We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value & Very Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Ranked #214 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
146 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good Value & Very Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed for 4 nights. The room was well appointed and the buffet breakfast was plentiful. The staff did their best to make our stay a pleasant one. The hotel is operating at full capacity most of the time.

The only downside was the slow elevators. We also found the location a little far to walk as it is not on a major bus route and at least 10 minutes away from the nearest subway station.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TequilaVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear TequilaVancouver,

Thank you very much for the nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and found the staff to be friendly. They definitely have a passion for making sure that all guests have a great trip to NYC. We are happy that you noticed!

Warm Regards,

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    465
    130
    29
    24
See reviews for
331
297
59
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights while visiting the City and I have to stay this was a surprise gem of a hotel! Clean, Comfortable and a room size that is considered spacious in NYC we couldn't have asked for more. Staff were super friendly and helpful and there is free computer access for checking in and printing boarding cards etc. We didn't try breakfast but it seemed to go down well with other guests. Short walk to Times Square and as it is slap bang in the restaurant district of the city you won't be short of places to eat - would def recommend and stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarleyTauchert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear CarleyTauchert,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the great review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you would stay again. We appreciate the recommend! We hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards,

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our five night stay at this gem of a hotel just a ten minute stroll from Times Square or around six dollars in a cab for the less able. All the staff were most polite and extremely helpful throughout our stay. Our room was perfectly adequate in both size and facilities. Our bed was superb, as good as any we've slept in at four and even five star hotels. Our room was at the rear so we had no problems sleeping off the jet lag! Yes breakfast is a bit scramble for the late comers, but the selection is fine and I was lucky enough to savour the delicious cinnamon rolls on each morning of our stay. There are several good bars and diners nearby and I can recommend Gossip Irish Bar (49th and 9th) for a warm welcome and some tasty and hearty food. So despite the nearby construction works we really liked our stay in Hells Kitchen and will definitely pick this Holiday Inn Express on our next visit to NYC.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amacdonald22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear amacdonald22,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that you will use us again when you return! We look forward it! Thank you for mentioning all of the positive attributes of the hotel and the area. I look forward to trying Gossip Irish Bar.

Warm Regards,

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I have to be honest, this wasn't my first hotel of choice but, the place I usually stay at, were obviously too busy ramping their rates up to respond to my e-mail re booking with them!! This was a last minute trip so after doing a little bit of research on this site I booked and hoped for the best - I wasn't disappointed. The room was HUGE (I've payed twice as much and got far smaller rooms at other hotels in Manhattan) and, being on the 17th floor, the view was awesome. The bathroom is very small but, quite frankly, I'm not too bothered by that; the shower was good and there was a fully functioning loo - job done!! Location wise you are a couple of blocks from Columbus Circle and also 7th Ave subway stops so you're really a 10 minute walk from getting anywhere in the city. I didn't eat at the restaurant or bar so I can't comment there. The staff I did have contact with (front desk & baggage room) were excellent, they really did go out of their way to help in any way they could - and this is why I will now be using this hotel for all future trips to New York.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asbury-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Asbury-NJ,

Thank you so much for the great review. We are so glad that you found us to be a delight. We are also glad that you will use us when you return. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

As an IHG member, I have stayed in many Holiday inn locations. I picked this hotel partly as a result of other reviews and the hotel's location. I had one free night and payed for one night. The guest rooms and bathrooms are on the small side but not unusual for NYC. The staff was pleasant. We were warned that if we went to breakfast on the late side (9 AM) that it would be crowded and it was. If it is warm enough, there are many tables outside but with temperatures in the 40s, the breakfast room was just packed. I also must note that the one thing that I look forward to at a Holiday Inn Express breakfast in the cinnamon rolls. They are even featured on a sign on each table. Sadly however, there were no rolls available at either the 9 AM breakfast on the first day or our 6:30 breakfast on the second day. Disappointing!

The hotel is located on a primarily residential street. Our room was on the back side of the hotel so it was nice and quiet. There is a lot of construction on the street however so I am not sure how the front rooms fared. The construction made the sidewalks hard to navigate especially with luggage. I found hotel just a little too far from the subway for my needs. I would probably stay closer to the Theater District on my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbugMA12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear travelbugMA12,

Thank you very much for the feedback. We appreciate that you took the time to write the review. We are sorry to hear that you only found us to be average. I wish that you would try us again so that you could have an excellent stay!

Warm Regards,

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I enjoyed my 5 nights staying. The staff is willing to serve. Rooms are clean and comfortble. Good location in terms of transportation. Very much recomended.
Do try this hotel when ever you are in the big apple.
Aviva Haleva, Israel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halevaaviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear halevaaviva,

Thank you so much for recommending us! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciated the staff and the cleanliness. We hope to see you again.

Warm Regards,

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

The staff are very polite, friendly and helpful. And if based on that alone I'd give 5 stars overall. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

However. I admit I'm light sleeper but you'd have to be knocked out to not wake up from the noise. There was an ice machine around the corner from our room that would make a loud crunching noise at the most ungodly hours throughout the night.

Secondly even though we were on the 9th floor we were unfortunate enough to be here during major major building works which include drilling hammering etc at the highest volume I've ever heard from 7am onwards.

In spite of this I would recommend this hotel if you could get away from the ice machine and all the building work has been done or they get double glazing!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabrina_simone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Sabrina_simone,

Thank you very much for the nice review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry that you were bothered by the ice machine and the construction across the street, but we are happy that you thought the hotel was clean and that the service deserved 5 stars! We do hope that you will try us again the next time you are in New York City.

Warm Regards,

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#320 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#175 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#287 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#199 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#334 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#280 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Address: 538 W 48th St, New York City, NY 10036-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing