not very stable and you can easly feel when a person from another bed moves. Not a big let down tho. Hostel is located next to 3rd avenue so it gets quite loud - earplugs are a must.

Room Tip: take a room facing away from 3rd avenue - it gets very loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magdalena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

we stayed here for 10 nights in a double private room. beds comprised of a single bunk bed room was small as to be expected in manhattan has small fridge and microwave as well as tv. we had shared bathroom that was good when cleaned.

close to subway 33rd st station only afew minute walk. bus station out front and across the road.

only downside was other people staying there leaving bathrooms in discusting mess after finishing. coming down for donuts and coffee and taking whole boxes and containers of coffee at a time with no consideration of other guests.

staff where great friendly and approachable

Room Tip: get a room with its own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you like like me just a clean place to sleep an shower (because you ar going to be all day out) then this is theplace for you. The room and baths were always clean (there were always staff cleaning everything!) leaving behind that you can eat from the floor, the staff is very nice and its a fun place to stay. Caruso was great to explain to me how obtain cheap tickets to broadway and everything. Another great thing: just 2 blocks from empire state and 1 block fro the subway!!!! great place to stay, if you like to walk you can do it to time square!

Room Tip: if you are in group, private room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omar o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed in the private double room. Place was exceptionally clean and quiet. Staff nice, but could be a little more helpful. We were not informed of all facilities and what other things place had to offer and missed out on donuts and coffee most mornings..Just for the info its downstairs at 8am! Also has water cooler on 2nd floor (or 1st for some nations). We bought our own water...waste of 3 dollars...Our room has fridge and microwave and even TV which is very unusual for a hostel...or inn...(well I thought so). Only thing we had to drag suitcases to 5th floor..no elevator but then we tipped staff and they brought it up for us (and down). Make sure to have small money when you get here if you have heavy luggage! Def exceeded expectations and def recommended. Its a short walk from Grand Terminal...so if you arrive with coach from airport..its walkable..15 mins. dont bother with subway...

Room Tip: Try and avoid upper floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrlandeRussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I have nothing but great things to say about this hostel! We stayed in NYC for 5 days, 4 nights. We stayed in a different hostel for the first 2 nights of our stay, and the New York Budget Inn was a complete 180 change from the first hostel. The staff members were extremely friendly, approachable and helpful, the customer service was out of this world. Our room was small, but it was exactly what we were expecting as we stayed in the twin private (if you are interested in exploring the city and not wasting time sitting in your room, this is the room for you!) The room and the bathrooms were spotless, and the wait times for the bathrooms weren't as long as any other hostel I have ever stayed in. There was one thing that really stuck out to me about this hostel: the day we checked out, my cousin was very sick. The staff members were extremely caring, helpful and willing to go out of their way to make sure that she was okay, offering anything they could to help out.
DO NOT HESITATE TO BOOK! STAY IN THIS HOSTEL. I am telling you, just do it. It is well worth the $45 you spend to be right in the middle of the action in Manhattan. There are many bars/pubs around and the pizza place across the street is great (AMAZING PIZZA for $0.99/slice). This hostel really made our stay perfect. 11/10. Thank you so much to all the staff!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay! Met my expectation. The pie place across the street. There are a couple markets nearby and easy to get to places on foot orby metro. Staff was nice and helpful! Room was made up everyday!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyBellaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#229 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,779 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#302 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#393 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#264 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Budget Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Budget Inn

Property: New York Budget Inn
Address: 200 E 34th St, New York City, NY 10016-4873
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your New York Budget Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing