We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest staff ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Ranked #219 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
massachusetts
Level Contributor
133 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Friendliest staff ever”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The hotel is staffed by the friendliest, most enthusiastic people I've yet to encounter. It makes for a welcoming environment where you feel you're not in anyone's way and people aren't just "doing their job."

We had three adults staying in a double, and it was quite cramped. But the furnishings were very nice and the beds were comfortable. Water pressure on the 11th floor isn't the best, but it was fine enough. The breakfast was good, but I was not happy to see the use of so much styrofoam.

Room Tip: Realize that a double-bedded room is cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leftwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear leftwing.

Thank you so much for the fantastic review. Our team is very happy that you feel they are the 'friendliest, most enthusiastic people" that you have encountered. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again!

Warm Regards,

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    475
    133
    30
    24
See reviews for
337
306
59
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This hotel is in a great location close to Times Square. The staff was amazing. They were so friendly and helpful, just all in all very pleasant. From the front desk to the breakfast staff we were very happy with their hospitality. The room was quite small but definitely served its purpose. The bed was very comfortable and both the room and bathroom very clean. The breakfast was great. Lots of channels on the tv to unwind. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Celia B,

Thank you so much for the awesome review!! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you very much for noticing how friendly and helpful the staff was! They have a genuine passion for what they do. We are very glad that you will be back!

Warm Regards,

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for NYE in times square, Staff was friendly breakfast was decent.
Not many options for a vegetarian besides bread and fruit.
Rooms are small, not much else to say, it’s an average hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellokittyninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Hellokittyninja,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the review. We value your feedback. We hope that you had good time celebrating NYE in New York City!

Warm Regards,

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levis, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Amazing staff and beautiful hotel. Very comfortable and very well located (5 minutes walking from Times Square). Good, free and hot breakfast every morning. This is the place where I'll always stay whenever I go back to New York city.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EtiDufour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear EitDufour,

Thank you so much for the terrific review! We are so glad that you will always choose us when you visit! We hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Durham USA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I took a group of 16 people here for 2 nights. The staff was great! They greeted us and seemed to really care how they might serve us each time we entered. After walking all over in the January cold, we were greeted with free, hot apple cider. The beds were so comfortable I asked for the make of the bed to buy one for my home. I will try to go there next time as well. I suggest getting a room away from the street.

Room Tip: I suggest getting a room away from the street to avoid night time noise. Although the street is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCTravelingFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear NCTravelingFamily,

Thank you very much for the great review. Thank you also for choosing us for your visit to New York City. We are glad that your group enjoyed their stay! We are also glad that you enjoyed the hot cider and the beds. We hope to see you the next time that you visit.

Warm Regards,

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The hotel was a good value for Manhattan. Located in the Hell's Kitchen area, the hotel is a bit off the beaten path from public transportation, but completely doable if you don't mind carrying your luggage from the subway. Good service and clean rooms, definitely a good choice for a low key business stay on a budget.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Tim B,

Thank you for the review. We are very glad that you felt that the hotel was a good value! We are also glad that you appreciated the service and the cleanliness. We hope to see you the next time that you are in New York for business!

Warm Regards,

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We're used to having a really small room in NYC and other big cities, but if you're not, be prepared. They are tiny, with very little room for your stuff. I was very impressed with the staff's helpfulness. Breakfast was a zoo but staff did their best to keep the food stocked and the tables cleared. The elevators were extremely slow. The fitness center is small but has new equipment. It's a brisk walk to Times Square and 9th Avenue. There was construction going on across the street, so a lot of noise. Our fridge didn't work, but we put leftovers on the ledge to keep them cold.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlabq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear dlabq,

Thank you again for the review. It is appreciated that you gave your opinion to tripadvisor and IHG! Your feedback is a great help. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again.

Warm Regards,

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#322 of 468 in New York City
521 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#288 of 468 in New York City
2,093 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#179 of 468 in New York City
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#186 of 468 in New York City
563 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#278 of 468 in New York City
2,474 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#295 of 468 in New York City
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Address: 538 W 48th St, New York City, NY 10036-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing